We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you want to sleep in, the owner is away or you have large suit cases”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fremantle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I agree with others that the location is central but they fail to mention the street cleaner that does laps outside the property from 6am to 6:30, the garbage truck that picks up a skip at 6:45 on some mornings and the club rooms(?) across the road where guys in hoods hang out talking and jumping rope each night and some early mornings. Add to this issues with room temperature (other guests appeared to ignore signs and fiddled with the central air con control so it was 25 degrees one night) and guests making coffee directly outside our room before 7am and i had one of the worst nights sleep. I would suggest putting fans in the rooms to allow guests some temperature control and this would help with noise somewhat too.
The place was unstaffed during our stay and the stand-in guy difficult to reach. So we missed the wonderful service everyone else raved about. We also had to poke around and help ourselves a lot; without tripadvisor we would not have known about dvd player in the room and i took 20mins to locate a hairdryer. A guest information sheet would help with this.
As others have said, the rooms are cute and clean but small so you would struggle to fit a suit case; we had a large duffle bag.
I don't recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MELtoUnknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Thank you for your comments.

Our B&B is in the West End of Fremantle, close to the entrance to Fremantle Harbour.The University of Notre Dame is also in this area.

The garbage trucks travel along Mouat Street nearly every morning. There is a courtyard directly opposite the B&B where the rubbish skips are located. These skips are normally emptied 3 or 4 times weekly between 6 and 7.15am. Having made numerous complaints to Fremantle Council over the years, there is nothing more I can do.

There is a large air-conditioning unit on the roof which controls the Tarantella Suite on the top floor and the 4 rooms on the first floor. The controls are ion the first floor and have a notice requesting guests not to alter the settings in any way. Unfortunately, our guests do alter the settings from time to time which affects all 5 rooms. I cannot put a cover over the controls as the thermostat is within the controls.

I agree that it would be better for all rooms to have ceiling fans and we are currently looking into this matter.

We are a class 1A heritage-listed building are do not have a lift or disability access. There are numerous stairs to negotiate to reach the accommodation areas. We are up-front about the size of the rooms especially the compact twin share Dudley Room. All other rooms are comfortable and, although not huge, are comfortable. There is provision in each room for luggage.

My wife and I finally had a 1 week break interstate and a relief manager ran the B&B. He did not live on premises but was within telephone reach if required. I apologize if there was a problem with the luggage.

There is information in the drawers of each room relating to the dvd/tv operation. The hair dryer is either on the shelf or in a drawer in each room.

Kind regards

Peter Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

My stay at the Fremantle Bed and Breakfast was lovely. The host, Peter Donovan was very friendly. The room was delightful and the b&b is in a great location. Just a short stroll to the park, Cappuccino strip and shops.
I recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants to stay somewhere with character.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Manager at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Thank you for your comments which are greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

Peter Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

What a beautiful building, with a wonderful host, in a perfect location. I was based in the 'turret' at the top of the house, which is simply gorgeous. Spotlessly clean, crisp bedlinen, own bathroom; friends who live in Freemantle came to see it - and they want to book in and stay there themselves! I cannot praise Peter enough for his attention to detail and for his kindness - he helped me out personally - well above and beyond the call of duty. He takes huge pride in his work and people who stay here reap the benefit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BambiIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Your comments are appreciated.

Kind regards

Peter Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Peter Donovan was a delightful host, doing his utmost to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Rooms were clean and airy, breakfast buffet just like you'd get in England. Only (minor) downside is that the 4 rooms on the first floor shared 2 bathrooms - so we had to time our visits to the shower accordingly. It was no problem, but not quite as nice as having "en suite". No doubt there are rooms with their own bathroom.
Good value for money and well located - just a stone's throw from the sea front / harbour and a short walk to the quaint shopping streets of Freo.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKIClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Peter Donovan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Our stay at the Fremantle B+B ticked all our boxes. The price was right, the breakfast spot on to get the day started, location to all we wanted (Rotto Ferry, town centre, Little Creatures Brewery) could not be bested and Peter was a great host. The only tiny point i would make was that the AC was quite noisy in our room. Didnt stop us sleeping soundly though! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben78g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We can't say enough good things about the Fremantle Bed and Breakfast....what a wonderful B&B with a most gracious and accommodating host. Peter Donovan went above and beyond to be sure our stay was perfect....from providing us with sightseeing directions and recommendations, to delivering us to our ship, at the end of our stay. We stayed in the walkout basement of the B&B, which was very roomy with a complete living area and kitchen stocked with breakfast treats, in addition to the what a normal B&B would have. We would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to be right in the middle of Fremantle's activity or near Notre Dame University.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruiseGirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The downstairs Heritage Suite is not advertised, possibly was the owner's suite? It is a modern studio apartment with polished timber floor, full living area, books, dvd's, free wi-fi, king + single bed, own kitchen. Well appointed and stocked for breakfast. Host Peter is very welcoming, keeps the house spotless, loads of history in the property. Quiet central location in the middle of Notre Dame uni precinct (could do without the daily 6am wake-up from the trade garbage truck, but it is the city). Easy parking $8 per day down in the courtyard at the Round House. Easy walk to railway station, museum, water-front restaurants (Cicerello's recommended). A great stay, thanks Peter.

Room Tip: This is a London/Paris style of heritage building, i.e. narrow stairs, small first-floor bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.2 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
228 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Fremantle
Quest Fremantle
#2 of 26 in Fremantle
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fremantle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fremantle Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Mouat St | Fremantle 6160 WA, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range: £67 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fremantle Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Heritage listed building that was built over 110 years ago as the Bavarian Consulate for West Australia. This is the most photographed building in Fremantle! Our Bed and Breakfast offers the traveller a choice of options from a ''Romantic Honeymoon Suite''Tarantella Suite, to an open plan Apartment for the Guests that like their space ''The Down Under Suite '', along with 4 other original rooms to choose from, we are sure to have what suits you best. Sorry but we do not have parking on our premises. Free overnight parking upon availability just around the corner on High Street from 5pm to 9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fremantle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing