We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, quiet and wonderful hospitality”
Review of Chalet Im Rohr

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lauterbrunnen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Im Rohr
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Comfort, quiet and wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Elsbeth runs the inn and was so very welcoming. The inn in very comfortable, quiet and has an unbelievable view of the valley. It's only a 10 minute walk from the train station in Lauterbrunnen. The rooms are furnished comfortable with basic appointments, a kitchen and dining area are available if you choose to cook. There is no reason to spend 10 times the cost and stay at a hotel. Stay at Chalet Im Rorh!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FlyingMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Elsbeth was such a welcoming hostess! The house has been in her husband's family for hundreds of years. It is almost 400 years old, so of course it has rustic charm. We were so fortunate to have a wonderful room on the second floor with a balcony over looking the falls.
The bathroom was down the hall, and shared, but very clean. The room was comfortable, not luxurious. It had a bed with side tables, a table and chairs and a sink - which was nice. Do bring earplugs because the church bells ring every 15 minutes just across the street.
The shared kitchen and dining hall was fine even though there was a large group using it at the same time. Unfortunately it was the time of the summer when the cows are brought down from the Alps through the town so there were many flies - but that's nature for you!
The price was great! There was wifi in the office. And Elsbeth sweetened it all!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ani-from-Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

The inn is located next to the waterfall. We can see the beautiful scenery in the balcony. The staff is very nice. The inn is a traditional wood house. The shower and toilet are not inside room but it is clean. The view from our room is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllisbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at Chalet im Rohr, the first being in 1995. We again choose this hotel as its affordable. All other hotels are SOOOOO expensive. I would describe this hotel as rustic. The floors creak, the mattress is a bit soft and showers and toilets are shared, but it's a great location at a great price. Each room has its own basin and table and chairs and is quite spacious, and the quilts keep you cosy warm overnight. There are 2 showers and 2 toilets on each floor and we never had to wait for either during our 3 nights there in June 2012. The owner Elspeth and her husband are welcoming and friendly. The hotel has a sensational view of Staubbach Falls, and there is a verandah to sit on in the evenings to enjoy a well deserved refreshing beverage (brandies and red wine were our choice, but not mixed together of course). Only word of warning is to pack earplugs, as the hotel is right next to a gorgeous church, and the bell in the church sounds every quarter Hour and on the hour. An earplug and a full day up the mountain cuts out the sound. I'd highly recommend chalet im rohr as for the price you can then afford to eat out, although a kitchen is available for guests to use.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Myself and two friends stayed here for 2 nights and had a fantastic time. I wish I had stayed longer. The owners were really nice and helpful. The views from the balcony were breathtaking! The rooms were very clean, and it was in a great location. 5 mins from the train station. We rode our bikes and im so glad we did. You get to see, feel, and be a part of the stunning landscape around you. It really is a beautiful place! I wouldnt hesitate to go back. Great place for base jumpers, though personally, I think they are crazy!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This place is also called Gausthaus Im Rohr. It is very cheap compared to the hotels in town, but is more like a hostel than a hotel, so if you are expecting a hotel, this is not the place to stay. Rooms/furniture/carpet/lino are old, but clean, and it is nice staying in a swiss chalet rather than a hotel block building. Shared bathrooms have plenty of hot water and power, and are clean. There is a common kitchen (stove, oven, fridge - no microwave or freezer), which we (and everyone else) made use of while we were there as it is so much cheaper to cook your own dinner than to eat out in the village. Lots of pots and crockery, and kitchen is clean.

Many base jumpers staying at the chalet during our 6 nights there, there is a room downstairs where we saw them prepping their gear in the evenings.

It is about a 8-minute walk from the train station to the guesthouse, past many of the hotels. No AC, so if you are going in summer it might be better to have a room without a balcony (!!) if you are paranoid about otherwise leaving your windows open at night. It is also next to the church and the church bells chime every quarter hour.

We enjoyed our time there and would stay there again if going back to Lauterbrunnen.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies I think. We stayed in Room 33 (has a shared balcony), opposite it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Fantastic location with amazing huge waterfall view!!! Great deal for the price. Rooms are decorated in local Swiss style, very cozy. Showers and toilets located outside a room but there was a small sink and a mirror inside the room. This is a great place to stay for both couples and larger groups. Rooms have balconies with breathtaking waterfall view.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gab-Poz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#3 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Im Rohr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Im Rohr

Property: Chalet Im Rohr
Address: Lauterbrunnen 3822 , Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Chalet Im Rohr Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing