We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Little Bistro

The Little Bistro
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Akaroa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$27
Cuisines: French, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: "...a bistro is a small restaurant serving hearty meals and wine in an unpretentious setting..." European inspired, locally sourced food cooked and served with love, plus a winelist to die for....
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had an early dinner at the Little Bistro on Saturday evening (23 August). The food was superb. My Bluff oysters were sublime as was the main course - which we both had - of Akaroa Salmon. My wife finished with the Creme Brulee which she said now sets the standard! A lovely meal, excellent service and a great recommendation for the wine. No guesses where we'll be dining next time we are in Akaroa!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    147
    51
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna Region, Austria
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We loved it, the food was amazing. I've been raving about it ever since. It only has about 10 tables so you may need to book!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So fortunate to find this gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Busy even in the Winter and understandably as this truly is a find. Stunning menu with loads of regional produce and the BEST seafood chowder imaginable. Fabulous wine list and professional service topped off the experience in this cosy bistro. Advice for Summer is to book 3 weeks in advance - don't miss out on this special place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 253GinaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our family had dinner int his little bistro and the food was excellent. Maybe the most expensive of our trip here but the food was worth the price. The seafood chowder and risotto was just excellent. My 6 year old took my risotto and also finished up her chowder leaving me with pastry for supper at the hotel later...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Resortfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful little bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Myself and my boyfriend dined at the little bistro last night and had a great time.
We are both restaurant professionals and know when to appreciate an excellent bistro when we see one, this place is definitely the place to dine in Akaroa.
The food quality was awesome, the wine list matched the dishes beautifully, and the service was friendly and warm, like a bustling bistro should be.

Thanks for making our rainy day in Akaroa well worth the trip, we will be returning!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charliescott88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Little Bistro also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Little Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing