We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, beautiful views, fantastic service”
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Staubbach
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel, beautiful views, fantastic service”
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Booked this hotel based on Tripadviser comments.
6 of us stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Staubbach in a Family room. We totally enjoyed the experience. The room was spacious, had 3 rooms, all with sinks, 1 living room, 1 bathroom and a huge balcony with lovely views of the Staubbach waterfall, which we took many pictures of.
The location was also very convenient, just 10 min away from Launterbrunnen train station, where we took the train to Jungfrajoch easily.
Downstairs, coffee and tea was provided for guests till 9pm everyday, which we felt was a nice gesture. Continental breakfast was also included in the very reasonable room rates.
In terms of service, I can only say its excellent. Before our holidays, we sent a few emails to the hotel for enquiries, all of which were replied within 24 hours. (which is great, as compared to some other hotels, I had to email a few times and not even receive 1 reply.)
When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by Doris, the front desk, who was so friendly and helpful in giving us information on our sightseeing trips to Jungfrajoch and the surroundings.
Through our stay, everyone was friendly and helpful and catered to whatever we needed.
I will strongly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the area :)

  • Liked — View and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Joie-Spore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    222
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
225
510
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Recent reviews suggested that i had chosen a good hotel to stay at in Lauterbrunnen and it was proved to be right. The hotel is in a fantastic location, we had a room the opposite side from the waterfall but still had a fantastic view up towards the village of wengen. Breakfast was fine with enough to choose from to start you off for a day in themountains. Other reviews have moaned about the decor needing updating but i think the hotel would lose a lot of its charm if too much was done. a nice touch was the kettle in the common room to make yourselves tea and coffee on returning to the hotel. The stars of the hotel were the staff themselves, they take great pleasure in helping people plan their days and offer advice with a smile.
A really enjoyable stay and we may well go back next year.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — i would have liked a slightly longer bed!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hergest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2008

The other reviewers have covered pretty much of what i want to say. VERY beautiful town and friendly people. we were very happy that we picked Lauterbrunnen for our stay instead of Interlaken. We had booked a 4 to 5 person room. the double bed and the bunk bed for the kids were comfortable. This room did not have a balcony with the falls view, but the view of the snow covered mountain from the window was beautiful. The pillows were very thin and long. Had to fold them to use. Breakfast was good, the boiled eggs with colorful shells looked very interesting.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Waterfall view
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank live4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed at the Staubbach for 2 nights in June 2008 and it was our favourate hotel of our trip to Switzerland. We booked a triple room at 200CFF and were given a large corner suite on 1/F with 3 rooms and a small living room with a TV with excellent views of the waterfall and the church. Not to mention the large balcony facing the waterfall. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. Excellent breakfast with great choices and excellent view of the waterfall at the breakfast room. Most friendly staff ensuring that you have a good planning of your trip every morning. There is also a tearoom serving complimentary tea or coffee until 8pm. The bells from the church were not really noisy at all and did not affect my sleep even my room was really close to the church.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The shower room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank THo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Vernon, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

I would definitely seek lodging elsewhere in Lauterbrunnen! We loved Switzerland, we just had a horrible experience at this hotel. We took a recommendation from Rick Steves' book to stay here, and all of our other lodging recommendations from him during our monthlong trip to Europe were right on, but this one was off the mark. The walls of the building are paper thin and there was a school group staying there when we were. They were extremely loud and when I asked Mila (front desk) it there were quiet hours, she said, "It is very hard to tell our guests to be quiet." Finally at 1am, I pounded on our wall to the room full of guys laughing and carrying on next door. The following night, I took Excedrin PM to sleep through it and my husband was woken up at 1am by the guys next door, this time out on the balcony being extremely loud. We would never stay here again!

  • Disliked — The thin walls and front desk unwilling to address noisey guests
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_Fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

This is a beautiful area of the world, and our room had a balcony from which we could see the falls and the mountains of the Jungfrau. It was gorgeous. The room itself was simple with no TV or phone, but we spent most of our time hiking in the beautiful area or on our balcony. The breakfast was simple but filling. The staff was the most helpful and friendly we encountered on our 21 day trip. We especially enjoyed and appreciated Doris’ helpful advice on what hikes to take and she always greeted us with a smile. This hotel was one of our favorites for our entire trip.

  • Liked — Beautiful view from our balcony
  • Disliked — No phone or TV in room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2travelScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Hotel is a classic swiss building at the end of town. Town is small so walking from the train station is not an issue. Being at the end of the road gives great views of the valley. Hotels in the middle of town didnt have as good views. Rooms are simple but adequate. Balconies are nice but there are also great views from the breakfast room. Breakfast is good with plenty of food. Staff were very helpful in planning daily activities. A room to watch movies and read downstairs if you want. Internet downstairs but you have to pay. We had rain for part of our trip so decide how many days you want carefully. I wouldnt count on just one day to give you good weather. Mountain view trail on the Schilthorn side of the valley was a tiring but great hike. Food was very expensive in Switz so adjust your budget accordingly.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank JackHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#3 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Property: Hotel Staubbach
Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Staubbach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing