We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, But Spot On!”
Review of Hotel Staubbach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Staubbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in here and highly recommend! This place is basic but has everything needed. The staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgable of the town! The rooms are clean and I see having a room with the waterfall view a must!

Note: our room did not have a TV, although we spent little time in the room as the village is spectacular!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattw170883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent a wonderful night in this charming hotel curing our week touring Switzerland. The staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful. Breakfast was quite extensive and delicious. Our room was on a corner with the sounds of the River running behind the hotel and Staubbach Falls in front. You can't go wrong at this lovely old hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank OldSaltfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed in a quad-sharing family room and were fortunate to witness 3 days of very different weather, ranging from having the sun all out to rain/hail and snow. The sights were all beautiful in their own ways despite the weather, with excellent view of the valley and waterfall from the hotel. The stay was made enjoyable by the wonderful and friendly service. Hotel was small but well-equipped with common services such as TV area, drinks station and kitchen/cooking room.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Peggyapk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2014. Even though it is beginning of April, it is not very cold and luckily it didn't snow either. We had a south room facing the waterfall and the view is spectacular. You can hear the musical sound of waterfall all through the day. It is totally getting lost in the nature. The room is big, comfortable and have a balcony to enjoy the views. Even the breakfast area has the scenic views of the waterfall. The staff are friendly and gave us lot of tips on adjusting the time to cover most of the places in less time. The walk from the train station to the hotel takes 10-15 mins. Near the railway station, there is a Coop if you want to grab water bottles, snacks, etc for less price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavani I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel Staubbach is a home away from home with hotel staff as part of the family. I agree with previous travelers' reviews about this place. It is truly a wonderful place to stay with genuine hospitality, excellent breakfast, nice common areas, comfortable rooms, beautiful scenery, and great location. We loved our three nights here. Found a lot of fun things to do in the area with the help of Angie, the hotel manager. Great places to eat in town. The hospitality of Angie and Julian was second to none! They are the nicest folks, and I was sad to leave Hotel Staubbach. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning to this area again!

Room Tip: If you want a waterfall view and a balcony, you will pay more. We had a standard room with a gorgeo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anietta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished it were longer, the location is perfect with the most amazing views! The staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful, especially the hotels manager! I cannot give this hotel a high enough review, it was the cherry on the sundae of a fantastic trip. Thank you Hotel Staubbach! I'll be back to Lauterbrunnen and wouldn't stay anywhere else but here :)

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Even if you don't have a room with South exposure (exceptional!), you can still enjoy amazing views of the Lauterbrunnen valley and the amazing Staubbach Falls from the restaurant and from just outside the hotel.

On a rainy day you can always enjoy the welcoming atmosphere in the hotel lounge with free coffee and board games.

Starting with impartial and thorough advice before arrival, hotel management made us feel especially welcome.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The view from rooms with South exposure are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danuta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
78 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Staubbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Staubbach

Address: Main Street, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: £91 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Staubbach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modest middle class hotel. Built in 1890 and put to a new use as a bed & breakfast; enjoy the charm of our landmark hotel in a friendly, informal atmosphere. Only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station, we are the perfect base to explore the region, close enough to enjoy the best views in town of the Staubbach falls but far enough away to stay dry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Staubbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staubbach Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Staubbach Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing