We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Tavira”
Review of Residencial Mares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residencial Mares
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked for five days but liked it so much we stayed for an extra two days.The rooms were spotless clean with plenty of hot water.The staff very helpful and eager to help when necessary,the breakfast varied and with staff present to help with any requests.We fully recommend this place if you like a very central place in Tavira with reasonable prices and a great location.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are quieter,although we found the area not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location; close to everything in Tavira; very good breakfast; very pleasant staff; clean; safe; unique building; across street from ferry to island and beaches. Our room overlooked the rooftops of Tavira. We loved it. Recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooftop terrace has tiny little rooms with bath that are probably inexpensive but worth checking int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good rooms,food and staff. Not expensive and a stagger and fall from everywhere.( everything close bye ) Parking outside on quayside free from 1900 till 0900. Free parking during the day either side of the big bridge 200 yards away.

Room Tip: Rooms 208/210/212 are at the front and have balconies looking out, up and down , over the river good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WFDScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Location is super - between restaurants and close to everything in Tavira, plus it was a HUGE and very nice apartment - super rooms, super balcony, breakfast in a local cafe 10 meters away. Perfect stay. Very good value when you stay with a biger group of friends

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmorFati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed 5 nights in Residencial Mares in the middle of May 2014.

The hotel has an excellent location. You find it as a door between several restaurants on the west riverfront in Tavira, about 7 minutes walk from the bus station.
Also close to the the town center with shops, the city market, a loooot of restaurants, and the road to Quattro Aguas, and some salt pans with lots of birds.

The staff is friendly, helpful and competent.

The double room was large and fresh, with teracotta tiled floors, and spotlessly clean.
Well furnished with a large wardrobe with a reasonable amount of drawers, and a reasonable amount of hangers.

The bed was good, with bed clothes well adapted to the hot wheather.
There was no place, except the bed to sit and read, or watch TV, but the bed was comfortable for this.

The bathroom was also nice and clean, and well equipped, with plenty of good towels.
A good shower, with consistent water temperature in the bath, but with old fashioned separate control nobs for hot and cold water.
A clothes line in the bath room was a good detail.

Efficient, well working Air con.
And well functioning WiFi, at least on the 1st floor where my room was. Encrypted Wifi with the password on the actual WiFi was a plus, ( but this seems to be the standard with Wifi in Portuguese hotels.)

The room had a fridge, for putting your water bottle or drinks.

Generally, very good room, but the "they have thought of everything" factor. was a little missing,
on account of a number of little details, for instance:
- no hooks on the walls for hanging things (binoculars, dressing gown, etc)
- the shower arrangement definitely was not splash proof, and there is a risk of splashing both your towels, and the whole floor.
- I could only find one free power socket for charging things. No bedside power socket for charging the mobile during the night.
- in the bathroom there was no good place to put your wash bag, except on the floor.

Reasonably good standard contintental buffet breakfast, including hard boiled eggs. There were also seats outside for having breakfast.

All rooms needs ascending 1 or 2 stairs, and there is no elevator.
Each floor has a nice landing with chairs and tables, and even some books.

There is a nice rooftop terrace with sunbeds, and a nice view of a Tavira rooftop landscape. Very nice, however this gets uncomfortably hot during the late afternoon, which was the time I would have liked to use it.

Tavira is a pleasant town to stay, and all in all, I had a nice stay, and I would consider staying again in this hotel if I were to stay again in Tavira.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FiftyNiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Small hotel with a nice upstairs lobby for guests and a rooftop patio as well. It was clean and an interesting building but the rooms seemed a little dark and dated. We had a second floor room with a small balcony overlooking the Tagus River. We were right over the restaurant but never found the room excessively noisy. The location is really good, just a block or two to the town square filled with lively coffee shops and pastelarias, all with plentiful outside seating. The hotel staff were friendly but the breakfast was pretty uninteresting. Better to go to the square and get something you will enjoy. There is also a lovely flower-filled park near the hotel with great gelado if you are looking for dessert. For those driving, there was parking in a lot between the hotel and River in front of the Hotel.

Room Tip: I suspect they have lots of variety and would ask to see a couple of rooms to determine what side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Residencial Mares has a good location near the city centre. The bathroom and room were clean, the bedroom had good AC. Good value for money since breakfast was included. The only negative is that one could hear a lot through the doors/walls/windows from the street as well as the neighbors...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
0.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Mares

Address: Rua Jose Pires Padinha 134-140, Tavira 8800-354, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Beach Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#6 Spa Hotel in Tavira
Price Range: £36 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Mares 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Residencial Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Mares Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing