We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all the way...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Maclean
1 review
“Excellent all the way...”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From the time we drove into the hotel's forecourt, we were treated like royalty from the concierge to reception - staff were lovely - and then to a beautiful room with a "dream bed". We ate in the Harbour Master Restaurant and our dinner was amazing. We had a great night's sleep, so quiet and comfortable. Great location as easy walking distance to the Capuccino Strip and shops. Late check-out was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Park view suite best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_and_Brian0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
“Treated like royalty” – how fantastic to read that our staff made you feel this way; this is how you should feel in a Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I’m glad that you enjoyed our Rydges Dream Beds and a delicious dinner in The Harbour Master. I hope to see you both in Fremantle again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    626
    291
    88
    36
See reviews for
216
715
61
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We came today for Perth Darts Masters and thought we'd have a nice lunch and a few drinks.
It took ages to get a drink in the Atrium Bar, not because it was busy, but because of the lack of staff. They were so slow!
The food was delicious, but took well over half an hour to arrive.
Coffee in where the darts were was good, but again, the staff were below standard. I'll always give credit where credit is due, but honestly, the service here was terrible.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
It was disappointing to read that your experience with our service was not up to standard in this instance. The Perth Darts Masters were an extremely busy and exciting time for the Hotel and for Fremantle. We had extra staff on hand during this week long event so I’m unsure as to why you were made to wait other than there was probably increased demand on the kitchen at the time that you ordered. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention, I will discuss them with the outlet managers so that we can ensure our service is top notch for the 2015 Perth Darts Masters.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Service was good. The hot breakfast included an omelette station. You will be spoilt for choice when it comes to restaurants. A short walk across the park in front of the hotel will take you to a range of seafood restaurants including a steak place. A short walk down the street on either side of the hotel away from the park will also take you to many restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinusNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel; I’m glad to read that you enjoyed our RISE buffet breakfast and that the service was good. I hope you also tried our in-house restaurant, The Harbour Master, with tapas, WA grill menu and fresh local seafood.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Room was a good size along with the bathroom. We also had a balcony. Best feature for us was the bed, we were both a little sick and having a good nights sleep was a blessing. Hotel easy to locate in a great position. Staff were fantastic. Valet parking is the best option and was reasonable in price. Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of options and hot. Best part you can order a freshly cooked omelette to your liking. Hotel in easy walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. Park is also across the road. The hotel was busy however everyone was happy it wasn't chaotic like some other hotels.

Room Tip: Sign up to privileges program for a slightly cheaper price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewkez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Sorry to hear that you were a little under the weather during your stay, however I’m glad that we could make you as comfortable as possible. It sounds like you still managed to experience all the hotel and Fremantle has to offer, in particular the delicious RISE buffet breakfast and the beautiful park across the road. I hope to welcome you to Fremantle again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recently stayed here for two night, was a located in an awesome place, you could walk to heaps of great locations, good foo and coffee were everywhere, less than a five minute walk to the Fremantle Markets, and a hop skip and jump to the water, great place to stay :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itisallaboutservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Thanks for your review. The Hotel is in an ideal location, in the heart of Fremantle. It certainly sounds like you took advantage to walk around and see everything the city has to offer including the very famous Fremantle Markets, Fishing Boat Harbour and Bathers Beach all within 5 minutes walk of the Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The entrance to this hotel got me excited. Check in was easy although only one person on reception. Valet parking was the best option however, extremely over priced. Reception was happy to move us to a room with a balcony but took sometime to get through due to only one staff member on reception. Long corridors with long walking, rooms are basic with beds, tea/coffee, mini bar and bathrooms are lovely. Location is fantastic with walking distance to beach and Freo markets and also plenty of dining options, including a huge buffet in the hotel (we didn't eat here though). Highly recommend getting a free guest priority card which gives you an automatic 10% discount booking direct which was cheaper than the booking sites. We had a 3 night stay and I would definitely return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Micky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Great to read that you’ve become a member of Rydges Priority Guest Rewards – you’re right it is definitely the way to get the best deals. We always roster 2-3 front desk staff on for our peak check in and out times, so perhaps you arrived at a usually quite time and that’s why there was only one, either way I’m glad that our staff member was able to help you with your request. Our refurbishments over the past year and a half have got us excited too so it’s good to read that you are enjoying them also. When you are here next time you can try the Ball & Chain – Fremantle’s newest old pub – just opened on the hotel site!

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great hotel. We had an excellent stay. Bery nice and comfortable room. Good bathroom facilities and in the room all the necessities to make coffee, etc. Hotel has a beautiful atrium with reception, area to have breakfast or dine and a very nice bar hotel. Rhe hotel is situated perfectly at the border of the Esplande park and attractions as well as city centre are nearby. Breakfast was a bit expensive, but quallity was good.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and it was worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Els K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel; it is so great to read that you enjoyed all our facilities including the RISE buffet breakfast and Marine Lounge Bar in the lobby. I’m sorry that you felt the buffet breakfast was expensive but as you’ve commented the quality is top notch and there is a large variety to choose from. We hope to welcome you again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Property: Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing