We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Staubbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We took the train across Switzerland from Paris, which I would recommend to anyone. I did a lot of research to find this gem and I couldn't have been happier. I mainly chose it for the geographic beauty and proximity to Jungfrau. My husband requested a room with the waterfall view (Stabbach Falls - 300 meters in height). We arrived late at night, so went straight to bed. I woke up right before sunrise and went onto the patio where I thought I was in heaven. The view is the most beautiful I had ever seen. As the sun came up, it became even more beautiful. You absolutely cannot take a bad picture in this region. This is a photographers dream.

Breakfast was wonderful - nice variety, with a breathtaking view of the waterfall from our table by the window. One of the staff members (I want to say Maria?) was extremely friendly and helpful. She visited each guest, helped them with their daily plans, gave tips and advice, etc... She actually helped us plan our whole first day, giving us exact instructions on how to reach each area, choices we had, how long each hiking segment was, modes of transport, and so on; it was the perfect day. We were fortunate because we had perfect weather the whole time we were there - no rain.

The manager was exceptional, as well. She was very helpful in answering our questions, making suggestions for us, and very friendly, always - just like all the staff we encountered during our stay. I have nothing but good things to say about all of them. Also, the staff is multilingual.

Our room was very simple. It was tiny and amenities were very basic, but everything else was so perfect we didn't care. The balcony was the highlight of our room; in fact, we slept with the doors open part of the night to enjoy the view and fresh air.

The town was quaint and picturesque, but the shops are pricey, even for simple things. Bottled water was very pricey in this area, and was $10 a bottle when we were near the top of Shilthorn. I highly recommend the Jungfraujoch, Shilthorn, and Trummelbach Falls (Europe's largest subterranean waterfalls) ; also, hiking, riding the various modes of transportation, and anything and everything you have the time and money to do - you won't regret any of it. We can't wait to go back. If you are looking for outdoor fun, beautiful scenery, clean air, and a down-to-earth place to lie your head, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: I highly recommend getting a room with a balcony facing the waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suntravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Well located in Lauterbrunnen, this hotel served our needs during a brief to day stay in the area in October, 2011.
The room was not fancy, but serviceable. The breakfast buffet was most appreciated. We understand that some renovations will be taking place soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redeaglez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My wife and I recently spent two days in Lauterbrunnen during our European whirlwind tour via the rails. We booked in at the Hotel Staubbach as it seemed to be the perfect base for exploring the Alps and was bolstered by a number of positive Trip Advisor reviews. That said, here's a summary of our Hotel Staubbach experience:

Rooms - Very clean and comfortable. We had booked a balcony room on the top floor facing the street, and had a lovely view of the waterfall as well. The room itself has a very rustic, swiss feel to it (like that of a chalet) that adds to the already incredible atmosphere (you're surrounded by the alps!). The room's door locks are the old style, keyhole variety, so its always amusing that you can both look yourself out and in, so hang onto your key!

Front desk/staff: Super friendly and exceptionally helpful and with no hassles checking in or out. Every staff member we met was great at answering our questions and showing us the best way to explore the area. The Stabbauch's staff are truly an asset to the hotel!

Breakfast - probably the best deal going! Not only is it included in the room rate, but there's a very nice selection of items to choose from. One of our most relaxing moments in Lauterbrunnen was eating breakfast while gazing out at the panoramic alpine view around us.

Location - Fantastic location in an absolutely stunning setting. The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk from Lauterbrunnen's main (and only) train station. The main street is so atmospheric that one does feel they've left behind reality and entered a storybook village.

The bottom line - The Hotel Stabbauch most definitely deserves its current #1 Trip Advisor ranking for the Jungfrau region based on our personal experience. From the fantastic staff, cozy rooms, great breakfast and unparalleled views, I can only hope I'm afforded the opportunity to stay here again sometime in the future. Five out of five, no question.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globalwanderer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had a fantastic stay in the hotel. It is located about 10 mins from the train station and quite a bit of a uphill walk. Not easy with luggage but the effort was well worth it. We paid for a room with a balcony and boy...what a views! Truly well worth the extra money. The room was a good size and an equally big bathroom (separate by the vanity area and the toilet). Breakfast was good. Have never seen red shelled hard boiled eggs before in my life. Service is great...the staff was so helpful. They have a TV room and couple of computers for us at the TV room. Free wifi is a definitely plus for me. They also offer free tea and coffee in the lounge area till about 9 pm. We bought some food from the supermarket and had it at the lounge area which was very comfortable.
We checked out early and left our luggage to make our trip to Jungfrau. When we return, the staff still offered us tea before we leave to catch our train.....
One of our best hotels in our trip.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the balcony facing the mountains and the waterfall. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Nicer place in a lovely small town. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is old but well kept. Room was big and roomy by European standards. The breakfast was very good and a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jncon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Spent 2 nights here, was a nice relaxed atmosphere. Staff were really friendly and helpful checking weathr forecasts and making recommendations. Things like breakfast, tea and coffee, wifi are all included in the price so you know what your paying up front. Rooms are comfortable and when you open your door in the morning onto your balcony you have an amazing view. They saff even arranged for it to snow overnight!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natdavebem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I booked this hotel on behalf of my parents who are in their early 60s. I emailed back and forth with the staff to make arrangements and they were incredibly accommodating.

My parents can't say enough positive things about this hotel. We splurged on a room with a balcony facing the waterfall and it was worth every penny. The setting is gorgeous, the breakfast was delicious and the service was second to none. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Spring for the balcony facing the waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
661 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: £94 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Staubbach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing