We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't underestimate the old lady, she will fool you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Staubbach
Certificate of Excellence
Cookeville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't underestimate the old lady, she will fool you!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Arrived via train into Lauterbrunnen and made the walk from the train station to the hotel. There she stood framed by the valley and the falls of which she bares her name.The army of 8 invaded her lobby and the desk clerk quickly assigned us our 4 rooms and instructed where we could store our luggage.
This was the beginning of three wonderful nights in the valley and a wonderful base in which to operate.If you are looking for expansive lobbies, room service, concierge , large rooms with flat screen TV's, this is not your place.
BUT, if you want a place that treats you like family, gives you a wonderful and comfortable place to sleep, feeds you a wonderful breakfast and is framed by the most beautiful God created scenery then this is your place. Angie, Julian and Lucy will complete your stay! Yes, I will return.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the valley may be a bit noisy until the Horner Pub closes! Not a deal breaker though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elwood E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    216
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
221
506
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

On the surface, Hotel Staubbach is your traditional 3-star-ish Alpine hotel, but the experience is infused with extra warmth and care that isn't always typical in these types of establishments. The rooms, furniture, and decor are similar to what you'll find in other hotels in the Alps- simple, serviceable, chosen decades ago for sturdiness and only modestly upgraded over the years. Some might call it dated or be surprised at the lack of luxury, but to me it makes sense for the cozy room where you'll kick off your hiking boots after a long trek.

Although in many respects - the room, the breakfast, the price - Hotel Staubbach was exactly what I expected, it certainly went beyond my expectations in terms of the friendly, welcoming attitude of the staff, particularly Angie. Whereas we typically expect courtesy and efficiency in these types of inns, Staubbach really seems to want to give its guests a great experience. For example, when we checked in and the basic policies were explained to us, it was made very clear that although we would need to vacate the room by 11:00 on the day of checkout that we were more than welcome to stay in the hotel as long as we liked afterwards, use the lounges and the help ourselves to coffee and tea, etc. This sort of invitation isn't usually extended completely unsolicited in these kinds of places! Additionally, the staff was much more friendly and conversational than we were expecting. They were super helpful in providing information about activities and hikes in the area that would suit our needs and constraints, and giving us tips about where to find things.

There were also unexpected amenities in the hotel that, although small, really make Hotel Staubbach seem more accommodating and guest-oriented than many other Swiss inns, for example the availability of a microwave and refrigerator for guests, bar soap in the bathroom, and an ice machine. These little touches are not typical in Switzerland nor are they generally expected by Swiss clientele, which suggests that this inn is really looking to make its international visitors comfortable and meet their needs as well.

Overall a great experience- the hotel and its staff provide a lovely blend of a traditional Alpine inn, but with a warmth, effort, and friendliness that sets it apart!

Room Tip: We opted for what the hotel calls a "small room" and it was indeed small. It was, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendsville, Tn.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here last Sept. and found this hotel, town and the hiking excursions nearby
most enjoyable. The rooms are rustic and some are small, but they have spectacular views, especially from the balcony's. The staff is beyond approach and so very helpful. We received excellent advise about the area, and how to best explore.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on our trip to Lauterbrunnen, found every member of staff to be above reproach, so friendly, helpful and happy to chat with you or make suggestions about your plans for the day. Breakfast is awesome, bacon amazing. We stayed in an attic room which we enjoyed, they are def small and warm but very cute! Would be happy to stay again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank glsnzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lauterbrunnen is our "base" to explore the surrounding areas. Hotel Staubbach is located about 600 m from the train station. We've had a 3rd floor room (although it is very counterintuitive that while room 20-25 is on the 2nd floor, room 26 is located on the 3rd floor), which had a great view of the fall, and the staff were very helpful. The lounge has tea, coffee and ice available all day, which is nice. The room is small-ish but expected for the price. Our only complaint is that the internet is choppy, and connection kept dropping off. But given the location, service and price (130 CHF/night), it is a very good deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dugu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were very unhappy with the value of this hotel. We paid 360 francs for two nights (the most expensive of 6 hotels we stayed in in Switzerland) and got a TINY room. We were happy that we got a view of the waterfall, but the room was so cramped, only fitting a small double bed, a tiny desk, and no place to put our luggage. We thought we definitely overpaid for the room the size of a closet. However the staff was very friendly and the breakfast was great. The location in the Jungfrau region was amazing as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The room was very uncomfortable. The sink was inside the room and took a lot of space. There was no bedside table or even bedside shelf. The bathroom did not have a single shelf or even a robe hook.
On a positive side, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. Good view of the Staubach Falls.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuzik12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#3 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
42 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Property: Hotel Staubbach
Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Staubbach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing