We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Staubbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Purpose of stay was short stopover on a roadtrip.

Had a room with a small balcony that had stunning views down the valley (you could see the mountains through the doors while lying down on the bed).

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms simple but clean and comfortable. Overall, great value for money and will definitely be staying here again when I return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2008

After reading reviews here at TripAdvisor, we decided to stay in Lauterbrunnen at the Hotel Staubbach. We had a "Double room Balcony South" room for CHF140/night the first weekend of May. It was wonderful! Great owners, helpful staff, and very clean. All the good things you read in other reviews is true.

Tips:
* Get a balcony room! Don't be tempted to save a few bucks and miss this opportunity. It was great to sit out on the balcony with a book, although I was not doing much reading because it is hard to look away from the view.

* Not only do you have to pay for internet access, the computers are located downstairs in the TV room area. They are coin-operated, so you must have cash. Also, the actual computers are locked up behind wood boxes, so there is no way to connect your USB drive or memory card to upload digital pictures or attach them to emails. Pretty much all you can do is access web-based email and surf the web. This is true of all public computers all over Lauterbrunnen, not just this hotel.

* If you bring your own laptop, there is no wireless internet access at the hotel or anywhere in town that we could find - and we asked around.

* Reserve early and be specific about the room type you want. If a large room is important, be specific, they will try to accommodate you.

* Dinner is not served at the Hotel Staubbach. The first night I wanted fondue, a local specialty. The hotel owner recommended that fondue is priced about the same at all the restaurants in town, so we could choose a very nice restaurant (well, very nice by Lauterbrunnen standards). We ended up at the Hotel Silberhorn for dinner, and yes, it was good. The second night he recommended Hotel Oberalp. Again, a very good dinner, probably the best yet. We had the ribeye and mushroom tortellini. Yum.

* Trummelbach Falls is a 45-minute walk from the hotel along a scenic, paved path/road. Very little traffic on the walk, so it is safe for the family. We brought our cameras and stopped frequently to take pictures and observe all the cows, goats, sheep, flowers, and helicopters dropping off base jumpers (lots of parachutes!), so our walk was actually 2 hours. Fantastic, easy walk for everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SKaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

After a miserable flight from the States--complete with lost baggage at the Paris airport--we arrived at the Hotel Staubbach. What great fortune for us! Doris made sure we were comfortably situated in our room, gave us great advice on where to eat and what to do the next day as we awaited arrival of our luggage. Not only that, Doris kept in touch with the airline and kept us up to date on when and where our baggage would be sent. Ed gave us a regular guide's description of what to do in the area and how best to plan our day. His advice was great and delivered to us while we enjoyed a great breakfast (included in the room rate). While the room was small, it was immaculate and had a great view. (When we booked the room we were informed in advance that we had obtained the last available room and we were apprised of the room's limitations. Note, however, those limitations were quite minor.) The service, location and facility quality are top notch.Again, if Doris and Ed are on duty, your vacation at the Hotel Staubbach will be first-rate.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philosopher43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We had a really comfortable stay at this great old hotel. It has been housing guests since the 1890s! The staff was so friendly and were just great hosts. We had room 37, which was very quiet--on the top floor on the corner. Even though we did not have a balcony or even a coveted south facing view (of the Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau and Staubbach Falls) most any view in the Lauterbrunnen Valley offers stunning views. And we had huge windows to take in the views and the crisp mountain air! It was great for sleeping, as the river rushed below and the down comforter kept us cozy through the cool nights. It was heaven to wake up in our room at the Staubbach. They had an extensive breakfast in the morning that kept us full through a day of gorgeous hiking in the area. The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk from the Lauterbrunnen train station, and from the cable car up to Grutschalp/Murren. You will love the Staubbach and the Lauterbrunnen Valley.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckislove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Staubbach for 3 nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly and eager to help in any way.

We stayed in Room 34 (corner room) on the 3rd floor and had a magnificant view of the waterfalls from our bed. We enjoyed spending time on the balcony.

The room was very clean and comfy and the breakfast was very adequate.

We would stay again at the Staubbach.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank ahaddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We just returned from a two week vacation in Italy/Switzerland.
My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Staubbach for four nights. We stayed in room 9, the corner balcony room which faces the falls. We loved sitting on the balcony at early morning and late evening time. We would open the windows at night to hear the falls and the chiming of the church bells. For us, it was a perfect end to a perfect vacation. The staff was extremely gracious, friendly, and helpful. We interacted with four of them; all four were quick to help and offer suggestions of hikes, bike trails, etc. We stayed in four bed and breakfasts during our trip. This breakfast was the best of the four, more than adequate. (I loved the blackberry jam). Lauterbrunnen is centrally located and was the perfect spot to visit the neighboring towns. We hiked and biked the surrounding areas for three days. On day four we rented a scooter in Interlaken to visit the Lake Brienz area and Grindelwald. There is no television in the room, but there is a central TV in the lobby. My husband enjoyed watching the Euro 2008 soccer games (futball) with other hotel guests. There is also no telephone, but that wasn't a concern for us either. I highly recommend this hotel--we loved it!
Patrice
Raceland, Louisiana USA

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank patirooski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Loved our stay at the Staubbach!!! We were there in late April, inbetween seasons, so the hotel was very lightly booked. There were only 7 rooms booked during our stay. We had a great 2nd floor corner room (109 I think), with a south facing balcony looking at the waterfall.

The rooms are spartan, but hey you're in the Alps, what are you doing in your room??!!! Get out and soak up the scenery! The beds were comfortable, there was a separate sink outside of the bathroom.

Yes, the old creaky floors and church bells can be a bit noisy, but we were so tired from hiking that it didn't cause us too much problems. Bring earplugs or an IPOD if you're a light sleeper.

The staff was so friendly (esp. Miriam, the Manager) and the breakfast was hearty and filling.

Lauterbrunnen itself is absolutely charming and I preferred it to the "glitzier" Murren or Wengen. Transportation connections were superb, and the hikes up the valley by all the waterfalls was a highlight!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
660 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: £93 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Staubbach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing