We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place”
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a place”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel is located in one of the most beautiful valleys we have ever seen. We were on the Third floor- the view of the mountains was great. Beautiful room, very helpful staff, great breakfast, fair priece. Next door to the gondola that takes you up to the mountain trails.

Room Tip: Upper rooms provide an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pneumatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    167
    40
    15
    3
See reviews for
122
305
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. Our double room #36 was on the east corner where we had windows facing the street and Stabbach falls. We also had a balcony to sit out on. What a view. I mean a knock you over view, even from the toilet. We ate at the restaurant on our last night. The presentation of the food was tasteful. I was surprised by how many different vegetables were served on one plate along with my pork cordon bleu.
When we settled the bill, the night before departing, we discovered that breakfast is included in our rate. Would have been good to know as its expensive enough in Switzerland. My fault for not clarifying on check in.
There is no elevator, so probably not for older people. The clerk did help my wife with her luggage on check in. They were also excellent at providing assistance with excursions, including weather considerations and such.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This beautiful hotel is perfectly located across the street and up a short hill above the train station. Park your car in the hotel lot and you can get everywhere you need without moving it again. Our room on the top floor on the front had a balcony with a million dollar view of the valley, a small sitting room and a separate bedroom plus skylights! There was a small Coop grocery just below for snacks. The bathroom was large and modern. The breakfast buffet is typical with cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, muesli, yogurt and more and served in the prettiest, sunniest room imaginable. there is also a coffee machine with lots of choices. The restaurant has both a cozy bar and a dining room with large glass windows. The food was very good. There is no elevator but if you're coming to this valley, you're probably up to walking the stairs anyway. We love this area and will come again. So glad we found the perfect hotel that is a 3 star but feels like a 4 star.

Room Tip: Room 33 on the top floor has skylights, a large balcony and a great view. All rooms in the front ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, KS
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Hotel Silberhorn during the last week of August 2013. My initial impression of the hotel was very negative, it was tempered a bit as our time there passed. At the time of check in our perception of the service we received was very poor. I can understand the confusion regarding whether or not the room was ready, but what I don't understand is what came next. This is a hotel with no elevator. After check in we were escorted to our room by a hotel employee who said there was no one to assist with our luggage. As we found out our room was on the 4th floor which in Europe means we had to walk up 5 flights (67 stairs in total) of stairs, some fairly steep, with our luggage in tow. At least we should have been told that we could walk around to the parking lot entrance on the second floor rather than trudge all the way up the stairs, but no no one mentioned it. At the time we were in Lauterbrunnen the temperature was very warm. By the time I made it to our room I was soaked with perspiration. The hotel also has no air conditioning upon entering our room it was like going into a sauna. The room had a sky light and the afternoon sun was baking the room. During our stay the outside day time temperatures remained unseasonably warm and to keep our room even somewhat comfortable we closed the shade on the skylight and we had to keep the door to the balcony and the bathroom window open. Unfortunately, that allowed gnats, moths and other flying insects into the room. Our room, I'm not sure about the rest of the hotel, had no mini refrigerator, no safe (the closet did lock), no shower curtain. There was a tub and a hand held sprayer. It was almost impossible to shower and not get a fair amount of water all over the bathroom. On the upside our room was large and it had ample storage space for us to unpack and store our clothes. It had a double bed, a sofa bed and two chairs and a table. Unfortunately, the room was in serious need of renovation. The carpet had wear marks and some permanent stains. Curiously, as we spoke to staff at other hotels where we had meals they all thought the Silberhorn was the best hotel property in Lauterbrunnen. We did have one dinner at the Silberhorn. As with the rest of the area the prices are high. The meal itself was unremarkable. Included in our room rate was a very nice breakfast buffet. The buffet had a nice assortment of food. The Silberhorn is directly across the street from the train station and adjacent to a cable car. This makes it super convenient to get up to places like Murren, Wengen, Grutschalp, Mannlichen, and Kleine Scheidegg. I'm not sure I can recommend the Silberhorn, but if you do decide to book a room there be sure it is on one of the lower floors.

Room Tip: If possible, do not accept a room numbered higher than 39
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It is a lovely homely hotel very close to centre of Lauterbrunnen and a few minutes walk to the train station, yet it is quiet, so you can listen to the waterfalls from the garden or balcony. We had dinner two nights in the Restaurant, both lovely meals.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterfordfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Silberhorn for three nights. We found the staff extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful. We had a room (16) with a view of the falls. The room is small and quaintly decorated. The closet and bathroom were very small, but fine enough for our use. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was very quiet. The breakfast buffet was very complete and the breakfast room is charming. The hotel is just a block from the train station and even closer to the gondola that goes to Murren. We ate dinner in the dining room twice and had wonderful service and good food. We loved the little town and did a lot of exploring in the area while staying at the Hotel Silberhorn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j4giz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel is a little old fashioned but the stunning view from the lil balcony is amazing and a great reason to stay there. The staff is friendly n helpful but the Buffet breakfast was basic. We enjoyed our stay in this typical swiss hotel but missed the tea arrangement in the room.

Room Tip: No lifts so be careful which floor you choose. The front road facing rooms have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brinda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 20 in Wengen
381 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Property: Hotel Silberhorn
Address: Bei der Zuben 465B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing