We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurants nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Service was good. The hot breakfast included an omelette station. You will be spoilt for choice when it comes to restaurants. A short walk across the park in front of the hotel will take you to a range of seafood restaurants including a steak place. A short walk down the street on either side of the hotel away from the park will also take you to many restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LinusNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel; I’m glad to read that you enjoyed our RISE buffet breakfast and that the service was good. I hope you also tried our in-house restaurant, The Harbour Master, with tapas, WA grill menu and fresh local seafood.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Room was a good size along with the bathroom. We also had a balcony. Best feature for us was the bed, we were both a little sick and having a good nights sleep was a blessing. Hotel easy to locate in a great position. Staff were fantastic. Valet parking is the best option and was reasonable in price. Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of options and hot. Best part you can order a freshly cooked omelette to your liking. Hotel in easy walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. Park is also across the road. The hotel was busy however everyone was happy it wasn't chaotic like some other hotels.

Room Tip: Sign up to privileges program for a slightly cheaper price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drewkez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Sorry to hear that you were a little under the weather during your stay, however I’m glad that we could make you as comfortable as possible. It sounds like you still managed to experience all the hotel and Fremantle has to offer, in particular the delicious RISE buffet breakfast and the beautiful park across the road. I hope to welcome you to Fremantle again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recently stayed here for two night, was a located in an awesome place, you could walk to heaps of great locations, good foo and coffee were everywhere, less than a five minute walk to the Fremantle Markets, and a hop skip and jump to the water, great place to stay :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itisallaboutservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thanks for your review. The Hotel is in an ideal location, in the heart of Fremantle. It certainly sounds like you took advantage to walk around and see everything the city has to offer including the very famous Fremantle Markets, Fishing Boat Harbour and Bathers Beach all within 5 minutes walk of the Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The entrance to this hotel got me excited. Check in was easy although only one person on reception. Valet parking was the best option however, extremely over priced. Reception was happy to move us to a room with a balcony but took sometime to get through due to only one staff member on reception. Long corridors with long walking, rooms are basic with beds, tea/coffee, mini bar and bathrooms are lovely. Location is fantastic with walking distance to beach and Freo markets and also plenty of dining options, including a huge buffet in the hotel (we didn't eat here though). Highly recommend getting a free guest priority card which gives you an automatic 10% discount booking direct which was cheaper than the booking sites. We had a 3 night stay and I would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Micky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Great to read that you’ve become a member of Rydges Priority Guest Rewards – you’re right it is definitely the way to get the best deals. We always roster 2-3 front desk staff on for our peak check in and out times, so perhaps you arrived at a usually quite time and that’s why there was only one, either way I’m glad that our staff member was able to help you with your request. Our refurbishments over the past year and a half have got us excited too so it’s good to read that you are enjoying them also. When you are here next time you can try the Ball & Chain – Fremantle’s newest old pub – just opened on the hotel site!

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great hotel. We had an excellent stay. Bery nice and comfortable room. Good bathroom facilities and in the room all the necessities to make coffee, etc. Hotel has a beautiful atrium with reception, area to have breakfast or dine and a very nice bar hotel. Rhe hotel is situated perfectly at the border of the Esplande park and attractions as well as city centre are nearby. Breakfast was a bit expensive, but quallity was good.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and it was worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Els K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel; it is so great to read that you enjoyed all our facilities including the RISE buffet breakfast and Marine Lounge Bar in the lobby. I’m sorry that you felt the buffet breakfast was expensive but as you’ve commented the quality is top notch and there is a large variety to choose from. We hope to welcome you again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrived early but our room was ready which was a real bonus. The receptionist checking us in was very friendly and pleasant, and the other staff we encountered were helpful too.
We'd asked for a room overlooking the pool and we had a ground floor room with a small balcony - this could perhaps do with a coat of paint. The room itself was good, although a little dark due to the balcony and vegetation outside it. There was a bath as well as shower.
There were two pools and it was a bit disappointing that one of them was closed (not the one our room overlooked). We did use the spa baths although they were a little on the chilly side!
The location was excellent, very easy walking distance to both the main shopping street and the harbour.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BeanoWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

I’m glad to read that our staff made your stay friendly and pleasant and that you found the central Fremantle location so handy. From time to time we do need to do maintenance on our two swimming pools to keep them up to standard for our guests; we always try to have one available at the very least so I hope that you took advantage during your stay. I will pass on your feedback regarding the temperature of the outdoor spas and have our maintenance team check it for future guests.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We originally booked a Wotif secret hotel deal and ended up staying for two nights. The Duty Manager asked us to join Rydges Priority as a member and to get a better deal and ended getting a great nights rate with breakfast.

Though after some confusion when attempting to go for breakfast, since it was not listed on our room charge list. It was lovely to have such a fantastic customer service Manager who resolved the issue very quickly without making us feel though we were lying.

Highly recommend the breakfast, especially the made to order omelettes and freshly made coffee. Luckily we had some fantastic staff especially the valet, breakfast and the receptionist who were extremely friendly and courteous.

Will be staying again it's so convenient and within walking distance of all the public transport and some great food spots.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Mandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thank you so much for your great feedback and so glad to hear you’re now a Rydges Priority Guest Rewards member; the benefits are certainly worth it! It is great to read that all though you had a small issue, our staff were on hand to fix it with no trouble and you were able to enjoy the delicious RISE buffet breakfast in the Atrium Garden Restaurant. We’ll see you again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.4 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Hotel
Norfolk Hotel
#8 of 8 in Fremantle
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range: £79 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing