We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every way!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaroa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 24 Akaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I recently spent 2 nights at Coombe Farm, to get a weekend away from busy Sydney, where I am studying at the moment.

I can´t express enough how lucky I felt to stay at this very unique place, where hospitality, surroundings and peacefulness all comes together and gives you an unforgettable stay.
Kathrine and Huge are amazing people who make you feel at home away from home.

There is no doubt that had Coombe Farm been located closer to Denmark, it would be my secret hide away, when ever I needed inspiration, mindfulness and a breath of fresh air.

Thank you so much Kathrine and Huge. I`m looking very much forward to see you again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidsel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

We arrived at Coombe farm after a long flight from San Fransisco weary from the trip. We were met by Katherine and Hugh and were given a great New Zealand welcome. The farm is set in the hills of the Banks peninsula close to the town of Akaroa. It's a beautiful area to visit and Katherine and Hugh made it special. They went out of their way to make us feel at home. The breakfasts in the farm house, and a little wine in the sitting room was wonderful. It was great getting to know them both. We highly recommend visiting this out of the way area near Christchurch, taking the harbor cruise and staying with Katherine and Hugh. We'd love to return someday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed at the coombefarm with my husband and 13 year old son. The house is beautifully done and straight out of Enid bottom books. We loved and enjoyed our stay tremendously. Hugh and Katherine are very very warm, friendly and hospitable. Hugh took us for strip on the hills to show his enormous farm. My son didn't want to leave!! Wish we could stay there for a few days more. A must stop for those visiting akaroa and certainly the best place to stay!!!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
Thank kbindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We loved everything about our stay at Coombe Farm and we have never felt more welcome. It's top of our list of places to stay and it's a great example of warm, genuine Kiwi hospitality.

Kathrine and Hugh are such wonderful hosts and so friendly it was as if we had known them for years. Only two guest rooms are available in the homestead so we felt really well looked after. Staying in the homestead gave us a great balance between privacy and interesting company, but for those who prefer complete privacy there is separate accommodation available in the Shepherd's Hut.

The house and garden are so enchanting that I wasn't surprised to find that it had featured in a well known New Zealand "House and Garden" magazine in August. Kathrine and Hugh were much too modest to mention this, and I only came across the article after our stay.

The farm is nestled in a beautiful valley. Although less than 5 km to Akaroa it is so much more peaceful and relaxing. Kathrine very kindly emailed detailed directions and we had no difficulty finding our way.

The historic homestead has been beautifully renovated by Kathrine and Hugh and is fresh, clean and stylishly contemporary with some delightful quirky touches. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was king-sized and very luxurious, with beautiful linens and plentiful, plump pillows. Two cosy chairs, fresh flowers and a tea tray with a coffee plunger and good quality coffee made the room a nice place to relax in. There's plenty of storage including a large closet and a pretty chest of drawers.

Downstairs there are two living rooms we were welcome to use, one with a TV. There was plenty to read and Kathrine made us refreshing pots of tea served with the yummiest homebaked cookies.

The breakfast was amazing with juice, fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt, toast and jams and a hearty cooked breakfast which set us up for the whole day. Breakfast was a friendly, informal occasion in the homestead's kitchen/dining room and we enjoyed another opportunity to chat with Kathrine as she prepared and served our delicious meal.

I would strongly recommend that you allow enough time to take a walk through the gardens. There are some surprising discoveries to be made. Follow the sound of splashing water and you'll find a magical place.

We can't wait to return and next time it will be for longer. Now that I have divulged the secret, I do hope there will be a vacancy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

The Coombe farm was recommended to us and it did not fail to live up to expectations. First and foremost was the hospitality from Hugh and Kathrine who went beyond the call in the service to their guests. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. The decor in the house and the bedrooms tasteful with some nice contemporary touches. We stayed one night in the ensuite room which was spacious with a queen, comfortable bed and the other night in the one with the shared with the hosts but was left mostly for our own use. The grounds around the house are beautifully landscaped which then meld nicely into their hundred plus acre farm around which we were lucky enough to be toured. There are fruit trees which were laden with plums, apples and peaches.
Location: it is situated about 5 km west of Akaroa - a problem if you like to walk to your restaurants but a benefit if you like to be off the beaten track in a true, Kiwi, pastoral setting. Recognizing that we did not relish a lovely dinner at Le Petit Bistro without wine they were quick to offer to drive us into Akaroa and pick us up after.
Overall it was two of the finest days we spent in our 6 week tour of New Zealand.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrescentBeachGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Staying on this lovely sheep farm on the stunningly beautiful Banks Peninsula was one of the highlights of our travels in New Zealand. The guest accommodation is spacious and comfortable, and the hosts are charming. The farm is located close to the seaside town of Akaroa and Hugh and Kathrine provided us with excellent tips on where to eat and what to see and do in the area. Farm breakfasts were delicious. We felt very welcome and would love to return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DionPender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

this isn't just a lovingly restored old farm house it's lovingly restored old fashioned hospitality ! the situation of the farmhouse is just off the beaten track literally so before you arrive you feel you are going somewhere special - and it just doesn't disappoint, from the front gate through the farm house garden to the vintage and quirky decor of the sitting and living rooms to the duck down mattresses it is just heavenly. Go there. Rest and thank your stars you found it... easy 5 min drive to Akaroa too but by far the better spot to stay on the peninsula...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauratni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
2.0 mi away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#1 of 6 in Akaroa
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Abri
L'Abri
#2 of 24 in Akaroa
216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Oinako Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
1.2 mi away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 18 Old Le Bons Track | Takamatua Valley, Akaroa 7581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Akaroa
Price Range: £111 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable farmhouse accommodation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing