We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Staubbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have nothing to add to the reviews already posted. The hotel is a typical old style Swiss bed and breakfast type inn, so do not expect luxury accommodations . What really makes this place is the location and the staff. It would be difficult to find a place anywhere with a more scenic location. The staff at the hotel are the most friendly and helpful of any place I have ever stayed. We stayed for three nights in late June, 2012 during a very warm, sunny period and the only complaint I have is the lack of any type of air circulation or air conditioning in the room. It was rather warm in the room with the windows open until well after sundown.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard35758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

The hotel is a 15 min walk from the train station .We had a quick check-in. the room was nice had a log cabin feel . We were on the top floor and had a great view of the waterfall . The breakfast was fresh. The view from the breakfast room is breathtaking as you see the snow peaked mountains . The staff were very friendly and helpful. They helped us plan the journey to all the destinations.
It was my wife's birthday and the lady at the reception helped me get the midnight surprise together ! which was very kind of her.
Whenever we do visit lauterbrunnen again[which we are sure we will as we loved the place ] will surely stay here again.

Room Tip: The room with the snow peaked mountains and the waterfall both are the ones you should be looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharad03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed at the hotel on Jun 2012 for two nights. It is a very quaint hotel located about 15 minutes from the train station. The views of the mountains and especially the falls is breathtaking. If you want to stay in a ritzy five star hotel with all the amenities, then this place Is not for you. However, if you want to stay in hotel with birds sInging for your window, enjoy views of the SwIss Alps, and hear the soothing sound of the falls, then stay here. Staff is very helpful. Breakfast buffet is excellent. To summarize, a charming B&B with great Swiss hospitality! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alagad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The price is right, the hotel is lovely & charming as are the employees. They're friendly and helpful! The rooms are basic but sufficient, the beds are a little firm but comfortable after a long day of hiking! The view from our room was perfect, and an ideal place to have take-out dinner (we picked up some sandwiches, drinks & snacks at the Coop store to save some time & money)

The only downside of the room is that it also has a great view of the church, whose bells chime every 15 minutes, and I'm assuming it was drunks at the Horner that woke me up at 2am. If only I knew enough German to figure out what was so funny! :)

Also, our room was on the 3rd floor and the free Wi-fi didnt seem to work up there. I was using my iphone which usually picks up on wifi easily but never picked up the Staubbach's signal. I could pick up the Horner's though.
But that wasn't a huge problem. I liked hanging out in the TV/computer room, watching the Eurocup with fellow travelers!

The breakfast buffet (included) has a good selection, there is coffee, tea & ice available 24/7, and computers available as well.
Overall it's a wonderful hotel and the staff helps you to feel right at home!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Staubbach Falls have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccermomdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed three nights, and our experience was right in line with that of most other reviewers. The staff is amazing, a wonderful combination of professional, friendly, and helpful. The location is great, although really, anywhere in Lauterbrunnen would be about as good, unless your room has a view of Staubbach Falls. The breakfast buffet is excellent, with a mix of traditional Swiss foods (e.g., Bircher muesil, breads, jams) and some other options (e.g., scrambled eggs). And the hotel itself is appealing -- an old place, to be sure, but that's part of its charm, and we never felt that it had seen better days. Instead, it has a good mix of old charm and new amenities. The one down side is that some of the rooms (including ours) open up toward the Horner Pub, which struck us as slightly seedy and which meant that we listened to some very loud drunks until late in the night. That's the only reason we'd rate it four stars rather than five.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crs107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We arrived early but the staff were very accommodating and provided us with luggage storage and great advice to see the Trummelbach falls. Decent sized room with a good view of the Staubbach falls (we did pay more for this). In room WiFi and breakfast was included. The breakfast was very nice with a good range. Lauterbrunnen was a nice small town to stay in for access to Jungfrau. The hotel is located on the main road, about a 10 minute walk from the train station with suitcases. It was expensive but no more so than all of Switzerland.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This turned out to be a pretty good choice based on variety of factors.
'Yes' the place was built over 100 years ago and there's an awful lot that needs to be done to refurbish and decorate this yet. (First impressions of stained carpet runners everywhere and bare walls.) But the price wasn't extortionate and the staff were all delightful. 
Angie - Brit who is the manager at the reception couldn't have been nicer. Welcoming, informative and really friendly to everyone. Multilingual a mine of information and happy to help. Thanks Angie.
Out for the day and arrived back to find room not made up yet by 4.0pm. Not a major deal but was a little surprising. Rooms a tad stark but clean and have the usual Swiss split beds. ( Raises questions not appropriate for TI!)
Breakfast more than adequate to go with the view and there's always  tea, coffee etc available downstairs rest of day.
Rooms don't have TVs but have to say that if you need to find entertainment in a TV in such a gorgeous surrounding environment the issue may not be with the hotel's amenities.
Rooms with a view for a little extra 'but' balconies are all connected so that, as I type this I'm having to tolerate a five year old with clueless parents who have just spoilt the peace of the whole valley!
Clock does strike all night as others have complained but maybe I'm just a deep sleeper and it only woke me once. No big deal.
This place is value for money and is certainly not five star but a good choice for those a tad less picky who are looking for a clean, safe room in a gorgeous part of the world and some very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Face the Falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
78 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: £92 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Staubbach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing