We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go there again”
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Staubbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2008

The other reviewers have covered pretty much of what i want to say. VERY beautiful town and friendly people. we were very happy that we picked Lauterbrunnen for our stay instead of Interlaken. We had booked a 4 to 5 person room. the double bed and the bunk bed for the kids were comfortable. This room did not have a balcony with the falls view, but the view of the snow covered mountain from the window was beautiful. The pillows were very thin and long. Had to fold them to use. Breakfast was good, the boiled eggs with colorful shells looked very interesting.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank live4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed at the Staubbach for 2 nights in June 2008 and it was our favourate hotel of our trip to Switzerland. We booked a triple room at 200CFF and were given a large corner suite on 1/F with 3 rooms and a small living room with a TV with excellent views of the waterfall and the church. Not to mention the large balcony facing the waterfall. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. Excellent breakfast with great choices and excellent view of the waterfall at the breakfast room. Most friendly staff ensuring that you have a good planning of your trip every morning. There is also a tearoom serving complimentary tea or coffee until 8pm. The bells from the church were not really noisy at all and did not affect my sleep even my room was really close to the church.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank THo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

I would definitely seek lodging elsewhere in Lauterbrunnen! We loved Switzerland, we just had a horrible experience at this hotel. We took a recommendation from Rick Steves' book to stay here, and all of our other lodging recommendations from him during our monthlong trip to Europe were right on, but this one was off the mark. The walls of the building are paper thin and there was a school group staying there when we were. They were extremely loud and when I asked Mila (front desk) it there were quiet hours, she said, "It is very hard to tell our guests to be quiet." Finally at 1am, I pounded on our wall to the room full of guys laughing and carrying on next door. The following night, I took Excedrin PM to sleep through it and my husband was woken up at 1am by the guys next door, this time out on the balcony being extremely loud. We would never stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Travel_Fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

This is a beautiful area of the world, and our room had a balcony from which we could see the falls and the mountains of the Jungfrau. It was gorgeous. The room itself was simple with no TV or phone, but we spent most of our time hiking in the beautiful area or on our balcony. The breakfast was simple but filling. The staff was the most helpful and friendly we encountered on our 21 day trip. We especially enjoyed and appreciated Doris’ helpful advice on what hikes to take and she always greeted us with a smile. This hotel was one of our favorites for our entire trip.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lv2travelScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Hotel is a classic swiss building at the end of town. Town is small so walking from the train station is not an issue. Being at the end of the road gives great views of the valley. Hotels in the middle of town didnt have as good views. Rooms are simple but adequate. Balconies are nice but there are also great views from the breakfast room. Breakfast is good with plenty of food. Staff were very helpful in planning daily activities. A room to watch movies and read downstairs if you want. Internet downstairs but you have to pay. We had rain for part of our trip so decide how many days you want carefully. I wouldnt count on just one day to give you good weather. Mountain view trail on the Schilthorn side of the valley was a tiring but great hike. Food was very expensive in Switz so adjust your budget accordingly.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank JackHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We just returned from a trip to Europe that included a (too short) stay at the Hotel Staubbach in the incredibly beautiful Berner Oberland. After being stuck in a traffic jam for 90 minutes on the drive to Lauterbrunnen, it was a relief to find the smiling and helpful Doris ready to check us in. We were a family of 12 traveling together including my parents who were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary and my three young children.

Doris got us settled quickly into our rooms. We had a suite of rooms that had formerly been where the owners lived. It was quite spacious. We had been advised that the room had not been remodeled and that it was a bit rustic. While this was true, it was also scrupulously clean and well-maintained and we didn't mind the outdated decor or creaky floors. Once we opened the doors to our balcony, we were even more happy as we had an incredible view of the waterfall and surrounding mountains.

Doris was very helpful in directing us to restaurants, the train station and gave us some wonderful advice on a day trip after our early morning jaunt up the Jungfrau. As an added bonus, when Doris learned of my parents' anniversary, they arrived back in their room to find a lovely bouquet of flowers and a small bottle of champagne. Now, that's service that goes above and beyond.

The Berner Oberland is a truly incredible place to visit and I would highly recommend the Hotel Staubbach as a base of operations while exploring this lovely part of Switzerland.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GiseleMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

I agree that the website makes the hotel look more "upscale" than it really is, but it does have a certain rustic charm.
The staff was kind and helpful.
Breakfast was unremarkable, but more than adequate.
The bathtub in our room was just what we needed after a day of hiking.
It is convenient and quiet.
We were very happy.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank leavehomeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
78 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: £91 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Staubbach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing