We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations disappointing, but otherwise perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Bendigo, Victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Renovations disappointing, but otherwise perfect!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel was clean, the staff were only too friendly to accommodate for whatever you wanted or required, and the bar staff had charisma that lacked in other areas of Fremantle. I was there for a wedding held just around the corner, and spent the days before and after that enjoying the sights and sounds of Fremantle. It was a great location, the free CAT bus stop was right across the road and could take you anywhere you wanted to go within the township, the eating places over the water were great, and the hotel was always clean and quiet. Unfortunately our balcony overlooked an empty pool with construction going on around it, and one of the elevators was out of order, but other than that, this is a grand old building with new interior.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiek84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Pleased you enjoyed Fremantle when here for a wedding, the location is great! Pleased to advise the pool is finished and operational and looks amazing, the second guest lift should be nearly done in the coming two weeks, given they have not been touched in about 20 years, we were excited to see this work completed as soon as we took over the hotel last year..A lot of these projects although not great when underway are necessary and will improve guest experience for future stays.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    634
    292
    88
    36
See reviews for
216
718
61
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were really looking forward to this Stay and considered booking two nights instead of just one, but after arriving in our very tiny room on the ground floor with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel of this rating.
Our room was the one closest to reception so the noise from all the other guests who had to walk past it in order to get to the lift or their rooms was like Pitt street.
Bed was OK, but that is about all. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in an old Ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Was a shame to read of your experience at the hotel and that you wont be back with us again. I am sure if there was a comment made after entering your room that you were unhappy with it, the front desk team would have tried to resolve this at the time..

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights and loved our time spent here. The staff were friendly and informative of the Fremantle area and provided us with maps and directions to places we wanted to go. The room was very modern, clean and comfortable but when in the bathroom we could here people in the bathroom in the room next door. The pool was nice and warm and a very good pool for the kids, the only thing that was a bit disappointing was one of the pools had no water in it which we overlooked from our room. The bar and staff were very professional. Overall a wonderful hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit with the hotel. A number of other people have pointed out that one of the pools is under renovations in the past, this has finally been completed and is operational and looking great! This will hopefully fix this anomaly from traveler reviews...

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for our wedding night and requested (to pay) for some champagne and rose petals to be in our room when we arrived, the staff flat out refused to help.

Had to wait 35mins to get our car out of valet in the morning.

Nothing special about this hotel at all.

Location is the only good thing about this place. Would not stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelbaptist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Noted that the team didn't help with your request for the rose petals and champagne, will follow this up with the porters to work out why this was the case. I understand the rose petal thing is an issue with cleaning and stains on the linen so may have been one point, but the champagne is pretty standard so unsure why they would have refused this request. Was disappointing to read this item will prevent you from staying with us again and that you felt you had poor value for money with us.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed 3 nights to have memorable experiences with my girlfriend. I was recommended to stay at the Esplanade and it was a fantastic experience as expected. I was very pleased and impressed by the front desk staff’s customer services, because they were very helpful and friendly. Especially the manager Travis, he was very professional, helpful and efficient. He has very positive attitude towards the customer and answering the phone in a nice manner (my girlfriend made calls from the room to request something and he was very considerate even though my girlfriend’s English wasn't great). The room was kept clean at all times and had a huge balcony. The breakfast buffet was also really enjoyable. We felt very welcomed and well looked after during the stay in the hotel and we would like to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guddhr92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Very nice of you to comment on Travis and the service you received during your stay, it is a pleasant gesture to read of someones positive experience from the front desk team and their efforts to look after guests in the hotel. I hope we see you back with us again.

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in February. We were very happy with the service and had no complaints about the room. We were in a room on the 4th floor overlooking the pool and were not troubled by noise even though the hotel was full. The rooms are very spacious even when equipped with a super king sized bed. The bathroom was very clean and replenished daily but take care what you discuss when you are in there as the next door occupants can hear every word you say via the extraction duct. Hotel fridges and irons normally leave a lot to be desired but not here, iron and ironing board were in first class condition and worked very well. I had a problem with the internet which was sorted out by the front desk staff who gave me a 24 hour connection as a good will gesture.
My only disappointment with this hotel is the price charged for meals in the restaurant.
$29 per person for breakfast is really over the top. We had a full breakfast in a coffee shop behind the hotel for under $30 in total and many of the hotel guests were also using the same cafe's. Their staff were eager to point out that their food was equally as good and less than half the price of the hotel food. The evening meals are equally expensive and I was not surprised to see many of the guests eating at restaurants around the city. It would be a sensible suggestion to cut the meal prices to encourage guests to stay in and eat at the hotel. I am sure the additional revenue from the bar would compensate for the price reduction.
I would definitely return to the hotel for it's location and service and maybe eat there if the prices are amended.

Room Tip: 4th floor overlooking the pool if you want an undisturbed sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veejayservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Appreciate the review of your recent stay at the hotel, we certainly take on board guest comments about the breakfast buffet price. I would say for $29 you are getting far more variety and offering than the cafes nearby who provide a hot plated meal and coffee for less but you also get cereal, fruit, yoghurt, smoothies, toast, pastries, pancakes, eggs or omelets cooked to order and as many sides as you want within the buffet price. I am sure if you were to have a continental and hotel plated meal at a cafe around the hotel it would get pricey...will certainly look at this and we do offer specials with our packages as well which shows good value..

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

After hearing such hype about this hotel I was disappointed in the standard of the hotel. It is in a great location for exploring Fremantle but a very basic offering in terms of rooms and the staff. It is very outdated and needs some TLC. I got the room with a free voucher after booking some flights through flight centre otherwise I would not have paid £130 for a night at this hotel. It was a 2-3 star standard and would be somewhere that I would stay again if it was under £50 per night and I needed to be this central.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harri8Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
So nice of you to take the opportunity to stay with us in Fremantle with your free voucher offer..Hope you find more suitable accommodation if you are traveling back to Western Australia...

Regards

David Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Property: Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing