We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, welcoming place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Beach Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Beach Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 22 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming, welcoming place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Nice B&B, we stayed two nights. We stayed one night there before we trekked off to Margaret River and when we got back to Fremantle we stayed another night. We had different rooms on these nights and both were very nice. Whilst it was great to have an ensuite bathroom, both were very compact. Easy access to/from Fremantle is by the free CAT (bus). An excellent continental breakfast was included. Welcoming and helpful hosts. We would recommend this B&B to others and would stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: If you want more than a very compact ensuite, check with hosts prior to booking the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
These reviews are a real reward for us , we really appreciate our Guests comments .
Thanks so much for spreading the good word for us
Kind regards

Chris and Robbie Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    16
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
55
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Arrived in Perth Aeroport at 11pm. In Fremantle just before midnight. Beforehand, I was supplied with the door lock combination and the keys to my room were in the door, as promised. Clean and easy entry, immaculate interior with complimentary Scotch in the hallway and some sort of 'wet-cake' on the fridge. Yum, even at midnight :) . Well sorted Breakfast, although I wouldn't advertise it as huge. But sort of a 'bit of everything'. My boss paid for two guests (although I am just one, maybe he thought of 'Harvey' and booked a King-size bed. Own corner bathroom. All in all, very much recommending Heritage Cottage to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Marcus

We really appreciate your review , and my wife was delighted you liked her special fruit cake, she soaks the fruit in a mixture of Earl Grey Tea and a good splash of my Irish whiskey !!!
Slainte !

Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Wonderful, helpful hosts. Easy access by free CAT (public transport) from railway station. Free CAT around Fremantle and also to cruise terminal. Delicious continental breakfast with plenty of options. Great value for money. Several restaurants only a short walk away. We hope to stay there again when in Fremantle.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug2614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We so appreciate all feed back from all our guests and this then allows us to continue to improve our standards.

Kind regards Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Heritage Cottage is a decent B&B, i'm not on for the informality of hotels and enjoyed a chat with the manager whilst I was booking in.
The rooms are well sized for a period house, the bed was large and firm and i had a spa bath also in the ensuite.
I stayed for 2 nights, it's a quick stroll to restaurants and the beach.
I will come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted that you were happy with your recent visit with us.
We have found that the quality of the reviews on Trip Advisor to be the most beneficial to our Service Management programme.
Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

'Heritage cottage' was always going to be either a beautiful authentic cottage or a complete con. It was definitely authentic - a lovely period villa, with original features in all the rooms but modernised so it was also very comfortable. Good bed, all very clean, shower was good, even fast wireless in the room, easy door code system so I didn't have to disturb anyone. The owners were genuinely friendly, and I got the sense that if I needed anything not already provided (there was a decanter of port in the hall and delicious fruit cake in the room, so there wasn't much missing), they'd be glad to help. The neighbourhood was nice too - top quality cafes a block away and a short walk into town through a pretty area. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldMatheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

So, we came back hoping our stay would be as good as our previous time and we were not disapointed! I love this building, it's like stepping back in time and the energy is so tranquil. This room was as cosy as the last one that we had: the beds are to die for (I slept in AGAIN). The part of Freo that it's located in is one of the nicest bits - very ecclectic little shops and cafes (Manna Whole Foods!!!!!!! Yum!)
I LOVE the fact that we were given an SMS code and just could pop in: we did meet the proprietors at breakfast and they were charming but I love the fact that they are not in your face. You can come and go and not feel obligied to make awkward chit-chat. This is our getaway now and will be for ages to come, I hope . . .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CommittedFoodie4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed two nights and it was advertised as an adult retreat! On our first night of arrival we were tired after a long drive and looked forward to a nice relaxing night and sleep.Unfortunately a small child was running through the house until well after 10.30pm making a lot of noise and keeping us awake. Far from relaxing and peaceful! The next night was quieter although this could have been because we were exhausted. Certainly not worth the money paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at South Beach Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Guest

Please accept our sincere apologies for any issue that did not make your stay with us a comfortable one, if we had only known of this issue we could have offered you a different room .
We have totally taken on board your feed back and have changed our policy on making the odd exception for Guests traveling with a child.

Kind regards

Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.9 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
2.6 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Bed and Breakfast

Property: South Beach Bed and Breakfast
Address: 273 South Tce, Fremantle, Western Australia 6162, Australia (Formerly Heritage Cottage Bed and Breakfast)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — South Beach Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your South Beach Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing