We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zalm
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brielle
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is very well situated right in the middle of the town and has its own free parking. The room was small but adequate and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was basic but acceptable and included a very nice fresh fruit salad. A pity there is no free WiFi. This hotel is definitely a case of 'you get what you pay for'.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbasstrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Small, well kept property, with friendly and personal service. Free parking and very good free breakfast. Good restaurant as well. Great location in center of town of Brielle, close to many restaurants and bars. Much rather stay here than in the big city (Rotterdam).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank melendz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel only once, but that was enough.
Brielle is a fantastic place to be, very picturesque and pleasant. This hotel however, is not.

I booked a double room for my stay a few months in advance but when I arrived there was apparently none left, instead I was given a single room that was no bigger than a walk in wardrobe. To be able to open my case fully I had to use the bed as there was just not enough floor space.
The room itself was not very nice at all. there was a horrendous smell of old cigarette smoke coming from the bathroom every time I took a shower. The shower itself was like standing under a leaking tap.

The mattress was not too bad, fairly new and still had a few springs left, although the bedding was very cheap and was definitely not soft.
I usually sleep with one or sometime two pillows, here I needed four as they were so thin.

Customer service was not great either, which surprised me as when sitting in the bar/restaurant area on a previous visit the staff appeared very nice. This was not the case with regards to the reception staff or the manager. Very unaccommodating and grumpy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here many times although it has now changed hands from being family owned to a chain. very quirky place with a real mixture of room - some modern, some very old, some large, some small. In all the place is clean and tidy and the food in the restaurant is good. Breakfast is very basic, but average for Holland. Rooms are all pretty quiet, but sparse and the TV's are ancient portables. Most rooms have showers which are a good standard.

Given the lack of alternatives in Brielle, it is worth staying here just for the experience of this very different hotel / rabbit warren.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyEight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Just had a 3 night stay here and we had a comfortable stay. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The only problem we had was the hotel did appear to have an issue with the water for the showering facilities, with sometimes only a trickle of water coming out. We were told that it was to do with some timer for the pump system, which as this was primarily a business hotel, was set for early morning. i.e. prior to 6.45am. We were assured it would be resolved, but some of our party ( We were on a coach trip) experienced this problem for most evenings/mornings. We had meals in the restaurant each evening and the hotel staff were very welcoming and the food was excellent. Breakfast had the usual, rolls, cheese, ham, cereals etc. and was enjoyable. Brielle is a very quiet place but very pretty.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Hotel de Zalm is situated in the main market square of Brielle and it has a good sized car park. We were there to enjoy the Brielle 1st April enactment which was superb. We dined at the hotel and the evening meals were very good - service was also good.

The breakfast was also good.

The rooms are ok, all ensuite and the shower was ok (water pressure did suffer a bit during peak showering times.

There is quite a bit of room noise from other rooms and the stairways as people walk around them.

I would recommend this hotel as it represents good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusFoweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I think this hotel is two or three buildings stuck together...complex corridors with little stairways here and there. The rooms are fine, showers OK. The restaurant is nothing special, but there's a great little chippie just across the way. The bar is small and friendly, open late. Internet is free but a little flakey.Watch out in cold weather - the heating in my rooms barely kept up. And the breakfast is a bit dry. I've stayed here probably four times, staff are always welcoming, still has a family-run feel although I believe it's now part of a chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLT-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brielle
0.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Brielle-Europoort
3.5 mi away
't Wapen van Marion
't Wapen van Marion
#1 of 2 in Oostvoorne
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlas Hotel Village
Atlas Hotel Village
#3 of 3 in Brielle
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Badhotel Rockanje & Brasserie Lodgers
8.8 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Elzenduin
0.1 mi away
Hooghcamer
Hooghcamer
#1 of 3 in Brielle
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zalm

Address: Voorstraat 6-8, 3231 BJ Brielle, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Brielle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brielle
Price Range: £48 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zalm 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zalm is located in the historical center of Brielle. This 3-star hotel is extremely popular among business travelers due to its favorable location. Brielle itself is an excellent base for excursions. The surrounding sprawling dune and polder area is the ideal place to explore by bicycle or on foot. And the stunning cities of Rotterdam and The Hague, boast many shopping and cultural attractions. Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zalm guarantees a pleasant stay, complemented by gastronomic delights. The stylish restaurant offers a delicious and varied selection of mouth-watering dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Zalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing