We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we stayed an extra night!”

Chez Fleurs Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chez Fleurs Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Altrincham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good we stayed an extra night!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My husband and I and my sister stayed here as our first stop on a four week tour. It was the most expensive place we stayed but we had two bedrooms, a shared bathroom and toilet and a laundry room plus a large verandah. The breakfasts were lovely and when we returned to our rooms every afternoon we found fresh lemon and ice in the fridge for my husband and sister's G & T! Now that's service!

Jan and Paul made us very welcome and Paul booked us on a brilliant boat trip where we saw Hectors Dolphins and Blue Penguins. Akaroa is quite an expensive place to stay but it was a great place to get over our jet lag and ease into our two thousand mile trip! Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Up a hill so need a car if walking is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueM496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My Mom and I stayed at Chez Fleurs recently and were really pleased at the quality of the accomodations, the fresh breakfast and Paul's recommendations for site seeing on the way back to Christchurch were spot on!
Mom accidentally left her address book there and on finding it Jan & Paul emailled us offering to post it all the way back to Canada for her - that's hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had a lovely room with great views. Our hosts could not have been more friendly or helpful. It was almost a relief not to have a cooked breakfast. The continental breakfast supplied was truly excellent. The gardens have to be seen to be believed. The best B & B we have stayed in so far.

Room Tip: Go for the upper room if available as views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halfahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We loved Chez Fleurs in Akaroa. It was our first experience of a NZ B&B and of the typical New Zealand hospitality we encountered all over the country. Even a threatened tsunami and the subsequent closure of all the shoreline shops & restaurants didn't put a dampner on our stay. Paul Wallace is a superb host and a very genial Newzealander. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious and the views over the bay, both from here and the balcony, were superb. The breakfasts were delicious and healthy. Altogether, and excellent experience!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear-Maker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We stayed for two nights in March, Paul is a very good host, offering helpful advice on what to do in Akaroa including fabulous boat trip to see the Hector dolphins, he also produced some excellent breakfasts. The location is good, just a couple on minutes up from the waterfront and five minutes from bars and restaurants. The room was a little small although there was a walk in wardrobe and a full sized fridge, we thought it reasonable to good value for money but eating and accommodation in Akaroa is generally more expensive than in other parts of NZ, possibly due to its isolation and short season, but on a sunny day (which we had) there isn't a more beautiful place to be, not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillGuildfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Chez Fleurs was our first stop on our recent trip to New Zealand and after 26 hours travelling it was an ideal choice. Our room was well kept, immaculately clean and very comfortable and we had an amazing decking area outside to sit and enjoy the sun with a glass of wine or beer. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and were very happy to provide suggestions on where to eat, what to do and even the most scenic route to take onto our next stop!
Breakfast was lovely. We were staying at the same time as a German couple and Paul made sure that breakfast items were made available which each guest enjoyed - a lovely touch.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJBWorcester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed for 2 nights over New Year at Chez Fleurs. It is the perfect place to spend a few days in Akaroa. Very centrally located a couple of minutes walk up the hill from the centre of the village.

Our room had its own private entrance (I think they all do) and balcony where you can sit and enjoy the view. Everything in the room was immaculately clean and well looked after.

Paul and Jen are fantastic hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them.

Breakfast in the morning was fantastic and it was nice to meet the other guests as well.

It's a great place to stay in Akaroa.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Fyrne Brook House
Akaroa Fyrne Brook House
#11 of 24 in Akaroa
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.2 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.0 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Fleurs Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Fleurs Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chez Fleurs Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Smith Street, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing