We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fremantle Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem of a place!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Booked for one night in the Dudley Room. Was sent a PIN number for the front door two days before arrival, and upon entering the B&B we were not disappointed. Very cosy and quiet, we felt straight at home! There was an initial mix-up with our rooms, but a quick phone to call to the owner: Robbie and he was down to help. We stayed on the second floor and the two shared bathrooms were very clean and spacious. Fellow guests in the other rooms were very courteous and noise-levels were kept to a minimum at night. Location-wise it was perfect, a short 10 minute stroll the pubs, restaurants and the Fremantle Markets. The free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast was a great addition as well. Overall experience: 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
OMG !
Thank you so much Guys.
We really appreciate Guests that take the time to go on line and write up a positive experience.
It is a great feeling to know that a Guest has enjoyed their visit to Fremantle Bed and Breakfast :)
Thanks again
Robbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    46
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
62
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed with the family April 2014 for one night.

Pro's:

- easy booking and efficient communication with the owner.
- excellent quiet location
- the down under / family room is huge and very well appointed.
- breakfast is adequate (toast / eggs/ juice/tea and coffee)
- beautiful old charasmatic building.

Con's

- the room just needed some small maintenance issues attended to.
- because your on the bottom floor, underneath the lobby area, the room can be noisy from upstairs guests walking on the wooden boards.

Would I stay again? Yes.
Rating 8/10

Room Tip: The 'Down under room is huge'. This is a family room, fully self contained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
What a well written review :)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us up , the importance of Trip Advisor is growing each week , it really is the industry bench mark for all Hospitality operators.
We are delighted you were happy and enjoyed the Down Under Suite , it really does represent great value for Travellers , as it has everything you need to have a nice break .

Robbie and Christine Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My booking was a little late, so I ended up with the last room, which unfortunately was the worst, being very small with two single beds and no openable window. Ironically, during my stay, some of the lovely rooms had several 'no shows', and remained empty! Just to compound matters, the young couple in the adjacent room had an enthusiastic night which severely tested the sound transmission!
However, I love the way the building has been retained and converted, and have to say that this is a great place to stay. Most of the rooms are very nice and the shared bathrooms for some of them are perfectly adequate.
The absence of reception staff and the shared ground floor lounge in no way detracts, but gives the place a homely atmosphere. The young staff who tidy up in the morning were extremely pleasant and helpful, and the owner, whom I met, very attentive.
Location is perfect and I would stay again, although booking and selecting my room earlier.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments and suggestions . We can only improve when we get feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to review us.
We love our Heritage building and all the TLC it takes to keep her looking good after 110 years :)
Thanks once again
Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A good place to stay with a very central location. We had the suite at the top of the building which was pleasant and very quirky. The big disadvantage was the long, steep climb up stairs. Not easy if you have luggage - tip: only take in what you need. Breakfast is served in pleasant surrounds and well presented, but it's a bit basic - just cereal and toast with fairly ordinary, supermarket bread. They could lift their game here.
Parking is difficult and you will be paying street parking fees most of the time - Fremantle City Council long ago decided to kill off trade with ridiculous parking fees and one look at the town centre will show that they are succeeding.
It's run remotely so don't expect a warm welcome. Let yourself in and out. You probably won't meet anyone. They don't do warm and fuzzy here. I think we might have met the owner but, as he didn't introduce himself, I'm still not sure. On the whole, a good place to stay if you aren't looking for an "upmarket" experience. We enjoyed our time here and would stay again.

Room Tip: Shared bathrooms on the middle floor.. I think only the top floor and basement have theri own bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DK9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest
So sorry I did not meet you personally when you stayed with us .
Thank you for the feed back on your stay , we have an exciting new Breakfast menu we are introducing this week !
We do believe that Fremantle bed and breakfast is Quirky :))

Robbie and Chris Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I don't want to gush - but I'm going to :)
We stayed here because our usual haunt in Freo was fully occupied, and I'm glad: this place just blew me away and, being an ex-hospitality head, I am terribly picky.
Hubby and I stayed in the romatic "Tarantella" suite for two nights to celebrate an anniversary.
The room was a picture! It has beautiful, stained glass windows in the ceiling and when the sunlight comes through in the morning, it's very beautiful.
Overall, the space is very elegant and gracious.
I loved, love, LOVE the fact that you get a PIN and et yourself in: no forced interation with anyone, which for me is a joy. I (emabarrsingly) got the PIN wrong (didn't check it properly) and rang the manager (an Irish bloke) who answered straight away and was very kind - didn't make me feel like an idiot, which I felt like :D
It's close to eveything (Little Creatures!!!) but very quiet, quaint street with gorgeous architecture.
The absolute pinnicle though, was the kindness that management showed us.
When they learned it was our anniversary, they nipped out and got us a bottle of bubbles to celebrate! I've never expereinced anything like that and was very touched by such a lovely gesture: it really meant the world to us both.
I would recommend this establishment to anyone :)

Room Tip: Taratella all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CommittedFoodie4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind review.
Romance is alive and well at Fremantle B and B :)
We love the opportunity to go the extra mile !
Our Tarantella Suite is really popular for having a special break and enjoying all that Fremantle has to offer. We love when Guests let us know that they are celebrating a special occasion as we then can arrange little surprises for them .
Robbie and Christine Doyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

After the wrong room number was sent, we eventually rang the owner and got that sorted. The manager is not located on site so you just have to figure things out yourselves.Good location, small nice room - not much space to even put your suitcase.

Bathroom nice. Probably would stay somewhere else next time.
Parking in Fremantle is a complete pain in the neck. If you just want to stop for 15 minutes, that is not really an option.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mal_chaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for giving us the chance to improve , we use a front door code which we text and email to each Guest , sometimes Guests confuse their door code with their booking reference number :)
Fremantle is a working Port and City and finding parking on a busy weekend can be difficult, however we do have a great Free Bus service that ruins every 10 mins and it stops across the road from us.There is a large car park 300m away and you can park for $8 for 24 Hours.
I believe you stayed in one of our modestly priced rooms but our beautiful building is 110 years old and is Grade A Heritage listed, the building is naturally cool in Summer and cosy in Winter but we do have Aircon for all rooms.
Perhaps you stayed when there was a Festival on ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The B&B is in an excellent location and is a very beautiful building both inside and out! The rooms are good size with lots of character with large, clean bathrooms shared between 2 rooms. However, a lack of staff on site meant what could be a great stay in a great B&B was not the case! The front door was locked on our arrival with no instructions on how to gain entry and we had to get another guest to let us in after calling the owner to ask?! Because there was no one to show us to our room etc we had no idea how to work the air conditioning which would have been useful when it came on at 6am- a shared control in the hallway we later found out - and had no one to ask other guests to keep the noise down when they party until 1am. On a positive note, the self service breakfast was good and the decor is really lovely with quirky little touches like a decanter of sherry.
**Door stops would stop the handles ruining the well decorated walls!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embarpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie D, Owner at Fremantle Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review, we always email each Guest as well as Texting them their front door code, and when booking we let Guests know to expect their code prior to arrival.
We will try to improve our communication :)
It is very rare that Guests disturb other Cuests , this is the first time in 2 years since we took over that this happened and we apologise .
We agree that our place is in a great location and we are constantly looking to improve our Guests experiences , thanks for the helpful feedback :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.5 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
196 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fremantle
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Fremantle
Quest Fremantle
#4 of 26 in Fremantle
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fremantle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fremantle Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fremantle Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Mouat St | Fremantle 6160 WA, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fremantle Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Heritage listed building that was built over 110 years ago as the Bavarian Consulate for West Australia. This is the most photographed building in Fremantle! Our Bed and Breakfast offers the traveller a choice of options from a ''Romantic Honeymoon Suite''Tarantella Suite, to an open plan Apartment for the Guests that like their space ''The Down Under Suite '', along with 4 other original rooms to choose from, we are sure to have what suits you best. Sorry but we do not have parking on our premises. Free overnight parking upon availability just around the corner on High Street from 5pm to 9am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fremantle Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing