We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Views in Lauterbrunnen”
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Views in Lauterbrunnen”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

It helps to be fit to stay in this hotel. Just a few minutes walk from train station, but they failed to mention the walk is all uphill. Not being familiar with the area we lugged our suitcases up the stairs, but it would have been much easier to roll them up the street. As you exit the train station, cross up to the sidewalk in front of the Coop, go left and take the first street on the right. Additionally, this hotel has no elevator, so like the travel tips say, "pack light". Other than that, we loved this place. Our room (really a little suite) was on the top floor, had a separate sitting room with 2 chairs and coffee table, plus desk for computer. Outside there was a full balcony with awesome views (see pic below). No in-room coffee or mini-fridge, but we just put our food supplies on the balcony. Breakfast was a good and full buffet; coffee from a machine and we had to wait in line at times to get our cup. Breakfast not open until 7:30...we would have preferred at least 7:00. We did have a couple requests re: bedding, towels and they were fulfilled to the letter. Though cable car was next door we did not hear any noise at all and enjoyed watching it; also there were a few cows in an adjacent yard, so we drifted off to sleep to the gentle sound of cowbells. If prepared for a few small inconveniences, this hotel is definitely a fine choice. BTW, Coop at bottom of hill is great place to grab lunch, snacks and drinks...very convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms on front side upper floor have great views. We stayed in #33 - front corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    155
    40
    15
    3
See reviews for
118
286
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I can see how others would diss the Silberhorn as it obviously would pose a problem to those who are unhealthy, overweight or unfit (which really isn't the hotels fault). Us on the other hand found it a fantastic hotel for the area. The breakfast buffet was great each morning with a nice hot coffee ready and the staff were always helpful, friendly and smiling. We stayed in what we think was the best room (36) with views of the valley and Wengen. The rooms are large with plenty of windows to open if warm, but all with lace to keep any bugs out. After all, you are in the mountains! The bathroom is a good size and although the bath/shower is smaller then your usual western bath, it is a bath! The only reason why anyone would get water on the bathroom floor is if they didn't close the shower curtain properly or couldn't fit in the shower which again, is not the hotels fault. The beds are very comfortable and rooms are quiet. Internet is free and has great signal to the top floor. The restaurant at night serves great food at a moderate price like most restaurants in Lauterbrunnen. Trips to murren, shilthorn, Jungfraujoch and Interlaken are very easy as the railway is right near the hotel. As the railway is right near the hotel, one can expect some noise during the daytime, however no one should be at the hotel during the day as the area offers so many fantastic outings!! Highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to return!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Silberhorn is located just two minutes walk from the Train Station and is directly beside the Murren cable car lift. The hotel is charming with traditional Swiss motifs and has two very nice restaurants. Our room was a nice size with a seating area and small balcomy separate from the bedroom area. Rooms on the back of the hotel face the hillside while rooms on the front have a view of the town and mountains beyond. The hotel is in a quiet location with easy access to all modes of public transportation. There is no lift to the guest floors.

The desk clerk was extremely helpful advising us when to go to Jungfrau and when to visit Shilthorn. The formal restaurant was very good - be sure to make a reservation in the morning for a table on the glassed terrace. Breakfast was included in the rate and was very nice - a buffet of meats, cheeses and breads with some cooked eggs and sausages.

The hotel is conveniently located between Interlaken and JungFrau and Shilthorn. Although the Jungfrau is the big attraction, we found the Shilthorn much more interesting with breathtaking panoramic views.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have a nice view of the town and mountains. There is no lift, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcox0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived by train, this location is part of a six week trip. The hotel has multiple buildings on one site . Beware it signicantly up the hill, with no transportation available from train station. The rooms are fine, ours with a good deal of space, but it is again up the hill from the reception. There is no traditional service to help with your luggage, then add stairs to the climb. Definitely for people with stamina. The hotel is family run and they are lovely people who we found to be helpful and nice. The dining room is wonderful serving large portions of good food. Our room had a very pretty view over the valley. Overall it was a good value , but not for anyone with any physical limitation.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Parislvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Nice hotel in a great location. 100 yards from the train station. So convenient for an early morning departure to Jungfraujoch or a cable car/train trip to Murren (also recommended). Rooms and comfortable with stunning views from your balcony over the valley to the Mountains. Food is good and the staff most helpful.

Room Tip: I think most rooms have a balcony with wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is a family run hotel in an excellent location and very reasonably priced. After many years skiing in France we wanted a break from routine and found this hotel 3 years ago. We go half board and enjoy a 5 course meals evening. For an additional fee they arrange your ski pass which saves time on your first day. Try and book a superior room as its not much extra and worth the expense. All the staff are very friendly and efficient. The hotel is ideally located for the 2 resorts of Wengen (by toy mountain train) or Murren (cable car and train); about 20 minutes to either. Whilst there, take a sauna and swim at the Murren sports centre.

Room Tip: get a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel is located in one of the most beautiful valleys we have ever seen. We were on the Third floor- the view of the mountains was great. Beautiful room, very helpful staff, great breakfast, fair priece. Next door to the gondola that takes you up to the mountain trails.

Room Tip: Upper rooms provide an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pneumatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#3 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Property: Hotel Silberhorn
Address: Bei der Zuben 465B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing