We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful hostel in a beautiful town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful hostel in a beautiful town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

One of the best decisions we made in our trip to Switzerland was to stay in Lauterbrunnen, and the Valley hostel was just what the doctor ordered! I and my wife had stayed in this hostel in June 2013, and had a great time.

The location can't be more right. Just 2 minutes walk from the train station - overlooking the valley on one side, and the waterfalls on the other. The property is well maintained, and clean. The room was cozy and warm, with a postcard view from the balcony. We had opted for a private room with shared bathroom. The rooms, and the whole hostel has a wooden decor, which adds to the charm of the place. The hostel does not allow boots inside the room and the common areas, the that made sense. The showers in the bathroom were perfect for a hot bath after a tiring day of hikes.

Switzerland is an expensive place, and there are a lot of restaurants that serve dinner around here. The hostel itself has a common kitchen and dining area, where dinner is also served. Supermarkets in Switzerland have limited opening times, and it would be good idea to check beforehand. The hostel was an ideal location to make day trips to all places in the Bernese Oberland - with the train station at a stone's throw away.

I would definitely recommend Valley hostel in Lauterbrunnen for anybody touring the Oberland.

Room Tip: The checkin closes for 2 hours around afternoon. You can leave your luggage and come back later - pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d4dpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    86
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
57
94
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and we love every minutes of our stay here. !
We stayed in a private room at the annex building, which is spotlessly clean, with a balcony and amazing view of the Stubbach Fall.
As this is a hostel, there is no ensuite facility, but there is 2 bathrooms and 2 toilets shared by 4 rooms on each floor.
Kitchen and common dining area is at the ground floor. There is a big fridge in the kitchen for one to keep its grocery and it comes in really handy for our bread, cheese and milk, for our breakfast every morning.
One can buy grocery from the small Coop supermarket outside the train station but it closes early, at 6.30pm.

At CHF76 per night for a private room, this is amazing value for money !!!!
This is the best stay we had during our 1 week holiday in Switzerland.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whereisfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great hostel, it really felt like home!

They are closed for a few hours during the day, from around noon until 2:30 PM if I remember correctly. There was a note on the reception door to just leave bags in the laundry room, which we did, sans valuables, and we felt pretty comfortable doing so.

Rooms were cozy, with lots of wood as the decor. The view from our room and adjoining balcony was tremendous! The no-shoes rule kept the floors clean, and again, gave it a homey feel.

Kitchen to cook in was great, but most of the guests made use of it so there was a line to get to a burner on the stove. We probably had to wait at least an hour before we could start cooking, but it gave us a chance to talk to some other travelers. As with any hostel, not all the guests do the most thorough job of cleaning their cookware after use, but the area as a whole was kept pretty tidy and free of clutter.

The hostel certainly had a family-oriented feel to it, with lots of families staying there or more mature travelers. The atmosphere, in Lauterbrunnen in general but at the Valley Hostel specifically, was very safe. The younger, rowdier crowd seemed to spend nights down in Interlaken. My girlfriend and I retired for the night at around 11 PM, and we were the last ones awake by a good deal. We able to get a great night's sleep.

If returning to the region, this hostel would be my first choice of lodging, for sure, even if not for the great price.

** The showers only worked for about 90 seconds at a time, and would then shut off, so you had to turn it back on. I assume this was to discourage guests from taking excessively long showers, or to encourage them to take short ones. This didn't really affect my overall experience, but might be worthy of note.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst seeing Jungfrau Glacier and Trummelback Waterfall (both recommended). The room was in their new house (room 21) and had a balcony, opening doors and a waterfall view! All spotless, breakfast was 6fr which is cheap for there. I had emailed the staff previously and they were really helpful, just wish we'd have stayed longer.

Room Tip: 21 in the new house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Valley Hostel in Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland is a very clean and functional hostel that is managed with Swiss efficiency. We had two rooms: one 2 person room and one single. Neither room was especially spacious but they were very clean and had comfortable beds. The shared bath/washroom was also very clean. While we rarely had problems getting access to the washroom in our building, there is also a large washroom in the main building with several showers and toilet stalls. There are also small kitchens in each building where you can store/cook food (cupboards numbered by room). Breakfast was not included in our fare (approximately 6 euro pp) so we picked up bread, jam and fruit for 3 days. It was perfect; we had the small kitchen to ourselves most days and enjoyed our breakfast in the sunny room overlooking the mountains. We stayed in room 13 which was on the main floor of the second building (which I believe holds primarily single and double rooms). It faces the main street and was right beside the entrance/exit. While the room was fine, a better choice, if you are two, would be room 16 or 17 (I believe) as they are on the second level facing the mountains and seemed to be much nicer/quieter rooms. Our daughter stayed in room 18; it is small but clean and cozy.

We loved this hostel and would definitely stay here again if we were to return (we're already planning another trip to Lauterbrunnen) in future.

Room Tip: see comments above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have to said nothing to complaint about this hostel. If they have rooms with own bathroom that will be perfect. Very clean and good location. Well equipped kitchen. Nice view when you had your breakfast. The staff were friendly, especially a staff name Stefan. She is friendly and helpful staff. Suitable for budget traveller. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: add room with private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivorytan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have to say this is one of the top Hostels I have stayed in. Staff friendly, one lass even bought from home glue to fix my camera lense hood. The views from the rooms are to die for and the security is tops. I cannot fault this hostel and highly recommend it

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#3 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hostel

Property: Valley Hostel
Address: Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Valley Hostel Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing