We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden quiet spot 5 mins from town with outstanding views!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akaroa on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akaroa on the Beach
Ranked #11 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Sydney
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden quiet spot 5 mins from town with outstanding views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Amazing. We staying in the middle suite with the large deck. Walked in and were amazed by the view. Stunning. It's quiet, private and well set up. Everything you could need is provided. If you don't mind a 5-8 min walk into town this is bliss. Not great with kids as stairs up to rooms and no lifts but that's the only loss thing I could fault it on! Will be back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brannigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Booking our trip to New Zealand for 2 weeks over Easter I always wanted to spend some time in Akaroa having visited it a few years ago when travelling on a regular basis to Christchurch for work. Looking around for accommodation in Akaroa I first thought a B&B would suit us but given some of the pricing it left a lot to be desired for what you got in return....until I came across this little gem !!

We decided to book the Penthouse Studio as we wanted a private area (and have no children) to put the feet up for a few days. The pictures on the website do not do this place justice as to how beautiful the place is !! Booking over the web was very easy and payment in full is required before you get full details on how to access the property.

There is off street parking only although you can park up at the rear of the premises and access is quite easy. The Penthouse Studio is definately designed for couples in mind and is very accommodating with everything you need in an apartment. The view from the balcony is nothing short of sensational and is very quite and relaxing.....enough to make you have an afternoon snooze on the chaise / day bed !!

The first night we had the place to ourselves although the following night we had people below in the Seaview Apartment but this did not bother us even though the noise may drift up at times. The only thing I missed was having a bbq on our deck and was envious of the smells coming from the bbq on the deck at the Seaview Apartment....maybe a suggestion for improving future stays is a small bbq for the Penthoue Studio as well ?

It's a short walk into town and some fantastic places to eat and drink. We made friends at the local pub and this gave us more reason to want to come back for a longer stay. Try a sunset drink at Truby's on the Bay....sensational atmosphere and view !!

We've already planning for a longer stay later this year in November and this can not come around soon enough. I'm pretty sure now that this is a place for us to retire in about 10 years !

The question we always ask ourselves..."would we recommend this to our friends ?"...in a heartbeat !

Room Tip: If you are a couple - book the Penthouse Studio - sensational views and a great location !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We spent our first 2 nights after arriving in NZ at this property and it was just what was required - relaxed, tranquil and close enough but far enough from the main drag. We had the 1 bedroom seaview apartment on the ground floor, with sofa beds which were very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and it was great to be able to sit out on the decking in the sun and enjoy lunch and sun downers.

This was a great find, and if you don't mind a 10 min walk into the main drag, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed here last weekend in the seaview apartment, gorgeous views, massive deck and it was really peaceful, it was so nice. Has everything you need and more. Everything was really modern, the only thing that didnt really go with everything else was an old tv cabinet and vcr player. Other than that I couldnt fault the apartment. Beautiful place to stay absolutley loved it can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: I would reccomend the Seaview apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Beautiful, quiet setting with a great view. The accommodation was small but intimate and not lacking anything. Close to town but not too close. Perfect for a couple to spend a few days, relax, and then hop along to the next setting.

Room Tip: Pick the penthouse...it has the best view, is the most remote/intimate, and probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed in the penthouse of this lovely property on the last day of our drive and relax trip to the South Island.

The penthouse was spacious and yet cosy. Articles such as books, writing pads, CDs --left around the place gave it a very homely feel - just like you have been invited to stay at someone's home..

The view from the balcony was absolutely something to wish for. We were there during the time of the volcanic ashes - yes flights were grounded but the sunset was to be reckon with.

Love it and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: For couples - the penthouse is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank starrynight88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our honeymoon and it was really cute! We booked the beachside apartment and it had everything we needed (although the television was tiny) It's right across from the beach and you can sit in the lounge room, kitchen or front deck and look out to the water. only a 10 minute walk into the town centre (although their isn't a whole lot to do in Akaroa) it's a lovely place to go and relax!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huggles_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
2.4 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
0.6 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa on the Beach

Property: Akaroa on the Beach
Address: 229 Beach Road, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Akaroa on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Akaroa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing