We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Fantastic location and brilliant and helpful concierge. But, considering the price, this was nowhere near a 4-star hotel. Erratic front desk service, bins in room not emptied, newspaper never arrived, internet slow. Unlimited downloads should be free and the norm for a hotel of this calibre. Next time I will stay in a B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbaradesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

The hotel has a AAA rating of 4.5 stars and the services and facilities are of this standard. I take on board your comments and will address these with the team, the internet is normally very good, it was installed earlier this year with state of the art equipment including increased speed in and out of the hotel, the fee for large downloads is purely to keep it fair for all guests, if someone or groups of people are downloading big files movies etc it can slow down the system opposed to those who wish to read emails and browse the internet. There are plenty of B&B's around the area as you have noted, they may not have the same level of facilities you will find in this hotel, I hope you find something that better suits your needs for your next visit.

Kind Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Esplanade has the best Concierge staffs. They are very helpful and knowledgable as well as friendly. We kept going to them to ask on attractions and how to get to places. Very impressed by their patience and service with a smile! Other than that the hotel and room is clean but the superior room with pool view that we had, couldn't really see the pool as it was covered by a tree. I suggest for those people visiting Perth, Esplanade Fremantle will be a good place to stay as the location is accessible and very near to good restaurants - Little Creatures Brewery, Joe's Seafood Shack, Mussel Bar and many others.

Room Tip: If you are taking a superior room with pool view, ask for a room opposite the pool as those facing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FYLP2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Was pleasing to read of your experience and other than annoying issues like a tree blocking your view of the pool, it was generally a good stay. The location is ideal to enjoy all the attractions around Fremantle and our guests certainly take advantage of this fact when staying here. I hope we can have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I stayed a night at The Esplanade in Fremantle to celebrate our anniversary and we were very disappointed.
1. When checking in, we were given our key without any introduction to the hotel or explaining where things were.......... the bar/pool etc. We had to ask what time breakfast was served. Very efficient but not very friendly.
2. We booked the Deluxe Spa Room - it was not in any way romantic and felt like a business room............you could not dim any lights in bathroom or bedroom, only blazing bright lights in your eyes..........and the spa bath when turned on was so loud it sounded like there was a motorbike in the room. So not romantic!!
3. We were woken up at 1am with loud music coming from somewhere (? nearby room) - we rang down to reception and reported it, and in fairness to them they got someone to investigate and it did quieten down. The bed was not too comfortable either.
4. During breakfast, the bar turned up their music so that it was quite loud and unpleasant in the Atrium so not quite the leisurely breakfast we were hoping for. We ordered coffees from the counter only to be charged extra on check out (no where did it say that they were not included in the breakfast) but they were prepared to deduct them from the bill when we questioned it.

All in all, not the nice romantic night we were hoping for........as our once a year night away, it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

I Was equally disappointed to read of your experience for your special occasion, it certainly sounded unromantic and not a great start to a special weekend! I have shared your views with the team and the items you have listed. One of the key things in making the hotel package 100% is consistency, we certainly have some great feedback then something like this comes through which indicates we were off our game and need to do better all the time. I will focus on this with the team and assure you we will do our best to improve this moving forward.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just.returned from a lovely weekend at the Esplanade. We gave it a second chance after a fairly ordinary visit when Rydges had just taken over - see earlier review. This time round had a great pool view room, the place looked spruced up and cheery, helpful staff were on hand at every turn. The only small grumble was the underused pool cabana, a real feature, but no service available when we were there. Would be lovely to have had a coffee or cocktail after a swim. Have to hand it to Rydges - things are much improved and we will return.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor pool view room with a large verandah and nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Currambiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Really pleased to read the experience has improved at the hotel since your previous stay. There has been a lot of physical work to the product in that time and have also been working to get the standards of service and the team in a better cultural position. These things are going to take time, however generally we have witnessed an improvement in all areas since taking over in January. I hope we can continue to improve guest experience by your next visit.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Unexpectedly staying for 4 nights at the Esplanade I was well taken care of until the 3rd day when a corridor painting project began right outside my room. It would have been appreciated if the management had seen fit to alert guests to this toxic inconvenience (which I suppose, for business reasons, is a necessity to achieve while the hotel remains open). After reluctantly tolerating the fumes for the first night I was awoken today with painful sinuses and a headache, AND by the painter outside my door applying the 2nd coat. Thankfully I am beholden to The Angel Dasni at the front desk who made my day, upgrading me to the heavenly 4th floor! I can even dive into the pool from here! But I'm back to work with a clear head and the sun in my vista.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Was disappointed to read of your experience with the maintenance of the hotel and lack of communication from the team to ensure you were aware of the program in place. Will definitely ensure moving forward this occurs, the boys have been working externally since this period but will most likely continue indoors in the coming months. Thank you again for your note on Dasni, she is a very good receptionist and has a natural smile and pleasant demeanor with the guests that is ideal for hospitality.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

stayed at the hotel the weekend before football grandfinal and my husband work they booked us there.We drove down from Geraldton , and arrived at the hotel for valet parking.The conceirge were great she gave a big smile and welcomed us. We headed into reception and got our room.Not happy with our room we went back down to reception and spoke to a duty manager to see if here could upgrade us to a better room,and he did.His name was Travis ,and what a nice young man he is .We spoke to him many occasion on resturants and things to do and small chit chat,I know that this is his job and Im probably not explaining myself that well,but he went above and beyond his duty.He made such as positive experienceon us.All your staff needs a big pat on the back from the cleaners to valet to bar and kitchen.We enjoyed our stay so much,and have told many people about staying at the hotel.You should be very proud of the people that you have working for you and we cant wait to come and stay again.Please thank your staff and please let Travis know was a fine young duty manager he is, David you better watch your job,( haha )having a great duty manager like that he will go far.Jokes a side,thanks again for a great stay and we see you soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tania p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

What a lovely message on our Manager on Duty Travis, thank you for taking the time to acknowledge his efforts, he is a very sincere hospitality operator who does genuinely care for the guests that he has dealings with. Great to see this had an impact and can only hope this culture gets instilled in the rest of the team in front office as they settle in.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Esplanade enjoys a lovely location in Fremantle. Our room was quite comfortable but we were disappointed that we had not view only an internal outlook to a small pool. The service we received from the concierge staff was fantastic and we can highly recommend them

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Great you enjoyed your stay in Fremantle, sorry the view was internal to the pool, the rooms overlooking the park are very popular and also slightly more expensive as you may note from the various website listings. I hope we can welcome you back to Freo in the future.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.4 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
1.9 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Hotel
Norfolk Hotel
#8 of 8 in Fremantle
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range: £97 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing