We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The room was neat and clean, but the decor is old and dated. The lighting is minimal. A bedside lamp would be good. Bathroom was fine. Towels and linen very fresh. It was expensive for what we had $259 for the night. Good position close to restaurants and the harbour.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikijames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our accommodation rooms in an upgrade program that started when Rydges took over management last year. I agree that a bedside lamp is handy, although there are bedside wall lights in all rooms, so I’m unsure why a lamp would also be necessary. However, the lighting is being reviewed during refurbishment so I will take this on board. I hope that we get to welcome you to Fremantle again soon so that you can experience the room improvements for yourself.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife & I really appreciate the hotel for arranging an early check-in for us. We took an overnight flight & arrived at the hotel really early (around 0800hr). The effort to arrange the room & the warm welcome when we check-in really make our trip. It was an excellent start to our first Perth trip.

The hotel location is outstanding. A few steps to the famous Fremantle market. Lots of F&B choices & shopping options in the vicinity. The train to Perth is also within walking range. For AUD4.2 pax, we reached Perth station in 35min & spend the whole day shopping & dinning there.

The room is clean & real spacious. The bed a bit soft but did not stop us from getting a restful sleep.

We booked the winter package from the hotel at AUD170 per night. It comes with a 50% discount valet parking (normal price AUD29.5) & breakfast

Breakfast is outstanding with a good spread & attentive staff.

Overall, the hotel is slightly old but the service & location more than make up for this. Will recommend this to friends & will definitely stay here again when in Perth

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

I’m so happy to read that we were able to accommodate your early arrival; overnight flights can be harsh so I’m glad we were able to make the trip a little better for you. Great to see that you took advantage of our fantastic Winter Package too and found it easy to get to Perth CBD. We have continued to make improvements and upgrades to the Hotel, bringing it into the modern era, since taking over the Hotel last year so I hope you can come again soon to see them for yourself.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

From the time we drove into the hotel's forecourt, we were treated like royalty from the concierge to reception - staff were lovely - and then to a beautiful room with a "dream bed". We ate in the Harbour Master Restaurant and our dinner was amazing. We had a great night's sleep, so quiet and comfortable. Great location as easy walking distance to the Capuccino Strip and shops. Late check-out was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Park view suite best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_and_Brian0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

“Treated like royalty” – how fantastic to read that our staff made you feel this way; this is how you should feel in a Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I’m glad that you enjoyed our Rydges Dream Beds and a delicious dinner in The Harbour Master. I hope to see you both in Fremantle again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We came today for Perth Darts Masters and thought we'd have a nice lunch and a few drinks.
It took ages to get a drink in the Atrium Bar, not because it was busy, but because of the lack of staff. They were so slow!
The food was delicious, but took well over half an hour to arrive.
Coffee in where the darts were was good, but again, the staff were below standard. I'll always give credit where credit is due, but honestly, the service here was terrible.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Trudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

It was disappointing to read that your experience with our service was not up to standard in this instance. The Perth Darts Masters were an extremely busy and exciting time for the Hotel and for Fremantle. We had extra staff on hand during this week long event so I’m unsure as to why you were made to wait other than there was probably increased demand on the kitchen at the time that you ordered. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention, I will discuss them with the outlet managers so that we can ensure our service is top notch for the 2015 Perth Darts Masters.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Service was good. The hot breakfast included an omelette station. You will be spoilt for choice when it comes to restaurants. A short walk across the park in front of the hotel will take you to a range of seafood restaurants including a steak place. A short walk down the street on either side of the hotel away from the park will also take you to many restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LinusNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel; I’m glad to read that you enjoyed our RISE buffet breakfast and that the service was good. I hope you also tried our in-house restaurant, The Harbour Master, with tapas, WA grill menu and fresh local seafood.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Room was a good size along with the bathroom. We also had a balcony. Best feature for us was the bed, we were both a little sick and having a good nights sleep was a blessing. Hotel easy to locate in a great position. Staff were fantastic. Valet parking is the best option and was reasonable in price. Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of options and hot. Best part you can order a freshly cooked omelette to your liking. Hotel in easy walking distance to all the restaurants and shops. Park is also across the road. The hotel was busy however everyone was happy it wasn't chaotic like some other hotels.

Room Tip: Sign up to privileges program for a slightly cheaper price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drewkez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Sorry to hear that you were a little under the weather during your stay, however I’m glad that we could make you as comfortable as possible. It sounds like you still managed to experience all the hotel and Fremantle has to offer, in particular the delicious RISE buffet breakfast and the beautiful park across the road. I hope to welcome you to Fremantle again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recently stayed here for two night, was a located in an awesome place, you could walk to heaps of great locations, good foo and coffee were everywhere, less than a five minute walk to the Fremantle Markets, and a hop skip and jump to the water, great place to stay :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itisallaboutservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplande_Fremantle_, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Thanks for your review. The Hotel is in an ideal location, in the heart of Fremantle. It certainly sounds like you took advantage to walk around and see everything the city has to offer including the very famous Fremantle Markets, Fishing Boat Harbour and Bathers Beach all within 5 minutes walk of the Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.1 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.4 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Hotel
Norfolk Hotel
#8 of 8 in Fremantle
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges

Address: Cnr Marine Terrace & Essex Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range: £78 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive in the sweeping driveway of the Esplanade Hotel Fremantle you will feel the relaxation of being out of the hustle of a major CBD with the comfort of staying at a Rydges 4 1/2 star hotel. Holiday makers and business travellers alike will enjoy the comfortable accommodation with a variety of different styles to select from to meet your requirements. With balconies overlooking popular parklands, beautiful Fremantle or the resort pool, be pampered by selecting the two person spa as a special treat! During your stay you have full use of the resort-style leisure facilities. Take a dip in one of our two outdoor, heated swimming pools surrounded by tropical gardens, relax in one of three outdoor spas, there's also a sauna and fitness centre for your convenience. You'll be spoilt with two restaurants - the Atrium Garden Restaurant buffet and The Harbour Master featuring tapas, grill and local seafood - and two bars including Marine Lounge Bar and the Ball & Chain with craft beer on tap and great pub grub. The Esplanade Hotel - by Rydges is ideally located in the heart of cosmopolitan Fremantle within walking distance to famous markets, museums, art galleries, Fishing Boat Harbour, beaches, unique shops, nightlife, restaurants and bars. Awards: 2015 Management Team Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards 2015 & 2014 Excellence in Hospitality - Fremantle Business Awards 2014 Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel Award - Australian Hotels Association WA Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing