We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little restaurant.”

Hotel Oberland Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The hotel Oberland's restaurant is located in the centre of the village just an easy 5 minute walk from the train station. We are open daily from 11.30 am to the evening. Our menu has everything from soups, snacks and salads, pizzas, pasta, meat and fish dishes and of course traditional Swiss dishes of fondues and röstis. Our extensive desert menu has something for everyone from a small ice cream to our special chocolate cake. Relax in our garden with a cooling drink in summer or in our restaurant with a hot chocolate in winter. Free parking is available and a bus stop a few meters away.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We didnt stay in the hotel, we visited the restaurant. We loved our menu of burger and rosti. They amounts were big, and made fr a decent meal. The view sitting outside is excellent, having your breakfast basking in the semi-hot morning rays of sun!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harsha1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    210
    42
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We ate at this restaurant twice - best meals we had in Lauterbrunnen. For our first meal we made a reservation ahead of time and when we arrived our table was ready and waiting for us - awesome. Our second time we just showed up and ate outside. Even though it was cold, they have heaters to keep the patrons warm - awesome again. Their Rosti is great and apple strudel with custard and ice-cream even better. Cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEO_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great swiss food”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We ate in the restaurant while staying here. They are particular about making reservations ahead. There are different types of swiss Rosti (potatos and cheese)
Nice atmosphere on the front porch covered. Even in the rain. Good service and very filling. They also have strudel for dessert.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We've been eating at Oberland on our stays in the region for 5 years and have never been disappointed. Swiss dining is _expensive_, but you seem to get as much for your SF here as anywhere in the area, and the menu features both typical Swiss standards (raclette, fondue, röstis) and some less obvious choices (a wonderful chicken with polenta dish and a fine niçoise salad, for two examples). We'll be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wrb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Magical spot in Lauterbrunnen!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Oberland for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay! Our room was clean and very comfortable with a fabulous view out our window of the falls and the snow-covered mountains. We ate in the restaurant all three evenings and enjoyed all three meals very much. We sat on the patio outside facing the hills, just beautiful! Attentive service and delicious food!

Helpful?
1 Thank ARTrav481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Oberland Restaurant also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Oberland Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing