We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - not luxury for the price”

Bruce Waterfront Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bruce Waterfront Apartments
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Lovely decor and well equipped kitchen but not worth the extra money you would expect for a luxury unit. Should be marketed same price as other motels in the area as they let themselves down by skimping on the budget toiletries, outdated appliances and a threatening note on the wall about charging an extra $20 if dishes weren't washed and dried.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed with our son in apartment #30 for two nights (we paid $255 per night). The view from the apartment is excellent and we did not really test the customer service too much so cannot comment on that.

I have stayed at these apartments a number of times over the past 10 years and it seems that little has been done to update them in that time. The units are individually owned and I see that some are much nicer than others. There is not too much consistency between them. Our apartment was not well cleaned (there was black gunge on the bottom of the shower door and slimy marks of the bathroom walls, dirty hand marks on the light switches and lots of black scuff marks on the walls) and not well maintained (paint was peeling off the wall in the bedroom, the roof in the bathroom and on the stairs and carpet was threadbare in places).

In terms of condiments we got thin grey towels (which had been white at some stage - a long time ago), two small cakes of soap and three paper packets of 'conditioning shampoo'. This is less than is expected in accommodation described as 'luxury'.

I think the apartments are coasting on the fact of their location and not trying to live up to their marketing by maintaining levels of service, cleanliness and maintenance which justify the term 'luxury' used in their advertising.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms do not have as good a views but they seem to have been recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise01Christchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

A group of 5 of us hired number 22. The price was ideal for our 3 night stay, and it was reasonably well appointed. I think this complex is possibly a timeshare arrangement, as there was a locked cupboard and dresser - and this may explain why we were very comfortable in ours, where other reports may not have been. The underfloor heating is great, the bathroom quite adequate, and the loungeroom huge and comfortable. We slept well on the beds, but the pillows could be better.
Only gripe was that the cleaning could have been better. Not to say the place wasn't clean - it was quite clean enough - just that the rubbish could have been cleared out better and the place given a quick tidy. This wasn't really an issue, just something we noticed.
Overall, we were all very happy, the location is dead centre of the south part of Akaroa, right by the wharf. Had a view from the windows too! Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Number 22 seemed great to us. Not sure about the others given that it may be privately owned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graphiteoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Apartment was run down and needed updating in some areas. Sky didn't work and the receptionist said she couldn't do anything about it. Got woken early as one of the bedroom blinds didn't work. The furniture and carpet was worn and the bed soft from oldness. There were no pillow protectors. This was not a luxury apartment!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Apartment was tired looking and needed updating in some areas. Fabulous position over looking
The waterfront. No wifi but free at the library. Dis interested receptionist. Dolphin cruise a must.

Room Tip: The library and cinema are 25mtrs across the road and there is free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in apartment 29 - very well appointed with a beautiful wisteria clad little balcony. We really enjoyed staying here and I would definately recommend a visit. The Banks Penninsula is spectatular!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnieb1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We chose Akaroa as our first port of call on a 12 day South Island holiday with another couple. We chose Bruce Apartments having read good reviews and seeking a centrally located 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment met all our expectations and needs - comfortable, central, spacious, clean and "homely". It was ideal. We had a ground floor apartment which was even better as we didn't have to lug our bags up a flight of stairs and our allocated car spot was right outside the front door - too easy! Laundry and kitchen facilities were very good too. And... we walked everywhere.

Room Tip: Ground floor will avoid the struggle of dragging luggage up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.1 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.0 mi away
Tresori Motor Lodge
Tresori Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Akaroa
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
French Bay House
French Bay House
#10 of 24 in Akaroa
10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.7 mi away
Akaroa on the Beach
Akaroa on the Beach
#10 of 24 in Akaroa
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce Waterfront Apartments

Address: Corner Rue Jolie And Church Street, Akaroa 8161, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range: £124 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bruce Waterfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bruce Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing