We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not a Hell”
Review of Hotel Peklo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Peklo
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Komarno
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was in Komarno by business; accidentally we went to a restaurant of this hotel.
Pleasant atmosphere, good food, tasty and good, a good glass of Slovak wine, you can get a good rest. Moderate prices and very friendly service.
I can only recommend to anyone passerby.
I do not know why the hotel is named Hell (Slovakian: "Peklo" , it looks to me more like a paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Zoran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

The pictures on the net make the place look like a historical building which it isn't.

On the other hand it is very convenient for cyclists on the Danube bike path and has a safe garage.

The staff are very friendly and professional too.

The food at the restaurant is good and they pay attention if you have special needs (allergies). Their wine list is decent (nice Slovakian wines).

It is not the cheapest place but the room was very convenient and had lots of space.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

On the Slovakian side of the Danube, on a small island in the river (Elizabeth island) sits the hotel Peklo, about 10 minutes walk from the town centres of both Komárno and its Hungarian twin, Komárom. There's little reason to be here, other than for business, and the hotel fulfils its purpose well. A warm welcome, in Slovak, Hungarian, German or English. The basic room is good: wifi works, though not the fastest. Comfy beds, a good desk surface, tv channels from UK, Italy, Hungary, Austria, Germany as well as local ones, good shower and plenty of space. The furniture is quite basic, and to look at, you would expect more for four stars, but it all works. An air-conditioning unit helps keep cool in hot weather.
The restaurant has a terrace overlooking the river, which is nice for lunch, but as it faces north can be too cool to be comfortable in the evening. They serve typical Slovak and Hungarian style food at reasonable prices, but the story doesn't end there: faultless service and a chef who knows how to treat food. Goose liver on toast was cooked just enough. The restaurant is comfortable and stylish and better than the alternatives on the Hungarian or Slovak side. Make sure you eat here even if you stay somewhere cheaper, but you'd be better to stay here than anywhere else within 30km.

Room Tip: Odd numbers are away from the main road, though the view is uninspiring
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Only one night, but I had all I needed, clean, confortable, warm room. Good and friendly service in the restaurant. Also some typical Slovak dishes. I dont have minor complaint. I recommed for short and also longer stays. Hungary is over the bridge. You may enjoy nice historical places. Suitable for couples, friends, even groups and families.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank Vladimir_epi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank pierluca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank pilar l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Komarno hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Banderium
Hotel Banderium
#1 of 3 in Komarno
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Litovel Pension
#3 of 3 in Komarno
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Ring Penzion
#8 of 13 in Komarno
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Duna Penzion & Hostinec
#7 of 13 in Komarno
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Restaurant & Penzion
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hubert Varga
#6 of 13 in Komarno
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peklo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peklo

Address: Platanova alej 1, Komarno 945 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Nitra Region > Komarno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Komarno
Price Range: £68 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Peklo 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Peklo" is a new exclusive hotel on the south of Slovakia, in a historic city,named Komárno. Our facilities are : 27 double rooms, 3 apartments, restaurant,cafe BAR, wellness, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Peklo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing