We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic, Kitchen mostly inaccessible, No Wifi”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauterbrunnen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Basic, Kitchen mostly inaccessible, No Wifi”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel was very disappointing considering some of the other ones we stayed in Switzerland. It was not more than a glorified motel really, the owner was not usually around for any questions or concerns. The kitchen did not even allow for just water heating, there was no wifi in our room and had to go to the cafeteria do get a poor connection. It just benefits from the beauty of Lauterbrunnen. Not much else in upsides.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a10khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    23
    17
    14
    9
See reviews for
31
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in June. Check in was easy - it was a slight walk uphill from the train station. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was quite large. No air conditioning but we opened our windows and cooled off. The cows across the street were ringing their bells early, but that was part of the charm. Yes, dated furniture, but everything was clean. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a partial view of the falls and the cows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCarFLA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Wife just had a pretty bad bicycle accident before we were due to check in into Hotel Jungfrau. By the time she was treated at the clinic next door it was only 12PM. After reading countless reviews regarding the Swiss and their strict timing we decided just to sit outside the hotel and wait for check in time in 2 hours. To our surprise, an elderly lady whom I believe was the owner came out and greeted us and welcomed us into the hotel. To this day I am very grateful for the welcome we received from Hotel Jungfrau as the wife was in a pretty bad shape.

The room was cute with cow motifs on the head rest of the bed and a bench in the room. However it was missing a mini fridge and the hallway to the room had no lights. Had to use my phone light just to find the keyhole. The shower water pressure was good as well. There was free wifi provided but the speed was pretty bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tek_m_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Been here before, the owner Bridget and the staff are so nice so i came again and will do so as many times as i can. The location i feel is the best in this village. My mother introduced me to this area as she was Swiss so please take this as a good recommendation as for the lesser scores i would ignore them just remember where you are it is, such a beautiful place. I have stayed at others in the village as far as i am concerned for a three star this is the best. Eric Brigham Cambridge UK

Room Tip: Go for the room facing the waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Three couples recently stayed at here for three nights while visiting the area. Overall our stay was pleasant, the location is convenient with parking available. The staff pleasant and accommodating, even helpful on some directions that saved us much time getting back to Italy. Our rooms faced the front and had small balconies that provided a nice view of the town and surrounding mountains. However, if you are looking for luxury this is not the place - the rooms are spartan in style but clean; mattresses are very firm if not outright hard which seems to be the way in much of Europe; no elevator. The first floor restaurant and bar area is quaint in Swiss style. We ate one night at the hotel and the food was not as good as we experienced at nearly hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the major waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in a hostel style room for three people. While the room was quite spacious and had a dated, but ok, ensuite bathroom, the beds were not especially comfortable and none had bed sheets (only a fitted sheet covering the mattress). The only bed covering provided was a small wool blanket which, if you are sensitive to wool like I am, wasn't that helpful. The room was clean but the carpet was dated and had some staining. Breakfast was not included in the fare but the hotel restaurant, located on the main level, offered breakfast at approximately 13 euro pp. This would not be my first choice for hostel accommodation if I was returning to Lauterbrunnen but I would stay again as the room was largely ok and the price for three was very good - for Switzerland

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Horrible. We were booked by Alpavia into this hotel for 2 nights. Had to drag our bags up 6 flights of stairs. No elevator and the owner was no help. Hard, hard beds, hot , no fans available. Did half board dinner was very average and breakfast buffet inferior . Was robbed of our Benadryl from our bath the first day they cleaned? Did not make up the beds? Will never go back there. Was told we were in one hotel , Hotel Silberhorn, thru world walkers, who uses Aplavia in Switzerland. They switched us to an inferior hotel after we booked.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBuffingtonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lauterbrunnen hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
749 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 20 in Wengen
374 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#18 of 20 in Wengen
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen

Property: Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen
Address: Fuehren, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Hotel Jungfrau Lauterbrunnen Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing