We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great thrill ride! ”

Akaroa Jet adventures
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great thrill ride! ”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The guy who runs this obviously enjoys his work. We roared around to a few different landmarks around Akaroa harbour and his commentary was interesting and at times humorous. Although he has probably done it a thousand times or more, it doesn't comes across as the regurgitated drawl we've had with some other operators. He is a really down to earth character. The whole trip went for about 50 mins and we did a number of 360 degree spins which is a whole lot of fun, so hang on! He gives plenty of warning though which is great. The operator will give you a spray jacket (and life jacket of course) but you might still get a little bit wet on your legs, not too bad though. Excellent fun, so glad we didn't do these trips in Queenstown at twice the price for half as long.

Helpful?
1 Thank 73Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lots of fun plus sightseeing ”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I had a great time on this trip. I wanted to do a jet boat ride in Queenstown but it was so expensive so we waited until we got to Akaroa as it was half the cost and 20mins longer. The skipper was very friendly and funny, and didn't sound like he'd said the same thing a million times even though he probably had. He was very enthusiastic for someone in the tourist industry. We spent 45min on the boat with stops where he told us some history about the area. The scenery was very beautiful and we got to go in a sea cave with the boat as the tide was low. After some sightseeing he did some wild loops with the boat, which was heaps of fun and exciting. You will get a bit wet from the spray but they give you a spray jacket, life jacket and a bag for your camera. You can easily take some great photos on the trip as he does stop from time to time. If you have physical issues you might find it a bit violent and hard to get in and out of the boat. One elderly guy had trouble getting out of the boat but the skipper was very helpful in that area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ride of your life - hold on!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

If you want Akaroa to take your breath away by its spectacular seaside scenery then get up close to it on this ride - the fast, fun-filled adventure will have you holding on to the grab rail as it skittles over the waves, flicking the salt spray over you as the skipper does 360 degree spins in to the inlets around the harbour. His witty commentary and expert local knowledge and experience puts you at ease. Small groups, 2 sailings a day, lifejackets and spray jackets provided. Would recommend to anyone considering hiring kayaks or jetskiis, to take this tour first! He will show you all the places worth revisiting on your own if you still chose to. Their shop on the Beachfront has cool stylish giftware and the Gelato stand out the front is worth tasting too. Actually the fish and chips were very good a couple of shops along, the fish was very fresh and service was quick considering how busy it was! A Mr Whippy Icecream on the pier and a stroll to the end of the jetty to soak in the quaint French / Kiwi seaside "seascape", its definitely worth walking the uphill street to the Shop Fire and Ice, and you will be able to admire the French inspired architecture of the early buildings along the way and find the store will attract you in every direction you look. The scenic drive an hour from Christchurch makes Akaroa a great day trip option as well as weekend retreat or a week long holiday.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamajama2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rough but great”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We got off a cruise ship and booked this ride on the dock. They also have a shop in the street overlooking the water. We had a great trip out and the driver took us out to see a few of the local landmarks while roaring along and doing 360's. It was quite rough as the winds had increased considerably from the time we booked so we were taken to a calmer area so as not to get too knocked around. Super friendly people and we had a ball! Cost was $70/person and we had about an hours ride.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaykay5049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beautiful Harpers Ferry WV
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“should have gone!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My wife and 11-year-old took this ride and said they really liked it. 4 1/2 stars. I was too afraid that I would get seasick, so declined. But my wife -- who also sometimes gets seasick -- said it was no problem at all.

They said there were a number of very scenic "stops", and then some fun loop-de-loops at the very end -- so something for everyone.

The trip was only about 45 minutes, but at US$42/person was a decent value. If it were a little longer and a little cheaper, it'd get 5 stars.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpunkyDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akaroa Jet adventures also viewed

Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Jet adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing