We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbrook
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just checked in. The girl at reception was lovely. The room is beautiful but we got "upgraded" from a single room to a 2 bedroom. But we must be in the only room in the hotel with no view whatsoever. We are looking straight into another building :( We are here for 3 nights so hopefully we can get past that.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Jaime W,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us via Trip Advisor. Although we did try an identify you as a guest the anonymous nature of Trip Advisor made it impossible to locate you with any certainty, we did however respond to your query with an offer of a different view however never received a response from you. Thank you though for your feedback especially the high praise for our reception team and trust that you enjoyed the rest of your stay


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    153
    41
    10
    10
See reviews for
112
168
6
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The location is beautiful and quiet. The view from my apartment was stunning and it was nice to walk along the river in the morning.

The location was lovely, a nice quiet suburb with pretty houses and tree-lined streets, however it was a good 20 minutes walk away from the nearest train station/cafe/shops. Add to this the fact that one of the two times I ordered a taxi it didn't arrive after 20 minutes. Although the hotel can't be blamed for this it should be a consideration for those who are traveling without a car. If you do have a car, though, there was plenty of parking.

I liked the small, homely feel of this place. The staff were lovely, efficient and helpful. The room was well-appointed and the mini-bar well stocked and quite reasonably priced (for mini-bar, that is). The bed was comfortable and I slept both nights straight through. I took the key for the gym/spa with the best intentions but never actually used the facilities but from what I saw they looked good.

Ok let's get to my gripe and it's such a big one that it has cost this review one star. Wifi was extortionate. I didn't pay for it out of my own pocket traveling for business and all but I still saw the cost for the three days wifi ($45ish). Plus it's the principle, wifi/internet should be free, or at the very least cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashreign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Ashreign,

Greetings from team and a sincere thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay. As someone that travels so frequently you no doubt have some great experience to base your feedback and I was delighted to read that you thought so highly of most aspects of your stay. Additionally I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding the price of the hotels internet service and agree that most guests would like to minimise these extra charges, with this is mind we have recently made the decision to include complimentary internet access with most of our rates and packages and would encourage readers to check the hotels website for a range of high value options. To assist guests that have chosen a room only rate or perhaps already have a reservation we are delighted to provide several cost effective options including a completely free service in the hotel lobby. Although on this occasion you left us with slightly mixed feelings I hope that the next time you stay we are able to ensure that you leave with only find memories and look forward to welcoming you back then.


Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed in the 2 bedroom as we have kids.
Walking in gave us mixed feelings. Although the room is absolutely beautiful, it is EXTREMLY small and not suited at all for families. The TV in the kids room did help a little as the kids had to watch tv in another room as lounge area was too small ( the couch is literally 1.3m from the TV screen)
They have done amazing things with the small amount of room that's given.
Was very impressed with the Audio/Visual Multi System provided. Never seen that in any Hotel in Perth... Well Done for that Pier 21
Could not fault the Breakfast. Absolutely wonderful and the Chef was always so happy, friendly and ready for a chat. Made our morning :-)
Would definitely recommended Pier 21 and we would go back.... Without the Kids

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Lisa J,

Thank you so much for your valuable recommendation and taking the time to share your recent experience. I was delighted to read that you thought your room was beautiful even though you found it a little small. It is difficult to know exactly which room you stayed in but could perhaps recommend one of our ground floor apartments for future stays, they are a little larger and offer direct access to either the pool or riverbank . Thank you also for your kind feedback regarding Darryl our Breakfast Chef, he was really thrilled to learn of your comments and looks forward to the next time he can welcome you back.

Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here on a 3 night stopover and wished it could have been longer. We had a one bedroom Suite which was huge. It had superb modern furniture, a 50 inch flat screen TV in the main lounge and a 40 inch flat screen in the bedroom. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom also acts as an en-suite. Shower is good.

We also had a balcony with some decent outside furniture.

The breakfast was great and the Chef cooked our breakfast to order, and the waitress brought it to our room for us.

The fridge is well stocked with Drinks and meals (which you pay for over and above) so should you arrive late you will not starve. All the staff are courteous and helpful, and I would not hesitate to recommend Pier 21.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear yorkshirebhoy,

Greetings from the team and thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience. With an impressive 24 hotel reviews to your name you no doubt have a wealth of experience to guide your feedback and I was delighted to read that you thought so highly of our staff and hotel in general. Although it appears that you live some distance away I hope that future travel will once again see you return to Fremantle and look forward to welcoming you back then.




Best regards,


Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Staying here for a week while working in Fremantle and love the place. Nice and close to the river (about 2 metres from my balcony). Beautifully appointed bathrooms and clean, modern and spacious living areas. The staff are friendly and helpful too. I will definitely be back for a holiday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Angela R,

Its not often we receive reviews from our corporate guests and I thank you for taking the time to write one. Quite often business travellers have slightly different requirements to other guests and I was delighted to read that Pier 21 and the team in general were so able to impress. No doubt the title of your review is high praise indeed and I feel honoured that you feel it warranted do describe your recent stay. As you mention in your last point I do hope that holidays will see you return to Fremantle shortly and look forward to welcoming you back then.



Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I've stayed here 10 years ago and remember that the facilities were somewhat oldish. Returning this week to a 2 bedroom apartment, we find that the unit has been renovated and is modern, comfortable, and well equipped. Addition of a gym in the squash court was very welcome, but the indoor pool and jacuzzi looked the same. Only comment was with the one aircon in the living room, the 2 bedrooms might be warm in summer? Highly recommended, but only if you have your own transport arranged.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear U C,

Greeting from the team and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Pier 21. As you kindly point out there have been a lot of changes at the hotel since your last stay and I was delighted to read of your enthusiasm for our new product. Although the indoor pool and spa have had minor upgrades this area continues to be a priority for us and I hope that on your next visit we will be able to present fresh and modern facility for your enjoyment. Thank you again U C and I wish you safe future travels until we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.



Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice over a week, on our first one night stay the room while well appointed was a bit small but comfortable, however on our second two night visit we were given a ground floor unit which was larger had a great view and was very comfortable .
The staff were very helpful giving advice on where to dine and what to see and do.
Lots of great cafés and restaurants all within a 5-10 min drive away the only downside being there are no shops or restaurants within walking distance
Would definatley come back to stay again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Glentc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim N, General Manager at Pier 21 Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
DearGlentc,

It’s always wonderful to receive such a positive review especially when written by an experienced traveller such as yourself. With 27 hotel reviews to your credit I believe it certainly puts you in a knowledgeable position to provide feedback and was delighted to learn that you thought highly of the team and found our rooms well-appointed and comfortable. As you also noted there are many great café’s and eateries within a short distance of the hotel and you will be pleased to learn of the fabulous new restaurant “Habitué” which recently opened just a short stroll from the property. Thankyou again for your positive feedback and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back when you next return to Fremantle.



Best regards,



Tim Newson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
198 reviews
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
10 reviews
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
#10 of 64 in Perth
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 21 Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 21 Apartment Hotel

Property: Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Address: 7-9 John St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6159, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier 21 Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the banks of the Swan River, the award winning Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in North Fremantle enjoys unrivaled views of both the river and adjacent marina. Comprising 47 premium apartments and luxurious Suites, every detail of our accommodation has been carefully designed to ensure you’re travelling pleasure. With every room completely refurbished in 2012, Pier 21 offers an unequaled mix of luxury and technology, whether it’s streaming movies to your 40 inch LCD television or enjoying the chic Biology amenities you will quickly discover that Pier 21 Apartment Hotel in Fremantle has left nothing to chance. With stunning rooms and vistas along with warm attentive service Pier 21 sets the standard for luxury apartment accommodation in Fremantle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pier 21 Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 21 Apartment Fremantle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing