We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a quality old hotel in the main drag of Fremantle. It has been given a stylish makeover by the incumbent Rydges Group. It tastefully combines respect for historical features with the amenities we all now expect. Staff are unformly courteous, helpful and quietyly proficient. The main restaurant was quite elegant and the quality of the food first rate. Just a quality locale.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Really pleasing to have a positive review from a senior reviewer and appreciate the perspective of the work completed to date since taking over in January. It is not always going to be easy to please everyone, and the team does its best to perform with the peaks and troughs the area has. We are constantly looking at ways to improve the facilities and our delivery and take on board all feedback from many areas to ensure this is happening and provide good value for money.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,437 - 1,443 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for only one night as we were attending a function in Fremantle. Were given the room key with no instructions of how to get to it, ended up lost and a repairman directed us in the end. Went down to use the pool and I couldn't locate a towel. Went inside to ask a staff member who said that they didn't know where to find a towel and to go to reception. Given that I was in pool attire, I didn't feel comfortable having to walk all the way through the busy hotel to reception to try to locate a towel. When I went back outside another guest was able to point me in the right direction to the towels. Pool had quite a bit of debris at the bottom and there were no steps to help you out at the sides where the railings were.
Our room was clean and quite comfortable albeit very dark with a "glorious" view of a rooftop next door. The room looked nothing like the photos on the website. In all, this is a very expensive hotel for what you get. Wouldn't recommend to anyone and probably wouldn't go back. Much better accommodation in Fremantle for value. Unfortunately The Esplanade runs on its reputation of being one of the most prestigious in Fremantle but doesn't live up to it at all. Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolW00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Was pleasing to read you enjoyed Fremantle albeit not the hotel experience. The pool towels as you probably found are in a very large 3m x 2m cabinet on the decking area accessible by a room key, not sure why a staff member didn't know this depending on what area they may have been from but can appreciate it may have been difficult to find. The debris you have noted in the bottom of the pool is from the palms surrounding the pool, little yellow balls or fruit, this time of year they do have this tendency and we certainly are aware of it and trying to keep on top of it to ensure it clean all the time. Unfortunately some of the rooms look out onto rooftops of nearby buildings, I am not sure you will find accommodation in Fremantle that has 360 degree views from all their rooms, it can be disappointing when you may be considering the aspect when viewing the website. The parkview rooms all have views over the park but at a premium price due to their popularity.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here on a saturday night. The hotel is fairly old now and could do with a touch up here and there. Lovely pool area and bar. Bed was really hard and uncomfortable with very thin soft pillows, only had 2 in our room. Unfortunately fairly expensive, would have thought rooms includes valet parking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyvanelven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

The hotel has had a multimillion dollar upgrade in the ground floor public areas as well as services and facilities and continues to plan for new projects since taking over in January. It is planned to commence on some replacements in rooms including new Rydges Dream Beds in the coming ear which will make a big difference as well. Valet is normally outside of a room rate as most guests particularly mid-week don't have cars, this is common in most hotels around the country.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here for a few days attending a work conference. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were average, relatively clean, but really expensive rooms for what you get (Perth in general is quite expensive). Breakfast was not included and cost $30 each day to add on!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aMazenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Appreciate you taking the time to make a few notes on our impression of your stay in WA. The room rates have come back considerably in the past 6 months, they do however fluctuate like most areas with demand. We generally try to provide good value for money in the market and when reviewing wotif.com in our area are normally priced in line with market rates. We are always tying to improve the guest experience, items such as price normally come up if people don't find it good value for money, so we should look at this from the guest perspective and will be considering improvements in rooms in the coming year. The past year since taking over the hotel has been improving the public areas and other service areas needing attention.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Spent a week here and have very few good things to say about it apart from the great location. From the dirty towels left in my room by the cleaners (dirty towels that were not mine!) to the dismissive reception staff among other things, I wouldnt recommend this hotel unless there was no other options available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Can understand your recommendation based on your experience, it is very unusual for towels to be left in a room that has been noted for a new guest to check into, I can't imagine how this may of occurred and hasn't in my time here, however will be followed through with the housekeeping team to see how this may of happened. Sorry to see this may have tarnished your impression of the hotel and you wont be back with us, it is a great location and guests generally enjoy their experience.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Fantastic location and brilliant and helpful concierge. But, considering the price, this was nowhere near a 4-star hotel. Erratic front desk service, bins in room not emptied, newspaper never arrived, internet slow. Unlimited downloads should be free and the norm for a hotel of this calibre. Next time I will stay in a B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbaradesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

The hotel has a AAA rating of 4.5 stars and the services and facilities are of this standard. I take on board your comments and will address these with the team, the internet is normally very good, it was installed earlier this year with state of the art equipment including increased speed in and out of the hotel, the fee for large downloads is purely to keep it fair for all guests, if someone or groups of people are downloading big files movies etc it can slow down the system opposed to those who wish to read emails and browse the internet. There are plenty of B&B's around the area as you have noted, they may not have the same level of facilities you will find in this hotel, I hope you find something that better suits your needs for your next visit.

Kind Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Esplanade has the best Concierge staffs. They are very helpful and knowledgable as well as friendly. We kept going to them to ask on attractions and how to get to places. Very impressed by their patience and service with a smile! Other than that the hotel and room is clean but the superior room with pool view that we had, couldn't really see the pool as it was covered by a tree. I suggest for those people visiting Perth, Esplanade Fremantle will be a good place to stay as the location is accessible and very near to good restaurants - Little Creatures Brewery, Joe's Seafood Shack, Mussel Bar and many others.

Room Tip: If you are taking a superior room with pool view, ask for a room opposite the pool as those facing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FYLP2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Was pleasing to read of your experience and other than annoying issues like a tree blocking your view of the pool, it was generally a good stay. The location is ideal to enjoy all the attractions around Fremantle and our guests certainly take advantage of this fact when staying here. I hope we can have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.4 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
256 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
220 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Hotel
Norfolk Hotel
#8 of 8 in Fremantle
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range: £84 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing