We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for corporate stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Suites Fremantle
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good for corporate stays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We decided to spend our wedding anniversary locally by staying in Fremantle and chose the Bannister Suites. We booked a deluxe balcony suite ($280/nt + $20 for parking). We thought this was very expensive but, as others have commented, Fremantle accommodation isn't cheap! The hotel is well-located, just off Market Street. First impressions as we went to our room was the hotel was like a hospital or office building - no character whatsoever and extremely stuffy.

Our 4th floor suite was reasonably spacious with a leather couch, large flat screen TV and a basic kitchenette in the corner. The living rom had an ethernet cable wth free internet (a bonus as many Australian hotels charge extra fo internet access) but no wi-fi which was a strange oversight. The bedroom was just a bit bigger than the queen size bed. The bed itself was comfortable. The rooms were very bland, grey or beige paint, no pictures to brighten up the walls but did have a couple of fake flowers as so-called decoration. The bedoom was very stuffy and had no fan or airconditioning so we had to use the aironditioner in the living room.

The bathroom was a good size but didn't include drinking glasses or flannels. Water from the shower flowed into the rest of the bathroom - it needed a shower door.

A balcony ran the length of the room and looked out to the back of the buildings behind the hotel and across roof tops. There was a synthetic cane suite and glass-topped low table on the balcony. Poor housekeeping - the glass top had a reasonably thick layer of dust on it and obviously hadn't been cleaned even though they knew we had booked the room.

Like others who have commented on Tripadvisor, we thought the hotel was a rip-off for charging for coffee pods for the nespresso machine. Interestingly, the hotel directory say you had to pay for "additional pods" but it seems everyone's experience is you have to pay for any pods. Surely they could provide 2 or 4 per day, especially given the premium prices charged!

Our impression is that the hotel management is charging top dollar but skimping on the standard of accommodation. We wouldn't stay here again. All in all, this might be a good place for corporate travellers to stay if the company is paying the bill.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonesterWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    59
    35
    10
    11
See reviews for
17
94
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Good location, just off the main tourist strip, but that it's best feature.
Hotel has limited parking and despite having pre booked a spot when we arrived we were advised that none were available and were directed to a commercial carpark.
The double room itself was new and clean but very small with the only light in the bedroom coming from the one lamp on the one bedside table. Apart from the bed the only other furniture was a small table and 2 upright chairs. The only feasable place from which to watch TV was sitting on the end of the bed with the screen about a metre away.Very expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room which might be bigger abd better equpied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed in a luxury balcony suite for the first 2 days of our stay in Fremantle. Though pricey , as are all hotels in WA , the quality, spaciousness and service made up for that. Of the 3 places we stayed this was the best and felt like the 4 stars it was supposed to be, it was only one of 2 out of 4 hotels we stayed in WA that offered free internet, Wifi was not immediately available for our iPad but the lady at the desk quickly sorted that out by providing us with a free router. The rooms were very well appointed , nice bathroom with good toiletries, good kitchen , balcony which got the afternoon sun and right off the main street of Fremantle. Only complaint was the bed was pretty hard , and the annoying bird outside that woke us up every morning at dawn - can't blame the hotel for that !! Thought the cafes and restaurants on "cappuchino strip " in South Tce very overrated esp Ginos , terrible coffee. Hunt out Moore and Moore cafe near Notre Dame uni , fantastic coffee food and atmosphere. Little Creatures good for a beer but bad pizzas. Good cafes down far end of South Tce - South Freo end .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwimacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
244 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

This is a boutique hotel in the centre of Freemantle. The hotel does not have a dining room or a gym. There are lots of nice restaurants around.

We arrived late the reception closes early and the key was left in a safe area. The system worked.

The rooms are small, basic and spotlessly clean. The room is dark as the window is small. If your room looks onto the lane there is a lot of noise when the rubbish is collected. There is parking in the basement at a modest fee. Reception is very helpful and friendly.

I felt the cost was a bit much for what we received when compared to the cost of hotels in Perth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not look over the side lane,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed two nights recently at the Bannister Suites Fremantle.

The Hotel is well positioned. It is a small boutique hotel in the middle of Fremantle. The rooms are small, we stayed in a one bedroom standard hotel room, which had only a small window that opened onto an internal courtyard area. We were on the second floor.

The rooms were a reasonable size and very clean and tidy. Although a little dark. They do have a bar fridge and coffee making facilities. I believe some of the larger rooms have kitchenettes.

The Hotel has no facilities, e.g. pool, restaurant, but the close proximity to restaurants make this not a negative at all. There is a five car carpark in the building, but must book this when booking, as it fills quickly. Parking is available in a nearby carpark down the road.

The staff on reception were helpful and all in all the place was great for a short stay in Fremantle. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amg181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

The Bannister Suites is closer to the centre of Fremantle than The Esplanade and is cheaper. They have lovely modern, clean rooms. The only thing they don't have is a restaurant/bar and hence no room service but you're right in the middle of Fremantle so it's absolutely no problem. Service was lovely, professional and polite. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The room was basic but clean.We stayed for 3 nights, there was noise created by the wind that was quite loud and went on all night. On the last night we contacted the manager as the noise was so bad it sounded like there was someone outside the door screaming, the managers response was that they are aware of the problem but that the owner of the building was not prepared to fix the problem and stated that he could not control the weather, he advised to roll up a towel and place it behind the door which did drown out some of the noise.We again spoke to the same manager when we were checking out he again gave the same response and appeared that he was not interested in what we had to say. It was pitty about the managers responses and demeanor as the hotel is in a great central location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Fremantle

Property: Quality Suites Fremantle
Address: 22 Bannister St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia (Formerly Bannister Suites Fremantle)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Suites Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Suites Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bannister Suites Fremantle Hotel Fremantle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing