We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic get away at its best”
Review of Tree Crop Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tree Crop Farm
Ranked #10 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
1 review
“Romantic get away at its best”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Well this was a very fitting way to celebrate my GFs 22nd birthday. It began 6 months ago when Emma (new work colleague) wanted to go see some sights of New Zealand (She is Scottish)
We went on Black Cat Cruises (great trip) for a dolphin watching experience.
Our boss then recommended that we must head up to Tree Crop Farm for a coffee..... Yet to know once we arrived for "a coffee" we soon realised that this was no cafe... It soon jumped to our minds that our boss was trying to be funny. I would have to say this was the start of something great. 6 months later and our friendship turned into a bit more (Thanks to Tree Crop Farm and out funny boss)
We just stayed here for the first time. We now have a place we will always head to when we want to get away and enjoy the real things in life... Good chat, no distractions, a fire heated bath, great wine, tasty food and a backdrop that includeds wild flowers, big green trees and a rug that is made of many possums. All this put together with a few cob webs and excentric owner (to say the least) that had one focus and that was to give us a great night away.... And it sure was ;)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jontynz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Unlike anywhere I've ever stayed, this place is in a league of its own and perfect for a romantic night away. The verandah hut we stayed in had a great rustic, shabby chic feel and was so cosy with the open fire, all the candles and an electric blanket. The outside bath under the stars surrounded by candles was amazing have never been so relaxed! Lynne the host was great and very flexible letting you choose when you wanted breakfast which was very tasty and homemade! Little touches such as the wild flowers placed all around and leaving us the Sunday paper just make the experience all the better. Also was very impressed by the doves just added to the magical theme. Would definitively recommend this place, a must see and great to know it's there, we will definitely be back! Thank you Lynne!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinead o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Tree Crop Farm is, quite simply, the most magical place I have ever stayed.

It's more than 3 years now since we spent a few unforgettable days at Tree Crop Farm, but I still regularly think back to re-live the memories. This was where my (now) wife and I got engaged, which obviuosly adds to the significance of the place for us, but I honestly can't think of a more romantic, relaxed and beautiful place to stay.

We stayed in the tree house. As you'll see from the other reviews, this is a stunning place. All rich dark velvets, antique wooden furniture, fur rugs, and eclectic candles. After a day exploring Akaroa, it's a wonderful place to retreat to, lying on the bed looking up through the large skylight to the branches of teh trees above or beyond to teh starlight sky. A roaring wood burner warmed us up each night and created a fantastically cosy atmosphere. The double doors open onto a beautifully private balcony within the branches of the trees and views over the surrounding gardens and the stream running below.

Each morning, after the lie-in that host Lynne positively encourages, we woudl be surrounded by the fresh green landscape and the hissing of the excited ciccadas. Meandering through Tree Crop Farm's garden is an absolute delight. There is nothing in the slightest bit manicured about this garden (if you want that, there are plenty of municipal town parks throughout everycity of the world)... it has a distincly wild feel, full of long grasses, wild flowers, rustic gates, meandering streams, knarled trees, thriving vegetable patches. It is bursting with life and colour.

Set amounst this beautiful hillside garden are the lovely farm buildings - your typical rustic old New Zealand structures. On the terrace here, we had a beautiful fresh breakfast each morning. There would always be jugs scattered around with lovely displays of freshly cut flowers from around the garden. The berry juices we were given would also have pretty flowers in. The main house is full of interesting vintage things to explore - hammocks, old bookcases, gramophones, old picture frames. It's utterly oozing with character and there are dark cosy rooms with old fireplaces and candles.

Each afternoon, our host Lynne would ask whether we would like a wood-fired outdoor bath than night. She would organise this so that it was ready at the time we wanted it. It takes a lot of preparation for her, becuase she has to gather the firewood and burn it for some hours before it is hot. But she did this without us even noticing and without any fuss. When we headed down for our outdoor bath, we found a castiron roll-top bath, with embers glowing underneath and the gentle smell of burning firewood. The water was deliciously hot, and Lynne had lit candles all around. I think there are different baths for each of the huts, and each one is set in a completely different part of teh farm and carefully screened by the surrounding plants so it's completely private. Sitting in the bath, drifting off to sleep, and admiring the milky way through the steam rising from the bath, was pretty special!

There are some stunning walks from the farm up to the rim of the Akaroa crater, from where you will have the most sensational view of the incredible New Zealand landscape. Equally, in the other direction, the waterfront at Akaroa is a delightful little colonial town.

You will feel completely private and secluded at Tree Crop Farm, but never cut off or isolated.

On the morning we left, the weather had turned rather murky and damp. Lynne had organised to get the jacuzzi up and running for us. This is located off a little room in teh old house which has fairy lights, candles, a fireplace, sheepskin rugs and old gramophone players. Lynne had lit the fire, put some crackling old vinyl records on the wind-up gramophone. We had our breakfast on the rugs by the fire, in between dips in the jacuzzi.

I see from one of the only negative reviews previously that the reviewer was concerned that Lynne didn't given them enough privacy or keep the place clean enough. From our experiences i really wouldn't agree with this. This is a farm surrounded by beautiful countryside, so it won't always be as dust-free and dully/sterile as a 5-star hilton - there will be the odd cob-web or candle with dripping wax. But all of this simply adds to the character. As for Lynne, she is absolutely lovely. She was hugely cooperative in helping me with my proposal planning and helping me keep the secret from my fiancee. She was friendly, interesting, helpful, flexible, welcoming and hard working. She really wants her guests to have a wonderful time, and it's impossible not to buy into her ethos of relaxing and enjoying the outside world.

I don't think the official website can possibly capture the true magic of this place. You could spend ten times what you will spend at Tree Crop Farm and you would not have such a memorable and beautiful place to stay.

Without doubt, the most unreserved recommendation. And if you're reading this, thinking about booking to stay there, i am extremely envious.... !

Room Tip: The tree house is set a short distance from the main house over the garden and across a little strea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shrimpywalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

On arriving and meeting Lyn who is by the way a wonderful lady so inviting and friendly with a great sense of humour. We did wonder what we had booked ourselves into, its kind of like a mix between a mad hatters tea party and an bohemian lovers cottage. Flowers, herbs, candles, beautiful quirky things everywhere you looked and an outdoor bath. We were booked into the Veranda Hutt. It took a little while to relax and get used to the enviroment as it is so unique so different with such alot to take in but once you do its the most wonderful, relaxing, fun place to stay I can not recommend this enough. Its a experience not just a night away. Thanks Lyn it was magic.

Room Tip: Bring your own nibbles, drinks, an IPod, soap and shampoo. This is not a hotel its way better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msmolly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

There are many smarter ...more predictable... places to stay in Akaroa but nothing compares with the quirky, unique experience of Tree Crop Farm. Lynnie is more than a caring host. She is a great lady with whom to share a glass of wine or two and set the world to rights. Savvy and interesting... the perfect host. The natural, wild beauty of the grounds are a perfect complement to the bizarre but wonderful accommodation. Bring your best quote along to add to the hundreds that already decorate the walls, cupboards and beams. Very special place... Well done Lynnie.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epicure49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a night in the tree house, and what a wonderful surprise it was! First impressions are great, bursts of colour everywhere from all the wild flowers and a really rustic charm which is impossible not to smile at.
The tree house is perfect for a couple looking to get away from it all, furnished with deep colours and fabrics which set alongside the view from the balcony it truly is a place you do not want to leave. We were expecting to head out for dinner but as soon as we saw the place we decided to cook our own on the BBQ provided on our own little patch under the tree house.
One of the greatest treats you will get to enjoy is the out door bath which on a clear starry night is just a wonderfully liberating experience.
Breakfast is served on the main house balcony, it is a relaxed affair so you can simply wonder down when you can drag yourself out of the luxurious bed. They serve delicious coffee and fresh everything.
Lynne and her son and his wife could not have been more charming.
I couldn't of had a better surprise, we will definitely return when next visiting nz.

Room Tip: The tree house was very romantic and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Caution: this place is not for everybody - for Nature lovers and people who appreciate originality

We had read a lot of different comments on the Tree Crop Farm, and we realized before we went there that this was not a place for "everyone" because it has so much originality to it.

We loved it so much that it has became one of my favourite places in the world.
We rented the only cottage that has its own hot water shower and I am glad we did. As much as I love nature I need my hot shower in the morning.

This place is a TOP choice if you are a nature lover and have an appreciation for eccentric places. The flowers were blooming all-over the amazing garden that Lynnie has cultivated in an orderly "disorder" (if it makes sense). The cottage was extremely quiet and very well decorated with a real sense of colours and materials. The common area (library and breakfast areas) are full of amazing antiques, interesting books and funny proverbs. The whole place is very stylish and could be qualified as "rustic chic" if the term existed. I could have stayed there for a month but we could only stay for two nights. I will absolutely go back.

The red fruit compote made by Lynnie was simply out of this world. Lynnie also kindly offered us some fresh veggies from the garden to complement our Tbone steak cooked on the cottage bbq for New Years Eve. Watching the garden from the cottage while sipping a glass of NZ Merlot and eating fresh potatoes from the cottage terrace was simply the best way to finish 2012.

You can easily walk to Akaroa village from the farm and it will take you a good 20 mn. We did that when we went out for our great dinner at the Bistro.

Also Lynnie kindly gave us a map to do the 4-6 hour loop that goes uphill and which is definitely worth doing if you like hiking. I am sure there are hundreds of other nice walks to do in the area. BTW - salmon and avocado sandwiches at the organic shop in Akaroa are amazing and so is the bread - this is a great option to reward your body once you have reached the top of the hill.

To conclude I will say that I have spent of my best moments of 2012 in this place and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik_from_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
1.7 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Kokopu Estate
Kokopu Estate
#4 of 24 in Akaroa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
1.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Crop Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Crop Farm

Property: Tree Crop Farm
Address: Banks Peninsula | PO Box 9, Akaroa 7542, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing