We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edelweiss Apartment - Great apartment, terrific location”
Review of Hotel Oberland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Oberland
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We (my husband, myself, our daughter and son-in-law) stayed in the Edelweiss Apartment for five nights in June 2014. The apartment was exactly as pictured. It was spacious and clean and the views from the balcony were incredible. We enjoyed having the space to relax in during our visit to Switzerland. There was a little market just down the street where we were able to buy groceries to cook breakfast with. The market also sold beer and wine. The only thing that we couldn't figure out was how to use the oven and microwave - the manuals were there but we can't read German. The owners, Marc and Ursula, would have been happy to show us how, I'm sure, but we just never got around to asking about it. The building is old, but the apartment is newly renovated and modern. It was a nice mix of old and new as we were able to use the old-fashioned shutters to close out the light but keep the air flow going for great night sleeping. At one point, a little herd of cows was across the street and we could hear the melodious sound of the cowbells - soothing sound to sleep to. We greatly enjoyed the Lauterbrunnen valley and exploring the area. The apartment is only about 5 minutes from the train station as well as the cable car to Murren. We all wished that we could have stayed longer in this apartment. Marc and Ursula were friendly and helpful. If you go, don't miss an opportunity to eat at their restaurant at the Hotel Oberland. The fondue and the rosti are exquisite. We tried several varieties of the rosti, and also had pizza. The desserts were to die for! Just thinking about it makes me wish I were back there now. Hotel Oberland's Edelweiss Apartment is on our list to return to some day.

Room Tip: Edelweiss Apartment is owned by the Hotel Oberland and is in the building next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerbette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our room was a nice size with two twin beds pushed together, set of bunk beds, small balcony with great views and a large separate bathroom. There was an additional sink area in the bedroom, which was nice. We ate dinner at the hotel one evening, reserving the 6pm time slot; I believe you can reserve either 6pm or 8pm. We enjoyed two different delicious Rosti dishes. If you want to reserve dinner time, be sure to do so well in advance of the seatings (they don't like for you to wait until the last minute). I could have stayed at this hotel for many more nights and would love to return one day!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChoosyAtlantaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our stay at the Oberland was very enjoyable. Our room consisted of two twins and a set of bunk beds even though there was just the two of us. The room also had a large bathroom, a small balcony, and amazing views from the surrounding valley. One of my favorite features was the bed in which you could raise up the back part of the mattress like a hospital bed for maximum comfort. Also, if you are going to eat at the hotel order the signature Swiss cheese fondue as it is really delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steeler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here! The rooms were pretty dusty, but other than that it was a very clean and comfortable hotel. Our tour group loved the restaurant here both nights, and the staff was generally friendly. There isn't a whole lot to do around the hotel besides hiking (which was great) but the view is beautiful from all of the rooms. If you need something to do, try walking up the waterfall by the hotel, but there are lots of slugs (you may want to get a free walking stick at the start of the trail to move them off the path.)

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank lakegirls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Lauterbrunnen, the owners of the Oberland Hotel made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble, they booked rail passes and sky jumping for us! Their dinner menu was great - loved the little chocolates with the cows on them. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable! We would definitely recommend a visit to Lauterbrunnen and a stay at the Oberland Hotel, regards Greg & Wendy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here two nights while hiking the alps. The hotel is ideally located between two mountain possibilities jungfrau and schilthorn. There is great bus transportation to get to the lifts. Our room had a fabulous view of the waterfall and snow capped peaks. We had a couch and sitting area, table chairs and terrace. Bed was comfortable and great shower and towels. Breakfast was sufficient with hard boiled eggs and fresh fruit. Coffee was good. They had a lovely sitting room for guests with free wifi. Instant coffee and tea avail in sitting room. Tables for games. Free computer to print boarding pass for 30 cents page. We ate in the restaurant one meal. Pricey but good Rosti. They had gluten free bread if you ask the younger gal. Email ahead and let them know you are coming for gluten free.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is situated in a beautiful setting. Otherwise, it is THE worst hotel I have ever stayed in!
My room is the size of a broom closet, the shower is tiny with a very low ceiling & dark. Anyone over 5 feet 10 inches would not fit!
The bed sheets were dirty. The carpet was disgusting. Right outside my windows was a patio for smokers and with no screens on my windows I had no privacy or security.
The hotel is old & creaky so that you can hear everyone walking around & talking all night.
When I asked to be moved, I was curtly told that they were full. That was the extent of their "service"!
You need reservations at their restaurant otherwise they are annoyed! The food is overpriced for what you get.
A hotel should either add to your travel experience or be a neutral influence. Unfortunately, my experience at the Hotel Overland has ruined my stay in the valley!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westeddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markandursi, Owner at Hotel Oberland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We prefer not to respond to reviews on TA as we believe everyone is allowed their own opinion. We do however, feel we need to respond when a review is very one sided.

You were travelling with a large group and the hotel was fully booked the first night of your stay. The night you complained about the noise in your room (due to a live football game being shown one floor below) we could not move you and this was explained in a polite manner. The next morning however, you were very willingly given an alternative and much larger double room after several other guests had left.

The hotel is over 100 years old and some of the rooms are small and not as big as a modern hotel might be. We did show your guide the room and he didn’t feel it was as negative as you have described. The linens are cleaned by an industrial laundry so we cannot believe they were dirty. The terrace outside your first room is not a general smoking area. If other guests on the same floor decided to smoke outside their rooms we have no influence over this.

You DO NOT need reservations in our public restaurant and everyone is welcome. We will always do our utmost to make a table available if guests arrive without a reservation. Finally, our prices are in line with all other restaurants in the village.

You are certainly entitled to your opinion, however we have hundreds of happy guests who return and visit us each year, Perhaps the Oberland just wasn't for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#5 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
669 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oberland

Address: Auf der Fuhren 452B, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range: £139 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oberland 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly, family run hotel is in the centre of Lauterbrunnen, only a 5 minute walk from the train station, not far from the famous "Staubbach" waterfall. Lauterbrunnen itself is situated in one of the most awe-inspiring settings in the world. Ideal for summer and winter vacations. We also have a popular restaurant serving typical Swiss dishes and other tasty things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Oberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberland Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Hotel Oberland Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing