We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation, fantastic views”
Review of Akaroa House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Akaroa House
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation, fantastic views”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A wonderful place to stay for special family gatherings. The house exudes a warm, relaxed, family home atmosphere. The views from the rooms are stunning. We were able to walk down to the restaurants in the evening, so convenient to everything, no need to drive. Definitely a holiday we will remember for ever!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
So pleased your birthday weekend went well. Akaroa House is great for special family gatherings. Happy Summer :) - the garden is shooting away - even roses wanting to flower already. Kind Regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
7
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Our stay at Akaroa House was one of the most fantastic experiences we have had for a long time. The house was just beautiful and so close to everything. All the bedrooms are beautifully designed and the kitchen was superb to cater for both our families. The scenery from the back porch, you wouldn't get better anywhere else in New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you Aaron for your lovely review. Akaroa House is a fabulous place to share special times with family and friends. So pleased you had a great time. Whatever the season/weather the house seems to provide a lovely break away. All the very best Alison : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This place is fabulous if you are staying with a group. There are ample rooms with bedding for couples (I think this may have changed since earlier reviews) and several bathrooms. The outlook from all rooms is lovely and the house commands a beautiful view over Akaroa and surrounds.

The house itself is also beautiful as well as functional with a large well-appointed kitchen and dining and a great lounge room with fireplace.

What sets this place apart is the added extras and personal touches. We were staying for a birthday and there was a nice hamper with wine, crackers, juice and chocolate and a personal note awaiting us. There is also free wifi and local calls and Sky TV. The laundry facilities are also good and the kitchen is well-stocked with basics so you don't need to buy things like oil, salt etc if you want to self-cater. The price is also good value if you are travelling as a group.

A short walk from town, this place made our stay in beautiful Akaroa.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Empyrerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you so much for the great review and so pleased the birthday gathering went well. A lovely idea to get the family together, and Akaroa is such a divine spot for special occasions. To clarify - with advance notice we can accommodate up to four king beds (by merging a couple of singles in the twin room and triple room upstairs). then the fifth room is a small twin always :) All the best in the north island. Kind Regards, and thank you for choosing Akaroa House - Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I loved Akaroa and I think a large part of that was to do with this house. I stayed with my mother and sister for 3 nights which was a bit extravagant considering the size of the house but sometimes you need to have a bit of extravagance. I can imagine for groups and family gatherings Akaroa house would be perfect. The house is furnished beautifully with everything you could need. Loved loved loved the French tub. Waking up to the view of Akaroa harbour was so beautiful.
The open plan kitchen/dining/living was so lovely for cooking/eating/relaxing. There was a beautiful big table to share your meals at, beautiful bay windows and such a pretty garden.
We visited in what was a quiet time for Akaroa so having a great base to come back to was great. It was also freezing and when we arrived the fire was going. There are reverse cycle air con/heaters in all rooms, and underfloor heating in the bathrooms (yum). There's also wifi and foxtel, a selection of DVDs and magazines. All sorts of condiments in the kitchen and Alison left us a lovely bottle of wine. The view is stunning and it's only a short walk to town.
At 5am one night there was an aftershock which was quite surreal. When we got up Alison had kindly left us a note advising what to do and that this was a frequent occurrence. They were such gracious hosts- there but not intrusive at all. Really lovely. It shows in the house too- it's got such a great feel, full of warmth and love.
I keep using the words lovely and beautiful to describe Akaroa House as that's what it was. Id love to return and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneEyedBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
It was lovely to meet the three of you and such a great idea having time with your Mum and sister. You did get a cold snap - when we'd had quite a mild winter! but the new log burner has been a terrific addition to snuggle by when that happens. Touch wood the aftershocks are quite rare now - you seemed to get one of the rattler ones! but being a wooden property totally modernised in 2004 Akaroa House takes it all in her stride. Thank you for choosing us and the house does prove more economic for larger groups - up to 11 - five bedrooms, four bathrooms. Happy travelling and hope to see you back with the family sometime :) Kind Regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My husband and I got married in Akaroa a couple of weeks ago and booked this house for 4 nights so that 8 of our guests could stay in town near us. Alison was extremely helpful with the planning and all emails/questions/requests I had. Each room is lovely and the views are fantastic. Everyone who stayed there only had great things to say - from eating breakfast on the patio in the AM, BBQ-ing in the evening and dancing around the dining room at night :)
Alison - thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Jessica - it was so lovely to be part of your wedding visit to Akaroa, and pleased the accommodation suited your guests so well - the house is perfect for smaller special gatherings. Intimate weddings with those nearest and dearest are a lovely idea. Thank you for choosing Akaroa House, and hope to accommodate you again - perhaps for an anniversary! :) All the very best for your future together. Kind Regards Alison :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We were a group of five sharing this gorgeous residence for 2 nights. Very comfortable bedrooms with plenty of bathrooms. A gorgeous winow seat for reading and the view of the pretty town and environs is just heaven. The kitchen had nothing missing and we cooked a shoulder of scrumptious New Zealand lamb for a memorable last meal. Thank you Alison for all your help and advice. One tip is to drive to the top of the hill behind for a wonderful view at sunset.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Hi - Thanks so much for taking the time to review, and nice to meet you all. That window seat is a favourite spot!! So pleased you could make the time to come to Akaroa - it is such a beautiful spot and handy to Christchurch for travelling to airport. All the best - Alison : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Our team had our annual planning meeting at Akaroa House. The venue was ideal with plenty of room inside and out. Everything from service, cleanliness and the rooms are A+++. Breakfast was supplied and Alison had cooked up some beautiful apples from the garden. Alison is the perfect hostess from beginning to end. Every room is renovated to the highest standard. You won't be disappointed when you stay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkaroaHouse, Owner at Akaroa House, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Hi Mel - so pleased Akaroa House worked well for you work's planning session. It is such a lovely relaxing spot for small meetings - up to about 12 good. All the very best for the year :) Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.3 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blythcliffe
Blythcliffe
#5 of 24 in Akaroa
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa House

Property: Akaroa House
Address: 13 Aylmers Valley Road | PO Box 205, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to Akaroa House. Stunning sea views and sun aspect from every room. Set in peaceful landscaped grounds and easy stroll into the village. Offering peaceful Bed and Breakfast in two spacious well appointed rooms. The downstairs Garden room with views to the sea too offers a French Tub en-suite. Or the upstairs bedrooms for two to four adult guests - share the private family bathroom. Both rooms offer private tea and coffee making facilities and own television. Guests can enjoy the inside living area or relax in the grounds or on the verandah - soaking in the restful view. A beautiful heritage property fully restored in 2004 offering up to three guest bedrooms for a maximum of six adult guests. A peaceful retreat in a great location in Akaroa village. Akaroa is best savoured - as many activities to enjoy at a slow Akaroa pace! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing