We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of the Berner Oberland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
FAIRHOPE
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best of the Berner Oberland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Silberhorn for three nights in October and we and our friends are already thinking about our next visit to Lauterbrunnen even though this was our first visit to Switzerland. The hotel simply feels like you imagine the Berner Oberland. Flower boxes on every window, wonderfully remodeled rooms and bathrooms, a very friendly and helpful staff and maybe the best reason to stay at the Silberhorn - the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is served in a wonderful room with a wonderful selection of breakfast standards. I would highly recommend you make reservations and eat dinner in the restaurant - or better yet - stay for three nights and take the half-board option and experience the wonderful Swiss cooking of the area. It's a great location, quick walk to the bus stop, the cable car, the Coop (grocery) or the train station. Loved seeing the cog-wheel trains coming down the mountain or the cable car sliding along side the hotel. Wouldn't think of staying in any other hotel in Lauterbrunnen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAROLD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    150
    40
    15
    3
See reviews for
117
281
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a fantastic hotel! It was the cleanest hotel room I have ever been in. The bathroom was sparkling white. The owner was extremely friendly and came and talked to us every night at dinner. The location was perfect, very close to the train station. Just a short walk uphill. The food was great, and I would DEFINITELY return to this hotel if I returned to the area. The view from the room was incredible. My mom still dreams about going back to this hotel! The only downside was that we were on the top floor and there is no elevator.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

it's located just one street above the station Lauterbrunnen (there is a short cut just next to coop you can reach the hotel directly).
big and very nice B&B in town, total four floors with car park. very quiet as it's not located in main street.
restaurant is big and very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackSkellingtonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Mum and I stayed at Hotel Silberhorn for six nights. This was in a lovely quiet small town in a great spot close to the railway station and cable cars and it was easy to access lots of terrific places from this hotel. The room was small but had everything we needed and we had a fantastic view of the mountains from our room and balcony, and the best most comfortable beds. The breakfast room also had an amazing view and great food, and dinner in the restaurant was top notch too. The staff were friendly and helpful and this was the perfect place from which to explore lots of different parts of Switzerland.

Room Tip: We had a room up two flights of stairs but the stairs were worth it for the great views of the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Silberhorn for 3 nights. It is right across from the train station and very easy to get to. We had no problem with noise from the station. After walking around town, we thought that we had made the best choice for a hotel. Rooms were lovely and clean, with great views from the upper floors. We would suggest a superior room because it gives you a sitting room as well as a bedroom, and the best views. There is no elevator, so if you have mobility concerns this would be a consideration. Breakfast is included and was very satisfactory. Staff were OK but not overly helpful. We did not get the room that we had originally requested and were told that we had to be more specific, so a word to the wise, be very specific in your room choice on your reservation.
The hotel is in a great location for taking the train to the Jungfrau or some of the other mountain villages. The cable car to the train to Murren is right on the side of the hotel. We also went from there to a hike to the village Gimmelwald.
Restaurants are expensive in Lauterbrunnen, but we found a nice cheese shop with fresh bread and good wine to take back to our room. There is also a grocery store and a bank nearby.

Room Tip: Upper 2 floors in the front of the main hotel for good views of the mountains. If you want a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonstone07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have been here with our children in 2000 and 2003; returned this time as a couple. The location of this hotel is superb. A beautiful setting, convenient to rail and the lift to higher altitude hiking. Staff at the hotel are professional and courteous; all aspects show family-run pride. Lovely breakfast, excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Lauterbrunnen is for us a much nicer town than Grindelwald for getting to the Jungfrauhoch, Schilthorn, Murren, and Gimmelwald--more of a real town nit a tourist trap. And the Hotel Silberhorn was perfect for us to park our car (free) and use the rail station just 100 feet away or the cable car and train to Murren. Also, a bus stop at the rail station. We got a room facing away from the town with only the neighborhood goat bells breaking the peace. We had a separate sitting room, and a balcony off that room and the bedroom. All the doors and windows, including the opening skylight, gave us plenty of air flow. Good bedding, tub shower, very clean, this was a good stay. We ate at the restaurant which had primarily Swiss style cuisine. Breakfast was nice with hot food and the usual cold options. Staff were very friendly and free wifi.

Room Tip: Room 30 has a huge balcony and faces away from town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jzippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.4 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Property: Hotel Silberhorn
Address: Bei der Zuben 465B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing