We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheise”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Onuku Farm Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Onuku Farm Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sheise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Cold damp rooms. More staff here than guests - staff stay to themselves. No welcoming atmosphere dirty kitchens one toilet showers outside cold. So many rules!!! What is wrong with the staff? So depressed and unfriendly. Not a place for to chill out. Next time I sleep in my car

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Snellwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    18
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
36
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I was travelling with 3 other friends, however me and one friend did a detour and as such couldn't get booked into the same hostel as our friends in Akaroa, we agreed to go for Onuku farm as we didn't have another option. And I am SO glad we stayed here!

Firstly the settling is stunning. There are a good handful of amazing walks around the hostel on their land - the one to lookout rock was stunning. And even if you can't be bothered going for a walk, the view from the veranda is pretty lovely!

The accommodation is pretty basic, there's outdoor toilets and showers which i really wasn't too fond of, but that certainly added to the experience!

Aside from the amazing location, the other big bonus is the layout, there's two little kitchens next to each other, a dining room and a lounge with a log fire, which the bedrooms lead off from. This just makes it very easy to meet and socialise with other people. I met some truly amazing people here and whenever I think of my stay here it brings back great memories!

It is a little out of the way, about 10 minutes from Akaroa, but if you've got a car (and you kind of need one to really explore NZ) it's not hassle. They only accept cash, but there's ATMs in Akaroa.

Anyway if you're heading to Akaroa I highly recommend, it's basic but the shoes off policy and the amazing atmosphere make the place feel like home as soon as you get there!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel462014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The location of this hostel alone is a big drawcard - perched high above Akaroa (Onuku is about 6 km south of the small town) and commanding a wonderful view of the bay. But more than that, this is a charming, relaxing place to stay, unlike some of the run-of-the-mill YHA hostels. It is also unique in that you can choose from several types of accommodation: from rooms in the main building, caravan area, and camping grounds (bring your own tent, or stay in one of the cute "stargazer" cabins).

When I arrived there, it had only been open for a month for the 2013-2014 season (it's closed during winter months), so it was still pretty quiet. I stayed in a dorm room and was sharing with only one other guest. But the friendly managers and woofers are usually around, so you won't be too lonely. At night, the fireplace was lit (it was still cold enough) and we just sat around the living room chatting.

There's a lot of activities that can be done around here. A few hiking trails branch off from the hostel, and in peak summer they also offer kayaking or swimming with dolphins. If you're a walking enthusiast, they can book you for an organized 4-day hike around Banks Peninsula.
I might consider it if I had more time, as the area is so beautiful. But I only stayed one night, and I'm now wishing I can go back there sometime soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a night (sadly only one) at the Onuku Farm Stay Hostel, and I would recommend it to anyone! As long as youre prepared for it being a bit out of the way (approx. 10 min drive to Akaora - load up on groceries before hand) you'll have a great time. Several stunning walking and hiking paths start from the doorstep of the hostel, and theres plenty of cozy spots on the property to relax with a good book, or some cold drinks after some hiking.

Room Tip: Make sure to book ahead of time in busy seasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed here two nights, as the hostel was closing down for winter season i had the whole bunk room for myself, with ensuite bathroom! This place is soooo lovely, located in nature, peaceful and quiet. Fireplaces and cute kitchen blocks, even hot water bottles to keep you warm. Very clean. The staff is so nice, not like a hostel, but as you are staying with a family. Best ending to my trip in NZ!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22ahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

After several cold nights in a tent, we decided we wanted a bed for once. We only stayed at the farm for one night, but it was great. The hostel itself is so neat! There are three kitchens, one of them is outside. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We stay in what they called the "Tonga Hut", it was about a 2 min walk from the main facilities, but there were showers and toilets nearer by in the campervan sites. We had a nice quiet stay, in a very comfortable bed, and with a great view of the water! The road up to the hostel is quiet steep so make sure you're in low gear! It's a great place to stay on a budget and close enough to Akaroa as well! The showers were great (hot!).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryrosejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Nice backpacker to stay if you like something different than others hostels you can try.Simple ,a bit wild , welcome to a wonderful place you could like to experience for cheap price, camping or a bed in a hut or in the house ,choose what sort of thing you want .For me the week-end at this place wasn't long enough .Would like to go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanoo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
2.5 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bon Accord
Bon Accord
#20 of 23 in Akaroa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
3.5 mi away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
3.6 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
2.5 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onuku Farm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onuku Farm Hostel

Property: Onuku Farm Hostel
Address: 89 Hamilton's Rd, Akaroa 7452, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open Oct-May: Cozy farm hostel with amazing coastal views & rustic original kiwi facilities: Stargazers, Farmhouse, girls only dorm, camping, vans, huts. Enjoy it all: sunrise to sunset & the most amazing stars in the sky at night plus No sandflies :) Hiking, mussel picking, BBQ. Guided dolphin swims & kayak trips directly from the farm. Internet & WiFi. Just 6 km from Akaroa. Free pick up @ 12.30 from Akaroa. Cash only! Phone for monthly specials. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing