We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staubbach in Lauterbrunnen”
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Staubbach
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Staubbach in Lauterbrunnen”
Reviewed 2 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Staubbach for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly and eager to help in any way.

We stayed in Room 34 (corner room) on the 3rd floor and had a magnificant view of the waterfalls from our bed. We enjoyed spending time on the balcony.

The room was very clean and comfy and the breakfast was very adequate.

We would stay again at the Staubbach.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank ahaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    224
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
226
516
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Raceland, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We just returned from a two week vacation in Italy/Switzerland.
My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Staubbach for four nights. We stayed in room 9, the corner balcony room which faces the falls. We loved sitting on the balcony at early morning and late evening time. We would open the windows at night to hear the falls and the chiming of the church bells. For us, it was a perfect end to a perfect vacation. The staff was extremely gracious, friendly, and helpful. We interacted with four of them; all four were quick to help and offer suggestions of hikes, bike trails, etc. We stayed in four bed and breakfasts during our trip. This breakfast was the best of the four, more than adequate. (I loved the blackberry jam). Lauterbrunnen is centrally located and was the perfect spot to visit the neighboring towns. We hiked and biked the surrounding areas for three days. On day four we rented a scooter in Interlaken to visit the Lake Brienz area and Grindelwald. There is no television in the room, but there is a central TV in the lobby. My husband enjoyed watching the Euro 2008 soccer games (futball) with other hotel guests. There is also no telephone, but that wasn't a concern for us either. I highly recommend this hotel--we loved it!
Patrice
Raceland, Louisiana USA

  • Liked — the helpful staff, the great view
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank patirooski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Loved our stay at the Staubbach!!! We were there in late April, inbetween seasons, so the hotel was very lightly booked. There were only 7 rooms booked during our stay. We had a great 2nd floor corner room (109 I think), with a south facing balcony looking at the waterfall.

The rooms are spartan, but hey you're in the Alps, what are you doing in your room??!!! Get out and soak up the scenery! The beds were comfortable, there was a separate sink outside of the bathroom.

Yes, the old creaky floors and church bells can be a bit noisy, but we were so tired from hiking that it didn't cause us too much problems. Bring earplugs or an IPOD if you're a light sleeper.

The staff was so friendly (esp. Miriam, the Manager) and the breakfast was hearty and filling.

Lauterbrunnen itself is absolutely charming and I preferred it to the "glitzier" Murren or Wengen. Transportation connections were superb, and the hikes up the valley by all the waterfalls was a highlight!

  • Liked — Views
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

Wow.
This old hotel is at the end of town. Although that means a 10 minute walk from the train station. It also means non-existant town noise. We stayed 4 nights. The first two we were on the waterfall side. Open the window and you hear and see the historic and majestic Saubbach falls constantly. This is only interupted by the local church bells telling the time. You also see the awesome mountains. We spent a lot of time sitting on our balcony just listening and admiring. We then stayed on the less expensive side that still had good views, a babling river and much quieter church bells. We loved this place from both sides. Breakfast was traditional European fare and excellent. The nice touch, the staff would mingle in the breakfast room and help guests with their daily plans. We got several good hiking and bicycling suggestions.

  • Liked — views and staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank virginiatraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Staubbach for two nights in room #19. We paid CHF 140 per night for a south facing room with a valley/waterfall view and balcony. We HIGHLY recommend reserving a room with a waterfall view. It was amazing!!! The room itself was EXTREMELY small. I would compare it to an inside cabin room on a cruise ship (maybe smaller)! The room was cute and cozy. We could see Staubbach Falls while lying in bed. I enjoyed the down comforter and pillows. The bathroom was nice, but there is a rather large step up and over into the shower. (This may be difficult for older travelers.) The water pressure if very strong, maybe too strong. There is no phone or TV, but who needs it with the view!

There is an elevator in the hotel. This is convenient for travelers with a lot of luggage or who do not feel like climbing stairs.

The hotel provided a wonderful breakfast with a large selection. (Make sure to check out the color of the hard-boiled eggs.)

The staff was very friendly and willing to answer any questions.

Tips:

We did a couple of loads of laundry at the Valley Hostel (a 5 min. walk from the hotel) for CHF 5 per wash.

We thoroughly enjoyed taking the gondola ride up to Murren, walking down to Gimmelwald (where we stopped at a small B&B for yogurt and ice cream), and then taking the gondola back up to Murren. We contemplated taking the gondola up to Schilthorn, but it was CHF 35.80 per person from Murren.

We shopped in Grindelwald (the other option when you come to the fork in the road before entering Lauterbrunnen). It was the perfect place to purchase a Swiss Army Knife.

We went to Trummelbach Falls. We thought this was overpriced at CHF 11 per person. We would not recommend.

Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay at the Staubbach for the amazing view.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We loved this place! The location was perfect and we had an amazing view from our room with a balcony. The breakfast was great ... meats, cheeses, croissants, cereal, yogurt. However, the best thing about the place was the staff...they went out of their way to be helpful. During breakfast, Ed went from table to table to see if you needed any assistance planning your day's activities. Doris, at reception, was also extremely helpful and very friendly. We'd definitely stay here again!!!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — loved everything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clav10c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore, md
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2008

Hotel Staubbach was great. Very very friendly staff that was willing to help with anything.

My wife and I had a room on the 2nd floor with a great balcony corner room with a view of the waterfall on one side and a view of the town on the other.

We stayed for a 4 days, and by day 4 the breakfast did get a little old, but it was just fine. We're not that picky about that kind of stuff I guess.

I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lovdswitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
735 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
570 reviews
2.1 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Property: Hotel Staubbach
Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Staubbach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing