We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel in a beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Really nice hotel in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had three nights here in May and everything was brilliant. Sat on our balcony drinking wine after a day of hiking looking at a half-dozen waterfalls coming down the walls of one of the most spectacular valleys in the world. Went down to dinner to the surprisingly good (for such a little town) restaurant where they gave us the special asparagus week menu. Breakfast was typically Swiss and typically good. It takes about 30 seconds to walk to either the train station or the aerial tram to Grutschalp, but you'd never know they were there. The room was comfy and ample. Everybody on the staff was lovely. Sure it's not a modern hotel, not even a lift, but it didn't matter. Could have stayed here a month, but then we'd be broke.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyfromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thanks for this nice review! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    149
    38
    15
    3
See reviews for
113
280
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We visited recently. It's situated in a very good location. Very close to interlaken but far from its hustle bustle. Their customer service is excellent. Their restaurant food is amazing. We are vegetarians and they prepared delicious good for us. I would recommend this to all my friends.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bvkutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you very much. We would be pleased to welcome your friends as well! ;) Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phenix City, Alabama
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous- it has a very inviting and clean feel. From our room we looked at meadows and counted cows.
It is also right at the train and cablecar station. The grocery store is also right there.
Breakfast was included and quite sumptuous.
The owner was hospitable but some of the other staff members were definitely rude. They simply did not want to answer a question, let alone do anything!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasudha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review! Best regards from Lauterbrunnen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastopol, ca
Level Contributor
400 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our room # 50 is in the annex across from main hotel. Gorgeous views of falls and access to the lovely decks from both the bed and from t.v.living area. Super comfy beds and nice sitting area with couch.

Nice big tub with endless hot water for a soak. Very clean..they brought extra pillows on request. Would like to have better soaps...just packets of combo hair/body soap. Phone did not work.

Breakfast was good enough... hot eggs from steam table not my fav. Delicious breads, but no toaster. Loved the coffee/espresso maker. Very pretty and light breakfast room. This is a small operation but they do their best to please their customers...even if it takes a while to get to it.

Don' be put off that you are right next to the train station and the lift to Murren... could never hear either of them....all the convenience but could be a million miles away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thanks a lot and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is an excellent, family run hotel with at perfect location. From our arrival, Deborah, at the front desk looked after our every need. We booked a superior double, and were not disappointed. Room 61 was a large, comfortable corner room with spectacular views of the falls. We were traveling by rail and funiculars. This hotel is perfect for day trips to all of the local towns and alpine peaks. It is just up the hill from the rail station, and next door to the Murren funicular.
It is a 3 star hotel, and does not have an elevator, but everything is spotless and functional. We will be requesting the same room on our return.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room with a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFbySail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thanks a lot! We hope to welcome you again and send best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I made rather a mistake. I was booking on line to stay one night in Wengen and not many hotels were open as it is closed season. For some reason I thought the Silberhorn was open so booked on line. However, when we got to the Wengen Silberhornit was closed and a very nice man on reception explained that I had actually booked the Silberhorn in Lauterbrunnen.

It was only 20 minutes on the train so no problem really. Lauterbrunnen is a bit of a staging post for travellers to Wengen, Murren and Grindelwald. However, don't let that put you off. The cable car passes close to the hotel but is rather pretty.

The staff were wonderful. The rooms and public areas are really pleasant, clean and pretty. The food in the restaurant was really great. The breakfast was super. The view over the alpine gardens and beyond up to Grindelwald were really great.

We couldn't have asked for any more and we were just 2 minutes from the pretty train station. This is a really great base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PutneyPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite your "wrong" reservation. Thank you for the good feedback. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynard, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Loved Lauterbrunnen and loved Hotel Silberhorn. right up the hill from the train station, short walk to Staubach Falls, next to the Gondola to get to Murren, quick post bus rides to Trummelbach Falls and then Stechelberg. Coop store for groceries right there too. This place is convenient!

Our room was apartment style with a big balcony. Clean, roomy and comfortable like staying in a house. Staff were pleasant and helpful no matter what the question!

When we stayed it rained every day, but the convenient location allowed us to change plans quickly. Also we had signed up for half-board so a very good 4-course dinner was included and we didnt have to venture out to figure out other choices in Town in the rain. Two of our party were gluten intolerant and all food accomodations were made without fuss. Breakfast was large and plenty. Even a big machine to make coffee, espresso, cappucino, hot cocoa, or tea.

Highly recommended and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcampl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silhorn, Owner at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you very much for this mention! Kind regards from sunny Lauterbrunnen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Property: Hotel Silberhorn
Address: Bei der Zuben 465B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Silberhorn Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing