We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in an old Swiss chalet”
Review of Hotel Steinbock

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Steinbock
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel is at least 200 years old and is actually comfortable with the staff going out of there way to make it cozy. I really enjoyed the fluffy down pillows and blanket. The location was ideal for those who want to explore a variety of areas in the Jungfrau region. We were able to walk to a few towns, take the gondola up to the schilthorn from the station adjacent to the hotel as well as trains to other beautiful Swiss towns. For travelers midway through a european train trip it was so nice to be right next to the train station and have many options for touring the alps. You can hear trains from 6 am to 10 pm however many hotels were near trains or roads. I order to avoid traffic noise completely one would have to stay higher up in the alps. The noise was not a great disturbance for us and we were happy to stay here.

The breakfast was also great. Switzerland can be expensive and we appreciated the choices at breakfast. I would suggest going to the coops which are small stores in each town. The food in the restaurants is overpriced and was not what we were looking for. I wished that I had brought camping silverware and a knife. I ended up buying a knife and some silverware so that we could eat primarily from the grocery stores.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony on the second floor were a nice size and had a beautiful view of the moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Steinbock is right next to the train station which is very convenient for those with a lot of luggage. But it also means that you hear the trains arriving and departing, starting at 6:00 am. Our room was clean, but rustic and a bit dark. We would not have wanted to spend a lot of time in the room, which fortunately is usually not necessary in this region. The breakfast was adequate, but other hotels offered more choice. The staff were cordial and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed in the main building at the Steinbock for 2 nights this week. I had booked via Booking.com 3 months ago as it was the only hotel in Lauterbrunnen with the 2 required nights available. I have to say I was amazed that there was nothing available.

On arrival we were rather dismayed with the appearance. It was all very shabby inside and out and in need of a complete facelift. The windows, shutters etc all need repainting or replacement, the floorboards creak. The bathroom was very small (not a problem), but the tiles were cracked & stained. The bedroom was very cramped with only one usable socket to charge mobile. So all very scruffy and basic.
On the other hand despite the tattiness it was clean. It cost 320 Swiss Francs for 2 nights B & B with ensuite for a couple.
I don't agree with previous comments regarding attitude of staff. We found them absolutely fine and a problem with the bill was sorted out without argument - it may be that the owner has read tripadvisor reviews and fed back to his staff. The breakfast was fine though a little basic..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maeofberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stayed here for a night on a one day trip of lauterbrunnen. How one rates this hotel depends on what you expect.
Pros:
- location. Right next to train station. Very convenient if u have alot of luggage (like me) or early morning train to catch.
- staff. Very helpful in directing us towards hiking routes and packing us breakfast (since we were leaving before the start of their official breakfast time)
- clean
Cons:
- right next to station. Might not be good for light sleepers.
- tiny bathrooms. But i would say its expected for old buildings. Its usually the more modern hotels that have more spacious bathrooms and hallways. All the 'cute and antique-y' places tend to be less spacious
- price. But its Switzerland. That says it all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnowflakesHkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Located across the street from the train station - great access point to the heart of the Alps. Can be a little noisy at night if they are working on the trains. We stayed here 3 nights in September and did some great hiking. Nice little restaurant connected to the hotel (small hotel so those who work in the restaurant also work in the hotel and can be difficult to get attention if restaurant is busy). Hotel is quite old and the beds are very uncomfortable - little support to the mattress - the double bed was to twin beds pushed together with a clear division in the middle. Great views of the Alps from the balcony. Friendly and english-speaking reception.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samaka05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We always check Tripadvisor before booking accommodation and did so in this case as well. unfortunately we had to go against the reviews as it was the only accommodation available. it cost us 160 francs per night, our dearest and worst accommodation on our long trip.
The picture of the hotel looks cute and typical for this area and we booked a balcony room.
On arrival the greeting was rushed and we were shown over the road to another part of the hotel, a sterile boxy building that had a peculiar odor that permeated everything.
On questioning if we had the right room we were assured these rooms were better than the ones at the restaurant. We were gold the view was better, because we could see the trees. We asked
to see one there and did, although they were all booked. And of course these had pretty flowered balconies and vies of the snow covered Alps. However the rooms themselves were smaller so we decided to stay where they had put us and negotiated a free dinner.
All rooms are dated and worn. The bathrooms have no toiletries, rough toilet paper, no tea and coffee making facilities and the pillows were just cut up foam loosely placed inside the pillow.
As said on reviews, more like a hostel. I think we were ripped off over the price too.
Breakfast was included and was basic.
Staff are disinterested and unfriendly to everyone. No smiles, no chat. Completely unlike any other people we dealt with in Lauterbrunnen, a gorgeous town with wonderful people.
There is some mention of it's good location. Everything in Lauterbrunnen is in a good location!
the owner of this Hotel was sitting down chatting to mates and drinking beer the 3 times we were in the hotel / restaurant. He ignored all customers, including us when we were having the early accommodation issues. Yes it appears locals go there, his mates including one with a shotgun on his back!
Our compensation dinner was ordinary and when we queried if we had the right dessert ( looked completely different to the picture) we got a huff and growl. We were careful not to abuse the offer and shared a pizza, 2 cokes and 2 ice creams and it came to 50 francs !!! And no one knew about the free dinner and we were treated like scammers.

I would suggest the owner does 2 things immediately. Shop for new pillows and then look at Tripadvisor and wonder why your hotel is 8 out of nine and you have vacancies. Then take you and your staff to customer service school.

Room Tip: Tip to choose a good room - stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wendy1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We arrived and found the hotel easily--it's best feature is that it is next to/across from the train station depending upon if you stay in the main hotel or the building across from the station. I agree with the others that the staff is not friendly or helpful, although I found our breakfast person and the earlier staff to be much better than the afternoon staff. The breakfast woman was, in fact, very pleasant. The afternoon staff didn't seem happy to be there at all. The rooms--my 1990s college dorm was nicer and bigger. Clean, for the most part, but old and stained here an there. Bathroom very small. If you want to shave your legs, girls, hope you are flexible. Very little room for a triple to walk around. The food in the hotel at dinner was very good, I thought, but not served with even a slight smile. I asked three times for the wifi login and never got it. Waited for quite some time and food was delivered all separately. But, it was really delicious which did make up for that part a bit. The breakfast worked fine for us--typical European style. This was expensive for what it was. We also saw Silberhorn and Oberland in the same price range and wondered if they may have been better....food at both of those places was great. We still LOVED Lauterbrunnen and the hotel worked for exactly that reason, but not sure I would suggest it to others.

Room Tip: Not sure if the main hotel is better or worse than the "dorm" across from the train, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jersey_Jet_Setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#17 of 20 in Wengen
75 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Steinbock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Steinbock

Address: Bahnhofplatz 3822, Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: £68 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Steinbock 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Steinbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Steinbock Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing