We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Suites Fremantle
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night. I wouldn't agree that the hotel is 'boutique', but for the price it's pretty good. Location is perfect & walking distance to pubs and cafes. The parking in freo isn't great. The hotel quotes $20 per day - I would suggest to pay the expensive rate & book in advance for convenience. Down the street is $1.60 per hour otherwise around town it has time restrictions.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TS_3123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    60
    37
    10
    11
See reviews for
20
98
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Our recent holiday to Broome started and ended with a stay at the Bannister Suites. After looking forward to this trip for quite some time it was most disappointing that the Bannister Suites did not live up to their website description of luxury accommodation. Blatant disregard for the privacy of guests was only the beginning as the misdemeanours of the facility came piling in one on top of the other.

Confusion over check out time meant that a man we could only assume was the manager, or at the very least a staff member came barging into our room demanding that we leave immediately in an aggressive and insulting manner. He did not identify himself, instead using a hotel master key to enter our room unbidden. This disregard for our privacy was quite distressing.

This was reiterated by a rude phone call received from reception at the same time. This was due to the hotel refusing to provide confirmation of the check out time despite the fact we had requested this via email the week before arriving. According to the confirmation we had received it was still long before we were due to check out.

A very catty receptionist informed us that she didn't believe we had an email stating a late check out had been requested. Then the man who had entered our room without warning (wearing a windcheater) proceded to act deliberately obtuse and stated that we had signed a registration card accepting the checkout time and this was also what the website says. He purposefully pretended to not understand that we actually had written conformation of the late checkout from the booking website. We had this with us and offered to provide the still unidentified man with a copy. There was no apology for any of his behaviour previously.

We stayed twice at Bannister Suites in the one week and were placed in three separate rooms during our stay (we spend no longer than one night in one room). Parking was an additional cost which was charged to our credit card without even informing us of when the charge was being made, which was unfortunate as we had actually hoped to pay this with cash. The telephone in the room didn't work; we were unable to contact even reception, and the room was filthy with a few large suspicious yellow stains on the floor. The room was so tiny and chlostrophobic, with not even a chair to sit on. The Staff were on the whole extremely rude and unhelpful in every way - perhaps some retraining is in order?

Despite a central location I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. The four star rating should most certainly be reviewed as we do not believe this is justifiable. The website states "luxury accommodation" which is something we most certainly did not receive.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerBSF, Owner at Quality Suites Fremantle, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
As the Director of the Bannister Suites I must state that this review is not only wildly untrue but a complete misrepresentation of the issue of the reviewers stay with us. On the day of the reviewer’s first departure I was informed by my receptionist at 12.30pm that the guests were still in the room and claiming they had a 2pm check out. As they were not answering the telephone in the room or the mobile number supplied on their reservation I went to their room. I knocked on the door and the reviewer answered the door.

At no stage did I use my master card to enter the room.

The reviewer insisted they had a 2pm check confirmed to them by lastminute.com. I explained to them this was not the case, obviously they were not happy. The reviewer also on arrival signed our registration form acknowledging our terms and conditions and was informed that check out time was 10am. This was not accepted as a fact by the reviewer.

When the reviewer did come down to reception she was angry that we had made her check out prior to 2pm. In discussions with the reviewer the claim was they had an email from Lastminute.com confirming the 2pm check out but could not provide it to show me and stated that she would forward it to us later which still has not happened.

The reviewer made three separate reservations via a third party website for their stay with us. The first for one night only. The next two reservations that the reviewer had with us were for two completely different room types. One for each night of their final stay with us. On departure after their return stay the reviewer actually informed my Front Office Supervisor that the reservations had been made by another hotel for them as they had been told the hotel they wished to stay at was under renovation.

The twin room the reviewer stayed on for their first and last night’s stay has a tub chair and a desk chair for seating.

The second room type the reviewer stayed in was a one bedroom suite which has a two and a half seater leather sofa in the living room area.

The reviewer claims the telephone was not working but clearly states that they received a phone call from reception.

There are no stains on the carpet in either of the rooms occupied by the reviewer and the rooms are cleaned to the highest of standards.

Lastly, there is no facility for any third party website that we are listed on to facilitate any late check out. Our check in and check out times are clearly indicated in all of our websites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Had a fantastic stay at the Bannister Suites especially because of the very friendly and very helpful staff members there. All the staff were very accommodating. Good priced hotel in a good location in Fremantle. Stone throw away from beautiful cafes and other attractions. Great clean rooms and fantastic sized bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We had business guests arriving from Sydney when our previously booked accommodation turned bad. We managed to find ONE ROOM available at The Bannister Suites. Our guests were very impressed with the room & the location - we were happy with the price. Perth is not a cheap place to stay, but we will certainly be using this accommodation again. Plus, once we booked in there were NO VACANCIES for the next three nights we were there. Obviously others are happy with this place too. The hotel is right in the heart of Fremantle...restaurants, cafes, pubs, beach, shops, brillo!

Room Tip: This hotel is only 3 stories high...don't expect sweeping views of the Indian Ocean. It's th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night last week, the room was very small but had a nice larg balcony,too bad the furniture on the balcony was very dirty and there was only 1 dim light on it. The room itself was very dirty, marks on everything and the light switches were filthy. There were many hairs all over the bathroom and dust on every window sill.
The parking was on the street paid or a whole block away there was a pay parking facility. Luckily we got street parking. $280 for the night plus parking for a dirty room was extreme I thought even though it was in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roogir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny_Girl72
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My friends and I had 2 rooms at the Bannister boutique suites, I had a double and 2 girls had a twin. We stayed in Fremantle to go on a night out, the location is perfect for that, so close to the cappuccino strip, walking distance to food and night life.
The young lady in reception was so lovely she let me print out a ticket to our show and was very helpful with all questions that we had.
The rooms are small and if you were staying for longer than a couple of nights I think would become quite claustrophobic if you spent a lot of time in it. They are very clean; there was a strange smell when we first walked into the room, maybe the cleaning products? My bed was very comfortable, linen was crisp just the way it should be.
All in all for a 1 night stay it was great, quite expensive for a small room with no mini bar or any of the other “perks” for a 4 star hotel but for our 1 night it was perfect because of the location.
I would stay again for the same reason, a night out in Fremantle but I would not stay for longer

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny_Girl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and one day on the way back from Margaret River- staff were very helpful, no in house food but okey, the restaurant strip are just a 5 minute walk from the hotel.Room was clean and moderate size, bit expensive but I guess hotels in Freo and Perth are just so expensive compare to hotels in the East Of Australia.Will stay here again for a few nights when I go back to Freo.If you are holidaying in Perth, always books days ahead for at least 3 nights because hotel prices varies from week to week and also you cannot get any room in most hotels during mid week! What an experienced! I will never ever do that again!!Over all the hotel is good for its location and I guess the price is reasonable for Fremantle area. At least its modern, not old and damn and secure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Fremantle

Property: Quality Suites Fremantle
Address: 22 Bannister St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia (Formerly Bannister Suites Fremantle)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Suites Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Suites Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bannister Suites Fremantle Hotel Fremantle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing