We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Price, ideal for our requirements”

Bruce Waterfront Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bruce Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #13 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Price, ideal for our requirements”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

A group of 5 of us hired number 22. The price was ideal for our 3 night stay, and it was reasonably well appointed. I think this complex is possibly a timeshare arrangement, as there was a locked cupboard and dresser - and this may explain why we were very comfortable in ours, where other reports may not have been. The underfloor heating is great, the bathroom quite adequate, and the loungeroom huge and comfortable. We slept well on the beds, but the pillows could be better.
Only gripe was that the cleaning could have been better. Not to say the place wasn't clean - it was quite clean enough - just that the rubbish could have been cleared out better and the place given a quick tidy. This wasn't really an issue, just something we noticed.
Overall, we were all very happy, the location is dead centre of the south part of Akaroa, right by the wharf. Had a view from the windows too! Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Number 22 seemed great to us. Not sure about the others given that it may be privately owned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graphiteoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    18
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Apartment was run down and needed updating in some areas. Sky didn't work and the receptionist said she couldn't do anything about it. Got woken early as one of the bedroom blinds didn't work. The furniture and carpet was worn and the bed soft from oldness. There were no pillow protectors. This was not a luxury apartment!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Apartment was tired looking and needed updating in some areas. Fabulous position over looking
The waterfront. No wifi but free at the library. Dis interested receptionist. Dolphin cruise a must.

Room Tip: The library and cinema are 25mtrs across the road and there is free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in apartment 29 - very well appointed with a beautiful wisteria clad little balcony. We really enjoyed staying here and I would definately recommend a visit. The Banks Penninsula is spectatular!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnieb1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We chose Akaroa as our first port of call on a 12 day South Island holiday with another couple. We chose Bruce Apartments having read good reviews and seeking a centrally located 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment met all our expectations and needs - comfortable, central, spacious, clean and "homely". It was ideal. We had a ground floor apartment which was even better as we didn't have to lug our bags up a flight of stairs and our allocated car spot was right outside the front door - too easy! Laundry and kitchen facilities were very good too. And... we walked everywhere.

Room Tip: Ground floor will avoid the struggle of dragging luggage up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed in Bruce Apartment number 26, which was nice because it was at the end of a row and so had a few more (small) windows. There is a LOVELY view from both upstairs and down. The apartment is level 2 and three, so you are never actually on the ground level. Master bedroom had a glorious picture window that I could have sat in all day. Lounge has opening french doors and a table and two chairs overlooking the trees and pier. Lounge/dining was roomy and the kitchen was (mostly) well appointed. My main concerns were: the carpet was aging and a bit grubby. Even with a small sign it was a complete mystery how the place was heated so we had to call the office. There's a thermostat, which we thought activated central heating, but no, it's underfloor! So takes a while to heat up and it's only in the downstairs lounge and upstairs bathroom. The bathroom toilet broke - which they fixed, sort of. We still had to pull a button out every time we flushed. A nuisance and no discount was offered. There was a lack of hooks to hang anything on in the bedrooms and bathroom. The electric blanket on the masterbed was installed to one side, so I was lying on a rock-hard switch under the sheet all night! Kitchen lacked enough tea-spoons and the TV was very old fashioned. All mostly little things, but for $260 per night, you would expect better quality of fittings and supplies.

Room Tip: Room 26 is at the end of the row, so may be quieter with more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tipsfromatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
280 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

A friendly welcome and a modern and well-equipped little appartment with free parking just outside, only five minutes walk from the shops in this delightful little town. Unfortunately it rained while we were in Akaroa, and there was absolutely nothing to do that was not geared to sunny, outdoor weather. But that was not the fault of Bruce Appartments.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#10 of 24 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.0 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Waterfront Apartments

Property: Bruce Waterfront Apartments
Address: Corner Rue Jolie And Church Street, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bruce Waterfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Bruce Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing