We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, central location, good food - 3.5 of 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, central location, good food - 3.5 of 5”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed in the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle for 3 nights in the beginning of november during attending a conference.
The personnel was friendly and I felt welcome. The only thing that "bothered" me a bit was the "easygoing"-way of the staff, which I didn't expect in a hotel in this category. But that is just the australian way I guess ;-)

The room was large and quiet. The interior looked a bit old, so was the airconditioning - but it did its job. The floor in the bathroom showed watermarks all over the place, nevertheless cleanliness was satisfying.
The room provided everything that should be found in a hotel in this category, like kettle, free coffee/tea, safe, TV, hairdryer, etc. Unfortunately, internet was not included, but could be purchased - a bit disappointing, but it seems to be common in Australia.
The queensize bed was comfortable - nothing to complain about here.

Breakfast was good, and the buffet-style-food that was served during conference breaks was of very good quality as well.
But I didn't just eat in the hotel and due to its very central location in the heart of Fremantle it was easy to find some good reastaurants and bars. Here I can recommend the pizzas/beers at "Little Creatures Brewery" and "The Monk Brewery and Kitchen" as well as "The Sail and Anchor" with its large variety of international and national beers.

My overall rating is a 3.5 ot of 5, but unfortunately this is not possible and therefore I adjust downward to a 3 out of 5 (so they have some motivation to reach the 4 if I should come back).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christoph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Was nice to see you enjoyed your stay generally at the hotel and benefited from the location. The hotel service generally a very sincere yet friendly culture, we certainly do not have a 5 star service approach if that was your point and being an Australian owned company, Rydges prides itself in the friendly down to earth delivery of service that customers normally enjoy. If the team were too casual this would certainly not be tolerated and will address this with the managers. Glad you took time to enjoy some of the local attractions and craft beer places, they are very popular and only a short walk from the hotel.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    622
    289
    88
    35
See reviews for
214
706
61
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights in November. Impressed with room (which overlooked pool), service and Concierge staff who were extremely helpful. Food, especially breakfast, was outrageously expensive (much cheaper option 2 minutes away!) but the hotel is conveniently placed with easy access to the centre of Fremantle and the harbour.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Glad you enjoyed the location and service provided by the hotel team, we review our pricing regularly in all areas, the full buffet breakfast at $29 is generally in line with other 4.5-5 star hotels but obviously doesn't compare with cafes and the like if that is the preference. We do packages that offer value adds such as breakfast in the price that may be a good option if staying over 5 nights in the future.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
539 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for about 10 days recently during my first time in WA. In terms of location the hotel is great – right in the centre of everything and minutes walk to anything you want. The rooms are just as good, comfortable and with plenty of space. The room is expensive as you would expect but I accept that as part of the place. Being on a rate negotiated by my company, I assumed that something would be included but even on this rate very little was. Parking offered by the hotel is valet only at about AUD40, not a big deal since there is daily parking very near for about AUD$7. Breakfast and evening buffet were both very expensive too – and it felt all the sillier for how many much better options are all around the hotel for less. Internet is of course the one that bugged me the most; it was about AUD20 for so many hours. You get a small period for free but it is nothing really and it is slow and buggy – disconnecting frequently, which is a problem if you are trying to work over a vpn. Even purchased it was the same.

The hotel is comfortable in a good location but the constant charging for anything but the most basic provisions really does detract from the atmosphere. Still good, but a bit grabby in that regard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_the_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Was pleasing to see you had a long stay with the hotel in December, just to clarify a couple of your points made, the valet is $29 per day for parking, there are cheaper options in public carparks nearby however the open park across from the hotel is not secured and the Collie St Wilsons park has restrictive hours of operation, ie it closes before midnight most nights. The internet speed is generally very good, will have this checked, the system was upgraded last year throughout the entire hotel, the cost is free for first 20MB in 24hrs then $18 with discounts for PGR members. The buffet costs are also reasonable for the variety and volume presented, there are plenty of options in Fremantle also which makes the location so popular. We certainly do not go out of our way to penny pinch our guests, we try to be fair in all areas with the pricing and in line with the market. It is constantly reviewed and adjusted as required. Hope we see you back with us again.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night as we were going to a concert at Metropolis Nightclub. Only a 5 mins walk to the nightclub.
Check In staff very friendly and helpful
Rooms were good...nice large LCD TV, very comfy bed.
Bathroom was small, shower was powerful and made a bit of a mess with water splashing out. Could also hear the toilets being flushed from the room next door.
Dinner at the Harbour Master was a highlight...amazing food...excellent staff...great price.
Breakfast the next morning was good..nice selection...hot food could do with a bit more heat.
Overall a nice stay and we would go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackjacknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Was very glad to see you used the hotel for a night out in Fremantle! Not a bad way in ending the night without the hassle of looking for a taxi..Was also pleased to see you enjoyed the experience and the team added to your stay. We are working on the shower door issue you mentioned, an inherent problem that needs some thought to sort out. Hope we see you back again on your next night away.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

As a hospitality insider i have a critical eye but everything for me went wonderfully. the rooms need a little face-lift but everything in them was clean and expected. The staff were a beacon of light that made my stay! The new Marine Bar have the nicest group people working in one place. Keiran (guy with glasses) was OUTSTANDING!! am hopeless with names but mulumbi, darren, will, louise, Winny, Renee and hannah really made me feel welcome with their impeccable cutsomer service, professionalism and charm. Sarah, Dasni and the new guy on Reception made everything seamless should also be commended! Room Service was prompt and delicious: well done to the Chef's (and the South Asian Gentleman who delivered it was polite and nice).
If i'm going to be critical my lamp didnt work, the hotel layout is confusing and the free net is SLOW.
But Business, holiday whatever you need I would recommend if looking for a place outside the CBD! Keep up the good work

Room Tip: either the histoic centre of the hotel or the very new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themanofcash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
How refreshing to relieve a nice comment on the team at the hotel, it certainly goes a long way and will pass this onto them! Glad you enjoyed your experience here and will look into the items you have also raised with the lighting etc. Directional signage is in the planning stage of being replaced as are all the room numbers in the hotel so they make more sense. Since taking over in Jan, there have been a number of items we have had on our list that need attention and a lot have been actioned already, we hope to continue to improve the property even more in the coming year.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I spent four nights in the Esplanade whilst attending a wedding in Fremantle. We had the Hans Heysen suite for our stay and it a well appointed room with a sitting room as well as a bedroom. The room had a fantastic verandah attached that provided fairly private views, one floor up, of the street and park opposite the hotel. Lighting in the room is poor so even with the window blinds open the room is always dark. The shower is the best one I have ever encountered in a hotel anywhere in the world. Fabulous water pressure easily adjustable etc etc. Pity the shower cubicle wasn't up to this awesome shower and let a large amount of water flood across the uneven floor where the drain wasn't necessarily the lowest point. We checked to make sure the shower door was closed properly and it was, there was just a building floor.

Our initial problems concerned parking. We were provided with two different sets of instructions on the subject the final result being that we copped a $50 overnight parking fee. Nothing too serious but information version 3 resulted in a night costing $7.90.

Every morning we were awaken by the sounds of wheels rolling on the floor directly above our unit. It would seem that the service staff parked and accessed their various trolleys directly above our suite. When we asked if the trolleys could be parked at some other location, we were politely told this wasn't possible. Simple solution would seem to be covering the floor with some carpet!!

The room was promptly and well cleaned except for the Saturday when despite us being out of the room for most of the day when we returned to get ready for the wedding in the afternoon it hadn't been cleaned and the staff appeared at 3.00pm to tell us they had to do it now or we would miss out!!

At check out time, there were two people working at the desk and the line of people checking out was almost out the door. We counted at least 40 people or couples in the line. One person told us they had been waiting for over an hour!! We dropped our door cards off and left.

Restaurant and bar prices are at the top end but as the setup and ambience of the place is pretty good this is reasonable.

The Esplanade at Fremantle has had a lot of money spent on it and looks and feels pretty good. It is a great pity that they have missed many small details that relate to the comfort of their guests. It would also appear that staffing numbers are cut to a minimum on weekends and this in a hotel that charges prices right at the top end is simply unacceptable.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Heysen room if you want to sleep later than 7am
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Sorry you encountered a range of service related issues and attention to detail was lacking in certain areas. I appreciate the detailed review of the hotel as I am sure other traveler's would. I was a little concerned to read of the comments you said the staff made with regards to the noise of wheels above you and the need to clean your room, this is definitely no something I would imagine would be tolerated by the manager and will follow this kind of attitude up. We will certainly look at the items noted and do our best to improve these moving forward.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a quality old hotel in the main drag of Fremantle. It has been given a stylish makeover by the incumbent Rydges Group. It tastefully combines respect for historical features with the amenities we all now expect. Staff are unformly courteous, helpful and quietyly proficient. The main restaurant was quite elegant and the quality of the food first rate. Just a quality locale.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Really pleasing to have a positive review from a senior reviewer and appreciate the perspective of the work completed to date since taking over in January. It is not always going to be easy to please everyone, and the team does its best to perform with the peaks and troughs the area has. We are constantly looking at ways to improve the facilities and our delivery and take on board all feedback from many areas to ensure this is happening and provide good value for money.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Property: Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing