We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed in late May 2013. 2 nights on business.
Can't say it was anything special. Just a large-ish older house converted to a B&B.
Rooms are large, ensuites very small and tacked into the room.
Walls pretty thin - although there was only 1 other guest staying, you could hear their entry and exit along the corridor very clearly.
Glad there was only 1 other guest!
Felt guilty with TV on as I knew it would be heard by anyone else staying (that was before I realised that there was only 1 other guest)

I had room 1 - on the street side. Traffic a bit noisy in early morning and later evening.
For a B&B I expect a communal living area to sit and enjoy a chat/fire/TV/read book/whatever, otherwise it is just a motel.
Heritage has no living area - just the bedroom you are allocated and a dining area.
Breakfast (included in room rate) was adequate, not remarkable.

Freemantle itself is not far, but is too far to comfortably walk from Heritage.

On the plus side: rooms clean, beds comnfortable, shower has plenty of water pressure (yippee!) and good wi-fi.

Had dinner and lunch in town and the pubs are much more attractive (and much the same price)
Next time I shall stay in town at one of the older pubs.
That way I can walk to restaurants and have a drink with dinner without worrying about the booze bus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry-neutralBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

i stayed in the PORTER ROOM which was lovely .high ceilings lovely cornices and fireplace .small ensuite but nice .lovely breakfast room and breakfast .not far from FREO but still close to heaps of cafes and SOUTH BEACH FISH AND CHIPS the best in town great stay JACK COLLINS

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Heritage Cottage is well located in South Fremantle, close to South beach, cafes, restaurants and hotels. A number of our guests prefer this location rather than being in right in the heart of Fremantle.

Our managers ( who are about to take over the lease of Heritage Cottage), pride themselves on the presentation of this fantastic B&B.

Kind regards

Peter Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We booked two nights here and aside from the comfortable bed & great location away from the hustle & bustle of town on a long weekend we were quite disappointed. Getting the front door code & our room number via SMS should have been an indication that we wouldn't be seeing anyone during our stay and that was certainly the case. The continental breakfast was nothing special and with a few little touches could have been improved greatly - get rid of the plastic tablecloths for a start (with a maximum of 8 guests laundry would be minimal), have fruit available, maybe some homemade muffins & a newspaper or at least come out and speak to the guests to see if they required anything.
We have stayed in B & B's around Australia and will be looking for somewhere with a more personal touch as we are working here for a year and intend to spend more time in Fremantle exploring it's history.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shadyacres186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for your comments.

In response to the door code being sent via sms, this has been our practice over the past 6 years We do not have a reception desk and giving out the code means that the guests can arrive at any time. Often we do not have an arrival time for our guests.

Generally guests are greeted either on arrival, at breakfast or at some stage during their stay. However, just prior to the Australia Day weekend, our manager and her small grandson were involved in a traffic crash which necessitated the manager having to receive out-patient hospital treatment for most of Saturday and, due to medication, she was required to rest over Sunday and Monday.. As a consequence, the manager was not available continuously over this period.

Most guests are very happy with the self-serve continental breakfast provided; however, in future, fresh fruit will now be on hand each day.

Several couples who stayed at Heritage Cottage were spoken to by the manager and her husband and all were happy with their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We had two nights here at the end of September. The room was wonderful, clean tidy, neat and very restful.

Having just arrived from the UK it was exactly what we wanted, quiet, and unassuming and very restful. Our towels were changed daily and the staff we saw pleasant and helpful

A wonderful find

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichardG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for your very positive feedback. I have passed your comments on to our managers who were very appreciative pf the comments.

Kind regards

Peter Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This place is a tranquil and beautiful space: an ideal get-away!!
We live north of Perth and wanted a romantic and affordable night away from the kids: we found it :)
The bed was so comfy and the room well-appointed: maybe a little too comfy as we over-slept a little. However, we made breakfast and were looked after really well by the staff - the food was top-notch (we love our food and can be a bit picky! we were not disapointed . . )
My request for soy milk was met cheerfully and apart from that we were left to our own devices, which is how we like it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CommitedFoodie4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. Our managers are doing a great job and I'm very pleased that this is being acknowledged by our guests.

Kind regards

Peter Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We checked into our room late as we arrived into Perth in the late hours. The b&b is not terribly difficult to find as long as you know how to get to Fremantle. However, the rooms are quite small with a tiny toilet 'area' with which you need to take great care in not stubbing your toes when stepping into this 'bathroom' and also not bang your head when trying to wash. The bed is comfortable...this is the only selling point of this enterprise.

It is clearly stated in the room that breakfast is served up until 9.30am...so, with this in mind, myself and my partner ensured we were up at a reasonably early time in order to get some food to start our day..... We entered the breakfast area at 9,10am only to bed told coldly by the lady of the house that 'breakfast had finished' and that the kitchen was now closed. What!? Why do you clearly state that it is served up until 9.30 and then react coldly when a paying customer asks for what they have paid for??? Disgraceful behaviour by the lady in question

This is not a homely B&B and clearly rips off their customers. Do yourself a favour and book somewhere else. The owner / lady of the house needs a reality check...and a personality transplant.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Was not really impressed at all. We were flying out at 6am so had to leave at 4am and so I asked the lady of the house if they could leave the door to the breakfast room unlocked so we could access this before we left the next morning which she said she would check with her husband as he normally got up and set up for breakfast, we just needed bowls and spoons and milk as we had our own cereal. She said if she did not get back to us then take it as being ok and the door would be unlocked. So the next morning I went to open the door and yes you guessed it, it was locked! So no breakfast and no food til we got on the plane which was about 7.30am by which time I had a screaming migraine! The shower room is described as small, huh I am a hobbit and there was little room in there for me let alone a 6ft2 husband! I think the owners are people intolerant as they do not appear at all unless they are coming from behind the locked door to open the front door and then you have to be quick to nab them before they disappear behind the locked door again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
1.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.9 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
203 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Bed and Breakfast

Address: 273 South Tce, Fremantle, Western Australia 6162, Australia (Formerly Heritage Cottage Bed and Breakfast)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range: £77 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Beach Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your South Beach Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing