We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Akaroa on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akaroa on the Beach
Ranked #10 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Akaroa on the Beach”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a delightful spacious building converted into three self contained units. We stayed in the Penthouse, with a view over the water,a spacious and very attractively decorated room, with oodles on storage/clothing space, a neat, fully equipped kitchen, bathroom (do like electric towel rails!) and virtually everything you could need for a stay in lovely Akaroa, including a guest laundry.

It is in walking distance to restaurants and activities in the main area of Akaroa, but it's about a 10 - 15 minute leisurely walk.

You will need to arrrange to collect the key (at the accommodation, you will get a code to enter a mail box).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

So sorry to only be able to relax in this lovely accommodation for a short while. It is certainly a place to inhabit for a week with two or more families, or as a couple. Far enough from the main drag to be peaceful but close enough to easily walk.
The view from the deck and the lounge is exquisite and meant we went searching for takeaway to enjoy it over dinner :-)
Thanks and really hope to be able to return one day for a long relaxing stay!

Room Tip: The Island Room is a small double self-contained room that would be perfect for a couple on a budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

I loved this place! It was a gorgeous different looking house divided into 4 apartments. We had the ground floor studio which comfortably slept us and our daughter. Gorgeous little deck out front overlooking the water & yachts.
Only a couple of downsides were there was no soap or shampoos. I would also recommend to the owners to change the blinds as they are totally see through at night with the lights on. If we ever go back to Akaroa we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

A lovely well appointed place to enjoy Akaroa. We stayed 2 nights in the ground floor "Beachside" apartment which has a deck onto the front garden and a view across the road to the harbour. This was quite an interesting sight when the weather turned cold, rainy and windy. Kate was quick to sort a small problem we had with rain leakage.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Amazing. We staying in the middle suite with the large deck. Walked in and were amazed by the view. Stunning. It's quiet, private and well set up. Everything you could need is provided. If you don't mind a 5-8 min walk into town this is bliss. Not great with kids as stairs up to rooms and no lifts but that's the only loss thing I could fault it on! Will be back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brannigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Booking our trip to New Zealand for 2 weeks over Easter I always wanted to spend some time in Akaroa having visited it a few years ago when travelling on a regular basis to Christchurch for work. Looking around for accommodation in Akaroa I first thought a B&B would suit us but given some of the pricing it left a lot to be desired for what you got in return....until I came across this little gem !!

We decided to book the Penthouse Studio as we wanted a private area (and have no children) to put the feet up for a few days. The pictures on the website do not do this place justice as to how beautiful the place is !! Booking over the web was very easy and payment in full is required before you get full details on how to access the property.

There is off street parking only although you can park up at the rear of the premises and access is quite easy. The Penthouse Studio is definately designed for couples in mind and is very accommodating with everything you need in an apartment. The view from the balcony is nothing short of sensational and is very quite and relaxing.....enough to make you have an afternoon snooze on the chaise / day bed !!

The first night we had the place to ourselves although the following night we had people below in the Seaview Apartment but this did not bother us even though the noise may drift up at times. The only thing I missed was having a bbq on our deck and was envious of the smells coming from the bbq on the deck at the Seaview Apartment....maybe a suggestion for improving future stays is a small bbq for the Penthoue Studio as well ?

It's a short walk into town and some fantastic places to eat and drink. We made friends at the local pub and this gave us more reason to want to come back for a longer stay. Try a sunset drink at Truby's on the Bay....sensational atmosphere and view !!

We've already planning for a longer stay later this year in November and this can not come around soon enough. I'm pretty sure now that this is a place for us to retire in about 10 years !

The question we always ask ourselves..."would we recommend this to our friends ?"...in a heartbeat !

Room Tip: If you are a couple - book the Penthouse Studio - sensational views and a great location !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We spent our first 2 nights after arriving in NZ at this property and it was just what was required - relaxed, tranquil and close enough but far enough from the main drag. We had the 1 bedroom seaview apartment on the ground floor, with sofa beds which were very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and it was great to be able to sit out on the decking in the sun and enjoy lunch and sun downers.

This was a great find, and if you don't mind a 10 min walk into the main drag, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.6 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.0 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#8 of 24 in Akaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Akaroa Cottages - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akaroa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akaroa on the Beach

Property: Akaroa on the Beach
Address: 229 Beach Road, Akaroa, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Akaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Akaroa on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akaroa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing