We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We rearranged our schedule to stay here, and are glad we did!”
Review of The Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gables
Ranked #19 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Beijing
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We rearranged our schedule to stay here, and are glad we did!”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We had planned to visit Akaroa on a weekend but found that The Gables had no room the day we wanted to go, so we changed our plans to come a bit earlier than planned so we could stay here. We were not disappointed! The welcome we received was like being welcomed by old friends, with all the stops pulled to make sure we were comfortable. The sole guest room is very comfortable, with a plush bed that I slept very soundly in, and the lounge is full of books for guests to peruse. And what a great puppy they have!

We chose to eat dinner at the inn, since their cuisine came highly rated, and we enjoyed the meal immensely, especially since Lyn and Chris joined us for the main course so that we could chat with them and get to them a bit better. The same prevailed over breakfast, which was among the best we had in our time in NZ--homemade preserves with our toast, a lovely frittata and homemade granola. What could be better?

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
western colorado
Level Contributor
263 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This B&B has our highest possible recommendation. The hosts, both chefs, are very good at what they do, the farm is beautiful and comfortable. The en suite bedroom is lovely and guests have a large sitting room with a fireplace all to themselves as well as several porches, and a huge acreage with many outdoor rooms for sitting. Quality, professionalism, pampering, and aesthetic appeal are the most obvious things about The Gables, but there is so much else. We love the hosts, the setting, gardens, animals and pond. It is, simply, the measure we use to compare everything else to. There is no other place in the world we've been which measures up.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gentinasybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We have stayed at the Gables a number of times over the past ten years. It is located in the Banks, Peninsula, a spectacularly beautiful part of the South Island. Lin and Chris are charming and attentive hosts. Their meals are exceptional and unique, with almost all the food grown on the premises. The guest room is somewhat small, but very tastefully appointed. We always make a stay at the Gables a part of our itinerary when we are in the Christchurch area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug41099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2009

I found this B & B while looking for places to stay on the South Island. This Bed and Breakfast is tucked away across the bay from Akaroa. The ambiance of the house, the beautifully kept flower gardens, the organic vegetable garden and wonderfully landscaped grounds immediately won me over. The views of the bay and surrounding countryside are spectacular. The hosts, Lyn and Chris, are extremely accommodating to all your needs. There is one beautifully appointed guest room, so prepare to be pampered as you will be the only guests. Both hosts are chefs by trade and provide a delicious breakfast, as well as the opportunity to have dinner cooked for you for a fee. They have a menagerie of animals to enjoy during your stay which adds immensely to the experience.The area around Akaroa has plenty of things to do and experience. You can see little blue penguins and the smallest and rarest dolphins in the world, as well as, New Zealand fur seals. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast for a memorable kiwi experience.....

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sesdjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We just loved The Gables a delightful old country cottage set amongst a charming woodland and old -worldie garden. Lyn and Chris are warm and generous hosts with a passion for food and service. We had wonderful leisurely breakfasts and long interesting conversations about their home, garden and travels. Nothing was a bother and we felt relaxed and welcome to wander their beautiful garden and take advantage of the many 'sitting about places'. The views accross the harbour are stunning. Would definetly recommend The Gables and would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JossAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
2.9 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
91 reviews
3.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
215 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
63 reviews
3.1 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
3.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Property: The Gables
Address: Warnerville Road | Wainui RD2, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing