We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky place to stay in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fremantle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quirky place to stay in a great location”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I arrived late & entered the BnB using the code provided to me via email. I stepped into a cute lobby/breakfast room. Is booked the top suite and knew there were stairs but boy was it hard work getting 25kgs up them!

Large room with bed bed which was very clean. Nice stained glass windows - bring an eye mask if you want a lie in as the sun will shine through them!

Private Bathroom next door with powerful shower.

Breakfast was self serve continental style- cereal, bread, tea, coffee, yoghurt. I'd have love seem some bananas there but hey ho!

Hotel is well located for the fishing harbour, the captain cook cruises, train station & the city centre. I walked to the prison and it wasn't far!

One thing to finish on - I didn't see or speak with anyone at the BnB the whole time I was there. I found this strange maybe that's just me...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
You are so right, this building and its history are unique, it was a Bavarian Consulate in 1904 , it is steeped in history and is a Grade A Heritage listed building.
Thanks so much for writing your kind review

Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    46
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
62
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hubby and I stayed here on a Friday night- comIng straight from work we didn't arrive until 6:30. During the day we received a lovely text MSG from managers to explain all details to us(nice touch). On arrival we were welcomed with a lovely and warm foyer with beautiful decor. Our room was comfortable and spacious enough. Bathrooms are immaculate. They provide a lovely breakfast. You can tell these guys know what they are doing when it comes to providing hospitality (without loosing the old world charm of the place)they really have blended it all together so well. We will defiantly be finding another excuse to get away for a night just so we can stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
What can we say , Thank you from our hearts for taking the time to write us up, so many visitors read these posts and Trip Advisor is a really important method for our Guests to express their feelings on our businesses
Kind regards

Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My partner and I chose this b&b based on location and price. As we all know Perth is pricey. Fremantle b&b seemed reasonable even with the shared bathrooms.

Armed with our door code we entered the establishment only to be overwhelmed by deodrant or room spray. Blah.

Our room was the Jocelyn and it looked much cosier and lush than in the photo on the website so that was a nice surprise. WiFi worked fine and all was comfy. The bathrooms were clean and tidy but once again some of the plugin perfume dispensers made it hard to breathe in there. I may have switched them off. Seriously just let some of that fresh Fremantle doctor in.

Breakfast was fine although I'm not a fan of those pod coffee machines with their wasteful packaging.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Good point about the Air fresheners, we have taken your kind advice on board and thanks once again for your well written review.
Kind regards

Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This place is great! The place was very clean and very cozy. Homely too. When we arrived there at 8.30am Sunday, we were too early. The place was closed. We had a chance to walk around and enjoy the surrounding till about 9.30am. Being tourists, we didn't know most people including hotels and B&B don't have attendance. Luckily for us, there's a friendly occupant who opened the door for us. Once inside, the friendly lady gave us the cell phone number for the housekeeper. For checkin at 2pm, we were told to leave our things at the mainhall if we want to go out for a stroll and come back again later. We did just that knowing that the place is secured - It was in deed very secure. We got back at 2pm and the room was already made. Very clean in deed. There were 2 bathrooms on the floor where we stayed, and they were very well made too. At the main eatery area, coffee machines, yoghurts, milks, cookies, wine, etc are available for the occupants - very generous in deed. All in all, we had a great night staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, General Manager at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us on Trip advisor, of all the forums for getting reviewed on , we consider Trip advisor the finest in the world , our Guests consider this site to be the ultimate , most respected forum for Travellers .
We are delighted with your kind words.
Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I recently attended a 2 day conference at Notre Dame university in Fremantle and chose the nearby Fremantle Bed and Breakfast.It was a good choice ! The location was really convenient to the attractions of this Port City, it was two min walk to the train station (where you must take the Free Cat Bus to explore Fremantle , it runs every 10 mins or so )
The Bed and Breakfast was charming , rich in history and character . I booked the Down Under Suite , a massive open plan apartment in the basement. Well equipped with washing machine/dryer/kitchenette and it had a private entrance.
The street was quiet and I slept well . There are heaps of cafes , restaurants and bars , too many and so little time ..... a great city to visit.I will return !

Room Tip: If you like having a large room with plenty of space book the Down Under suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D, Manager at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear William
Thank you for reviewing Fremantle Bed and breakfast , you are correct when you say that we are well located to explore our beautiful port City and it was a pleasure to have met you on your visit.
Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I choose this B&B as an alternative to staying in the main business hotel down the road (Esplanade) which I wasn't happy with. The B&B is well run, clean, in a charming building in the old part of town. The bed is comfortable and the shower is powerful - you don't need much more than that! However, the room is too small for a desk, and that could be a limitation on a longer trip - nowhere to open the laptop and waste your evenings answering emails. On second thoughts - maybe that's not a disadvantage - I took my laptop to Little Creatures instead, and answered emails there over a Pale Ale! Also take note that you're sharing a bathroom. This wasn't a problem for me, but it's not for everyone.
I should mention the service - things worked very smoothly with a text message to my phone the day before arrival, with the door code for late-night entry. And breakfast - I'd much prefer toast and coffee to an overpriced buffet!
Having compared the two, I would rather stay here than the Esplanade.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLT-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fingal Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is definitely a nice little spot! My wife and I stayed here and were really surprised how well-kept the place was. The bedrooms were nice and cozy. The share bathrooms were immaculate. And, the downstairs lounge/eating area was superb! Nice place to sit down for a drink and there was quite a bit available for brekkie in the morning (although the amenities were available 24/7). The owners offered free port every night! :D Also, free wifi! The location is very central within Fremantle! Thanks for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquiladimare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.2 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fremantle
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fremantle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fremantle Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fremantle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Mouat St | Fremantle 6160 WA, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fremantle Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Heritage listed building that was built over 110 years ago as the Bavarian Consulate for West Australia. This is the most photographed building in Fremantle! Our Bed and Breakfast offers the traveller a choice of options from a ''Romantic Honeymoon Suite''Tarantella Suite, to an open plan Apartment for the Guests that like their space ''The Down Under Suite '', along with 4 other original rooms to choose from, we are sure to have what suits you best. Sorry but we do not have parking on our premises. Free overnight parking upon availability just around the corner on High Street from 5pm to 9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fremantle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing