We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well above expectations”
Review of Hotel Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Crystal
Reviewed 30 June 2011

What a great hotel! Smack in the middle of town, large and spacious room with everything we needed and the view from our window must have been one of the best in town. Mark and Ursula are great hosts and operate the Hotel Oberland across the street as well (which incidentally is the best stop in town for meals).

This Hotel would have to be one of the best in town for anyone looking for a clean, comfortable and affordable room in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bassboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2010

My mother and I stayed at the Hotel Crystal for 4 nights. It is centrally located on the main street in Lauterbrunnen only 5 minutes from the train station, and very close to the Oberland Hotel which has a fantastic restaurant.

We were given a very spacious twin room with a private balcony overlooking the valley. The room also has tea and coffee facilities, a tv, a small fridge, and a basic bathroom. It took us a few minutes to discover the roll down blinds on the windows and initially thought there were only sheer curtains - look for the metal poles hanging inside by the windows, bend the poles in two places and you are then able to roll the blinds up and down.

Internet is very reasonably priced at 5 CHF for the whole stay. Breakfast is basic but yummy, with cheese, meat, bread, lovely croissants, jam, yoghurt and juice. The hot chocolate is fantastic. I can also highly recommend the hot chocolate with whipped cream at the internet cafe down the road!

There was only one incident that was a bit negative. Initially the service was wonderful, and the owner very nicely let us use her laptop and hotel printer to book train tickets. We were so appreciative of her kindness. However, we had an unfortunate incident with her a few days later. The breakfast room has an incredible view down the valley to the mountains and waterfalls, but there is only one table that is against the wall and has no view. After being seated at this table twice in a row we politely requested a table with a view the next morning, so we could enjoy it while we were ate. We were given a better table the next day, but the owner also made a sarcastic comment about how we didn't really need a view for the 'half an hour we'd be eating breakfast', and people who stayed longer expected to get the same good tables every morning. This was the only negative and wouldn't stop me from recommending the hotel, but it was a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We recently stayed at Hotel Crystal. Our room was very spacious and had an excellent view from the balcony. The owners were very attentive and responsive to questions we had or requests (for hairdryer, extra key, etc.) The breakfast was excellent too - the owners remembered individual preferences the next day which was a nice touch. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

This hotel isn't luxurious but is very good value for money. The room was huge (lots of space for a stroller and other baby gear). We were able to use the extra twin bed for a changetable (the hosts thoughtfully put a towel down for us). There is plenty of space to hang clothes for a longer holiday and a nice, empty fridge to keep drinks (or baby food) cool. The hotel was nice and quiet as well. The bathroom was huge and the real bonus was a lovely balcony with chairs and a small table to sit on. Breakfasts were typically Swiss - assorted breads, cheeses, cold cuts, yogurt, etc. and the hosts remembered your hot drink selection for the next day so they could ask you if, for example, you wanted hot chocolate again.

A real bonus for us was the high speed wireless internet for only CHF 5 for the entire stay. A baby cot was also available for CHF 10 per night.

This hotel isn't luxurious but good, clean and simple Swiss fare and makes a great base for seeing the area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank guzadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Banoa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.9 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
428 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
3.1 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crystal

Address: Dorf, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: £130 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crystal 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Annexe, is just 30m from the Hotel Oberland and has 5 spacious and modern twin/double rooms each with 1-2 extra beds, and all with a bathroom with shower or bath and WC, TV, small fridge and free WIFI. Three of the rooms have balconies with lovely views. The Crystal Annexe has a lift and is wheelchair accessible, a sitting area, sun terrace and free parking spaces. There is a sports shop on the ground floor with ski rental. A hearty breakfast is served between 7.30 – 10am in Hotel Oberland on the opposite side of the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crystal Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing