We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Terrace Central B&B Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Fremantle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay here. Easy check in , nice clean room , easy parking and friendly staff. We ended up getting 12 hours delayed out of Perth and Christina was nice enough to let her use their freezer until we were going to the airport - that was a huge help! It is more like a hotel without the front desk but if you don't need someone to hold your hand all the time this is a great place. Breakfast is continental and self service which was fine for us. Nothing beats the location!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry W, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you when next in Fremantle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    40
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
20
62
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I chose this hotel for its location and free wifi. The location IS excellent - across the road from the hospital, and only a few minutes walk from Fishing Boart Harbour, the town centre and main Fremantle attractions. However, I found the wifi slow and unreliable so if you really need to keep in touch, I recommend you stay elsewhere or make your own arrangements. The hotel does maintain two PCs for guests but they are very slow.

Additionally, if you think you might need any help ranging from directions to an extra pillow, stay somewhere else - as they advertise, there is no one to assist once you have checked in. This is not luxury corporate accommodation, it is more like an outback family owned B&B in the city. The supplies are bulk purchased and decanted into containers for guest use - when I saw coffee grains in my room's sugar bowl I bought my own supplies and facing "butter" in the large jam jar on the first day I also ate breakfast elsewhere.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot with good water pressure, but overall I am glad I did not pay full price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesjac512, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am responding as I feel the comments do not match my advertised product. You booked my budget room but refer to Luxury corporate accommodation, I have Luxury Suites however you booked budget, there is a price difference.
Wifi is free, not charged for like most hotels, we provide two computers with printers in the guest area, they are normal speed desk top computers, most of my queen ensuite rooms have a free note book computer.
Regarding help, check-in and breakfast staff are happy to assist guests, we do not have 24 hour reception [as stated in all advertising]. every room has four pillows on the bed and two pillows in the closet or chest of drawers, did you need more than six pillows?
We advertise and supply buffet continental breakfast consisting of 5 types of serial, 4 types of bread, crumpets and muffins, yogurt, dried fruit, stewed fruit, jam marmalade vegemite peanut butter nutella, 6 types of tea, brewed and instant coffee. Sure we buy in containers then decant to serving containers. As it is buffet we have no control of a guest using a spoon with butter on it in the jam container however all containers are cleaned and refilled daily.
Thank you for the positive comments about the bed and shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in April and recommend Terrace Central as a great base to explore Fremantle. We had a comfortable room with a good bed, clean bathroom (not big) and free wi fi. The location is excellent, close to the shopping district and lots of cafes, restaurants and great bars. It's about a 10 minute walk to the waterfront and is very close to the markets and the prison. The free CAT bus stops right outside the hotel. The breakfast is basic but very good with toast, cereals and fruit. It was quiet at night considering the location and there was free parking on site. We would stay here again if we return to Fremantle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stimmo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesjac512, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Than you for reviewing Terrace Central, we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Booked a room for early October 2013 (I know. Kind of a late review) Entered the main reception to be greeted by (I assume) the owner. Promptly booked us into our room after which another employee (Night manageress from memory) offered to help carry our bags to our room. The room was clean, and welcoming. And the breakfast, while basic i.e. breakfast cereals, tea, coffee etc, was always clean, and full. On checking out again pleasantly fair-welled by the same gentleman who booked us in. Thanks again for a great stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesjac512, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing Terrace Central we always appreciate feed back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
252 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is quite an old building, obviously adapted for modern standards, like ensuite bathrooms taking floor space and making the rooms seem small. But the room and bathroom were very clean and in good condition. I had a room at the back of the building which had a window onto the corridor but not directly outside. The A/C was very necessary. Continentlal breakfast is included and is self-service in the adjoining building. Car parking is available, partially undercover. The hotel is on a main street and it is only 5mins walk to the markets and a good selection of restaurants. Walk to the Esplanade Park and waterfront is probably 10-15 mins. The hotel is also on the route of the Blue CAT bus which is FREE! Getting around was easy and my car stayed parked during my stay. My only comment would be that they want an exact arrival time when you book. When you are a stranger to the area and you don't know how long it will take to drive from another town to Fremantle, I arrived an hour early and found reception closed. She didn't seem very pleased and said reception was usually only open when guests were expected. Apart from that she ws quite pleasant. My room had fridge and microwave. Wifi is also free.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have verandahs, but face the main street and the hospital. Rooms at back are sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry W, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for the great review of my property it is so good for perspective guests to get first hand information. However I must point out that the room you selected and booked is advertised as having a window into the enclosed corridor and having a small en-suite bathroom, this is reflected in the lower price.
I did contact this guest offering an upgrade before her arrival. Regarding reception and arrival, my staff were only concerned that a guest may be left waiting outside, as we only staff reception for pre-arranged arrival time. We choose this method to keep the price down, to have 24 hour reception would add $20 per night to all rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my partner. I was very late organising a booking but managed to get a room on very short notice we paid $198 for the night which I thought was very reasonable other hotels in the area flat screen Tv, great air conditioner !!clean modern ensuite plenty of hot water also included free wifi and continental breakfast the location is awesome very close to all restaurants etc and only 2 doors down from a bottle shop I really liked the space and the relaxed self service would definitely come again !! Thankyou

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank belladonna353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry W, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review, we are happy that your stay was pleasant and value your remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This place has a lot of charm, so as the staff.
I stayed for a couple of nights over Christmas. If I ever come back to beautiful Fremantle I'll be staying here again.
Great value for a fair price.....

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry W, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you very much, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.3 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.6 mi away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Central B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Central B&B Hotel

Property: Terrace Central B&B Hotel
Address: 79-85 South Tce, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Terrace Central B&B Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small B&B Hotel in the city centre of Fremantle, close to the Markets, , Ferry to Rottnest Island. and all tourist attractions. All rooms have ensuite bathroom, aircon, TV & DVD, Fridge/tea/coffee, Free wireless broadband internet, Free parking[subject to availability], Continental breakfast included [7.30 to 9.30 am in the dining room] . We also have executive Apartments one and two bedroom. Arrival time is needed...check in is by prearranged time only...afterhours we have a locked box facility for key collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terrace Central B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing